We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great hotel, wonderful staff and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rumaisa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rumaisa Hotel
Ranked #12 of 30 Stone Town B&B and Inns
Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel, wonderful staff and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Thank you to the owner and all the staff at RUMAISA. You and your staff were wonderful and made us (mother and daughter from the USA) feel at home. Their advice on where and what to see was very helpful to learn about Stone Town and the surrounding area, with the arrangement of tour guides and taxi service. The room was very clean with mosquito nets and free wifi, and the daily breakfast was so delicious. We were very satisfied with everything during the stay and have no complaints. Hoping to return to Stone Town in the near future and would stay at RUMAISA again. I will absolutely pass on your hotel's name to my friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    7
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
18
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is the perfect place to flop down after arriving by ferry. Unfortunately we didn't come or leave by ferry and the location was therefore a bit of a negative for us. The rooms are basic. The beds are not so comfortable and the A/C tries its hardest but is no match for the oppressive heat pushing in from all the gaps in the windows of this older building. The bathroom also was not lit well which is a problem for me. On the plus side there are mosquito nets and free wifi, the owner is extremely friendly and helpful, and we met some really nice people there.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mullydad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moshi, Tanzania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

You can tell this is a family-run place that wants to provide a good service. Mohammed and his son were very welcoming and accommodating and both speak very good English. It is only about a 5-minute walk to Forodhani gardens and 3 minutes to the ferry terminal.

The room was very clean with a good shower, fan, safe, TV and nice big bed, which was very comfortable. This isn't a 5-star hotel by any stretch, but considering what you are paying and what you can get for the same money in Zanzibar, it's quite good value. The breakfast was OK and standard for Zanzibar hostels and B&Bs, though they were a bit slow getting started with it.

It's amazing how good service can improve a hotel experience so much, and this is an example of that.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here 4 nights and are very happy we did. Mohamed the owner, Nelson, Modest, Lucas, Hashim, were all very friendly, helpful, and accomadating. We asked Lucas for a more traditional breakfast and he gladly served it up the next day. Check out Sunset restaurant in Stonetown where Lucas is a chef. He served us up a huge plate of delicious pilau and king fish masala when we visited.

The rooms are nicely furnished and very clean thanks to the cleaning staff who are also very friendly and nice.

It's not too far of a walk from the centre of Stonetown either perhaps 10 minutes. We walked in at least twice a day.

Thanks again Gavin and Tessa

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

From the moment you arrive, the staff makes you feel very welcome. My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights while in Stone Town. On the map it looks far from the action but it's only a 5 minute walk to the heart of Stone Town and you don't get the noise that everyone complains about staying in town. The breakfast is outstanding...fresh fruit, coffee/tea, omelet, toast and jam. Mohamed will set up any tour you desire. He is quite the entrepreneur, sit down and have a talk with him. He is currently installing a movie theatre on the main floor. He and his staff will help you out as much or little as you want. Big rooms, huge washroom, aircon, great breakfasts and friendly staff make this a good choice. Thanks again, Robyn and Shane

Room Tip: you get to choose your room when you arrive. the rooms at the back have a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

I only stayed here one night as I had tried out another accommodation as well. Pros: large room that is decorated nicely and very clean, en suite bathroom with extra large shower (with ledge and this makes a difference for anyone who doesn't love wet floors), high speed ceiling fan and ac (though I could not get my air conditioning to work), small TV and fridge in room - great for storing water or drinks - though would have been nice to be provided 1-2 waters in the fridge, overall good location just outside of the bustle of town - about 5-10 min walk from gardens, helpful staff, i.e. when giving directions to pharmacy and recommending time to be in the hotel by (10pm as single female traveler). Cons: difficult to find contact info for booking (google the hotel and you'll find a blog with contact details). I also had wanted to purchase the hand held fan in the room as I was departing and was frustrated that the night manager wanted to sell it for $5USD when an expensive one in town was $3. Simply left me with a negative feeling as I felt this was blatant gouging. Room was an excellent value at $50USD.

Room Tip: I took room 108 as it was in the back and quieter than those near the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saavysnowbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
312 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

A nice, little, family owned place with its very own charm.
We stayed there for 2 nights and we felt very well there!

Don't expect the highest level of comfort or service, but for this price I feld that we were getting an excellent value for our money.

The location is good as well, although I would not recommend planning on walking to Stone Town from there. This is however no problem as the taxi is 2.5 USD and takes 7-8 minutes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamen_777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Princess Salme Inn
Princess Salme Inn
#18 of 34 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Warere Town House
Warere Town House
#14 of 34 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.8 mi away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#12 of 34 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Zanzibar Coffee House
Zanzibar Coffee House
#5 of 34 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#9 of 34 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumaisa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumaisa Hotel

Property: Rumaisa Hotel
Address: Malindi, Funguni, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 3442, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rumaisa is a comfortable 3-star hotel with 10 double rooms. All of them are beautifully furnished, each in different colors, all in typical Zanzibar style with the comfort that modern life demands - AC, ceiling fan, current hot and cold water, a mini-bar, TV, internet access, en-suite bathroom and toilet. All rooms have at least one balcony, some even two, and are equipped with a built-in solar emergency light ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rumaisa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumaisa Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing