We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot for Homesick Travelers”
Review of LOULOU Restaurant - CLOSED

LOULOU Restaurant
Price range: $5 - $26
Cuisines: Belgian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Fine Belgian Cuisine in a refreshing, stylish and modern setting with romantic lighting, cool air-conditioning & gorgeous upscale cuisine. Using fresh seasonal ingredients combined with the finest of imported Belgian flabours. Loulou is a completely unique experience in Stone Town & cnsidered one of its best restaurants at very affordable prices. CLOSED ON WEDNESDAY
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Spot for Homesick Travelers”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The temperature was about 90F and the humidity about the same.
Then we walked in to LouLou's. Ahhhhh! Best airconditioning in Africa. Had a lovely Kili beer and returned for dinner. Not so great food, sorry to say. But definitely worth a stop for the ambience and the temperature. The owner was very friendly also.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maggie2142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    37
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lusaka, Zambia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great lunch spot”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

As with many of the other reviewers, I was looking for a nice *cool* place to have lunch. LouLou restaurant was just what I needed! Not busy (surprisingly) and had a lovely lunch in the air conditioning. My friend and I ordered the shrimp croquettes and the seafood pasta. Both were delicious. However, my favorite item was the complimentary amuse--a chilled octopus "salad" (more like a pate consistency) topped with a beet salad. Wonderful flavor and color! Sadly, didn't have room for dessert.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Hills, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice place!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

I didn't get to eat here because I was sick from eating something from the Gardens. Won't try that again! But my husband and son happened on it as they were looking for a place with air conditioning. They wanted me to write a review because they were very happy with their dinner here and thought it was good food and a nice value.

Helpful?
1 Thank lovesmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Delicious food with air conditioning.”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Had lunch at Lou Lou yesterday. Beef stroganoff with fries. Partner had vegetable pasta. Both were delicious. Had a nice chat about local politics with the manager who's from US. Restaurant is upscale and for Stone Town service was quite good. Lunch for two with wine was $38.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DuPontCir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent place near Africa House”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I chose LouLou because I was looking for a place to eat lunch that was air conditioned. Very nice "Belgian style" menu that was well prepared and well presented. Although the place wasn't very busy, the service was excellent. Be sure to have desert.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terrell_msp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LOULOU Restaurant also viewed

Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing