We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in Stonetown”
Review of Maru Maru Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maru Maru Hotel
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Maru Maru is a gem in the heart of Stonetown. Bringing the heart and feel of Zanzibar but balanced with panache and polish. Just behind the old fort, you have easy access to all of Stonetown, and it is quite affordable. The rooftop lounge and restaurant is beyond compare, and you will not find a better view of the sunset. The food and cocktails are delicious (highly recommend the vodka sour and indian fare). The rooms are very comfortable with stunning attention to detail and an old world riad feel. The staff were accomodating, friendly, and lovely. You would be hard pressed to find a better stay in Stonetown!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cmarona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marumaruhotel, General Manager at Maru Maru Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

Dear Sir/ Madam

Thank you so much for your review. Its was great having you stay with us. We will be looking forward to see you soon .

Regards
Olivier Spears

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

459 - 465 of 548 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2012

Great hotel and can't look for a more affordable price in stone town area. Close to all attractions and in the heart of the city. Staff is mannered and so friendly! Rooms are clean, food is delicious! Could not ask for a better stay in this historic town!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alyssa452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marumaruhotel, General Manager at Maru Maru Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Alyssa,

Thanks you so much for your feedback, We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, we will look forward to see you soon in the near future.

Regards
Olivier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

This hotel is lovely; when we visited it still had the "new hotel sheen" though I won't be able to comment whether that will hold up over time. The location is the greatest asset for Maru Maru: you are right in the center of things, steps away from coast, shopping, restaurants, and tourist attractions. For days we just roamed around without much of a plan and felt the hotel was an ideal starting point. The decor is modern yet sometimes borders on institutional/stark, especially the bedrooms. Bathrooms have modern amenities. The hotel's drivers were generally professional and helpful (we used them 5 times during our stay), although on our way to the airport the driver literally ran out of gas whilst pulling into the airport terminal! We had difficulties controlling the temperature of the rooms and found them to be quite warm (then again it is Zanzibar). I'd give it 4.5 stars if I could, but without a doubt will stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pequeypuchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Maru Maru Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2015

We would like to thank you for recommending our hotel. We have grown as a hotel over the last couple of years. It will be a pleasure to have you as our guest again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

This is a new property that opened in early 2012. The objective was a "boutique-chic" feel and they have succeeded in some aspects. To me the real selling-points were the location and the value. The hotel is right next to the Old Fort and Forodhani Garden, making it a perfect base from which to explore Stone Town, try out most of the top-rated restaurants, and shop for art and crafts. There are very limited beachfronts in Old Town proper, but you can always go to a nearby hotel such as Tembo and spend a few hours under the sun. Agree with the previous reviewer on the hotel's main drawback; the rooms in the Old wing are also quite noisy as they face a busy street and there can be music coming from outside into the late hours. Fortunately I had ear plugs. Another highlight of the hotel was definitely the terrace facing the sea and Zanzibar Port, with 360 degree views of Old Town. It's a great place for sundowners or a meal, but too bad there are no recliners or loungers during the day. Service was very good.

Room Tip: The Old Wing has a bit more charm but can be quite noisy if you're facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank losantipodas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Maru Maru Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2015

Thank you very much for your valuable and appreciative comments.We are also coming up with a swimming pool which should be ready by next year. We look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Well, yes. Yet another high end stonetown experience. I was here with a friend during low season (favourable rate) and taking into consideration that the hotel is newly opened it was a great stay. I guess when the season picks up, the rates will pick up as well, and then they have hard competition from all the other high end swahilistyle establishments.

The location is very good, close to the House of Wonders, Forodhani park and the Old Fort. It has been done to look very fancy, but the design and details are indeed "expensive" but it lacks in atmosphere unfortunately.

The rooms are very modern, and here as well, not much attention to details, however clean and good materials/equipment. One big miss in the whole design is the echo-chamber in the centre of the hotel, an open garden in 4 levels which has not been properly designed and all sounds from kitchen and laundry and staffs during evening and early morning is keeping you awake. Either to properly make new sound proof doors to the rooms, move the kitchen or make istallments in this space taking up the sound waves.

The last thing I wish to say is the best thing. The roof top restaurant. A more perfect place for a sun-downer, some snacks and drinks before dinner must be extremly hard to find. The service is very good, so are the snacks, and again prices are okey. You are gently been transfered to restaurant where you are being served your dinner, just a few meters away, and the food, mostly indian dishes are very good.

So besides the acustic flop and the and not really reaching the level of interior planning it promises after the first glimps, the place and our stay was very good, and I do recommend this for guests who sleeps tight and like a nice and clean stone town experience. .

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GoZanzibar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Maru Maru Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2015

I would like to thank you on behalf of all our staff for recommending our hotel. We would also like to thank you for your appreciative comments. We look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rikucchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maru Maru H, Manager at Maru Maru Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Neurone V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maru Maru H, Manager at Maru Maru Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
31.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.0 mi away
Jafferji House & Spa
Jafferji House & Spa
#12 of 33 in Stone Town
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
18.9 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maru Maru Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maru Maru Hotel

Address: 397 - 400 Gizenga Street | Shangani, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Stone Town
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#10 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#10 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range: $100 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maru Maru Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the UNESCO world heritage site of StoneTown, Maru Maru Hotel is just a few steps from the city’s historical wonders, colourful markets and labyrinth of shops. Once a town house famous for its marble floors and tiles, it has now been lovingly restored to offer 44 bright rooms blending classic Zanzibar style with iconic design and modern luxuries. Its roof terrace offers one of the best views in the city with a 360° panorama and is the perfect place to enjoy a cocktail as the sun melts into the Indian Ocean. The relaxed ambiance at Maru Maru continues long into the night as people come to enjoy a vast variety of Continental, Chinese Indian and Swahili cuisine, view art in Maru Maru’s gallery and enjoy the captivating sound of Tahareb music as it floats into the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Maru Maru Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maru Maru Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing