We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the mistress of spices tea blend if you like a little kick”
Review of Mistress of Spices

Mistress of Spices
Ranked #26 of 76 Restaurants in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: African, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Try the mistress of spices tea blend if you like a little kick”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The food was well prepared and very fresh. Wonderful favors. Loved the brochettes. Loved the pumpkin mint soup

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MissSusan-usais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    15
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A haven of tranquility”
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled upon this fabulous cafe which has a terrific ambiance and encapsulates Stone Town's unique ambiance. The range of fresh coffee beans is great, and these can be flavoured with locally grown cloves, cinnamon, vanilla or ginger. The chocolate brownies are "to die for" and generously sized ... my husband wants to move his office there! The staff were friendly, efficient and attentive. The cafe is part of the Jafferi hotel, so even the trip to the immaculately clean toilets was a cool experience as it takes you passed walls bedecked with prize winning photos by Javed Jafferi himself.
The cafe can get popular in the evenings so, to all those who are quick to critisise the local staff, take the time to enjoy Zanzibar's atmosphere and individuality instead of expecting a latte from Starbucks! Discovering gems like this are what travelling should be all about. We're definitely going back. Loved it. Five stars.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great decor and staff, average food”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

After a morning spent walking through Stonetown in the Zanbari sun, this restaurant was a great respite from the heat. The town was without power for most of the day but fortunately they had a generator and thus a working aircon which was highly appreciated!
Not a large restaurant, the decor was well done, with most tables in their own alcoves. There was only 1 staff member that we saw the entire time that we were there, but as there were only 2 tables occupied, she was able to see to us without any issues. Although we did wait quite long for our food to arrive after ordering, our waitress was very efficient and friendly.
The food itself was beautifully presented but only average tasting. I had ordered the shrimp biriyani which was recommended by the waitress, while my husband ordered the steak. While generous with the shrimp, I found the biriyani overspiced, especially with too much cardamom. The steak was also average and a bit too chewy.
The menu is priced in shillings, however as we did not have enough shillings at the time, we had asked the waitress to give our bill in US dollars before we ordered. She remembered and our bill was presented in both dollars and shillings (using a very reasonable rate).

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Raye81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
156 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice resturant associated with Jafferji House & Spa”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Had a great meal the night I arrived on Zanzibar and a couple of good breakfasts. The restaurant is attached to Jafferji House & Spa but has a separate street entrance. Located on a busy pedestrian only street.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terrell_msp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Lovely cool calm ambience - average food!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is a great place to go to if you need a little respite from the afternoon heat and just want to chill out for a bit. The ambience is cool, calm and relaxing and the place is very tastefully decorated with wooden furniture, mirrors, interesting little bits and pieces and mood lighting. The spiced tea was quite good, the food average and if you want chocolate mousse - don't have it here - go to the Belgian restaurant Lou Lou instead, theirs is divine! The one here, though incredibly large was ordinary at best.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lisa_om1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mistress of Spices also viewed

Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 

Been to Mistress of Spices? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing