We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rumaisa Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Warere Town House(Stone Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Princess Salme Inn(Stone Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kholle House(Stone Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Emerson Spice(Stone Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveler rating
39
12
6
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
12
6
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvery comfortable roomminute walkchapatifresh fruitthis lovely hotelwalking distancestay there againforodhani gardenshot watermohamedtvferrynetswifiairportstonezanzibar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 62 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I highly recommend Rumaisa to anyone looking for a great value and the best service! The owner Mohammad is wonderful. He picked my friend and I up from the airport personally and toured us around that evening. He and his staff helped to personally coordinate all of our excursions. We went on the dolphin and spice tours which I would highly recommend! The hotel has very clean and comfortable rooms with a large bathroom and nice balconies. The room is equipped with a mini-fridge, TV and safe. The best part was breakfast served on the rooftop deck with a beautiful view of the ocean and Stone Town! The hotel is in walking distance of the market and most of the major historical sites. We felt very safe walking at night and getting around on our own. The perfect place to see to experience all of Zanzibar!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelgirl223_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was our destination for our first night in Zanzibar before we headed down to Panje, picked purely on the basis of its TA rating. We got a hire car from the airport, the Rumasia is not yet in the satnav 'hotels' list so you have to find the street. No problem, we got straight there and were met by the owner Mohammed and Suliman who does all the work. My first request was for a beer, they do not have a bar so Mohammed bundled me into his car and drove me the 200m to Rocky's Bar (in the grounds of the Baghani House Hotel - do not stay there!) where he bought 6 bottles of beer out of his own pocket and I could 'pay him back later'. There was nothing these guys wouldn't do to help us out, they knew where the nearest money changers was, the best restaurants, ATM, directions to anywhere etc.

I stayed in room 103 which overlooks the road at the front. The room/en suite were fine, with split aircon and fan, nice shower and deep bath. A balcony goes along the front of the first floor so you can sit and watch the world go by - very slowly - as there is not much to see apart from the Chinese noodle makers next door. They have plans to build a 'proper' restaurant/bar terrace on the roof which would be a great addition to the rooms. The breakfast was fine with good coffee and juice. A good start to our vacation.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheMuscatFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Rumaisa per a friend's recommendation and were so happy. The staff is super friendy and helpful lead by Mohammed the manager who lent us his personal computer when we were stuck, Modest and Suleiman were so kind and helpful and gave us advice for the city. The rooms are romantic, clean and beautiful. The bathroom is huge and clean, with hot water and AC in the room. Don't waste time looking for another hotel, DEFINITELY stay at Rumaisa it has everything you need for a great value! Thanks for hosting us!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eli N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RumaisaHotel, Manager at Rumaisa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you very much for your reviews, and we are looking forwad to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Rumasisa in July for two nights. We were incredibly pleased with our stay there. Our room was beautiful, very romantic, immaculately clean, working hot water!! The bed was very comfortable and the sheets were crisp! Based on most of the prices in Stone Town I think Rumasia is one of the best values. The location is great, you can walk to everywhere and it is also on a well lit street which I appreciated. Best of all though was Mohammed and Modest (the staff). Mohammed greeted us with a very warm welcome and went out of his way during our stay to ensure we had everything we needed. He even took us in his own car to break the fast (it was Ramadan) with local people, an experience that remains one of the most memorable moments of our trip. Modest helped us arrange every detail to make our stay and departure as easy as possible. Thank you for a wonderful stay!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 203, beautiful room!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chloe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The Rumaisa was a wonderful home for the last 6 weeks in Zanzibar. The owner, Mohamed, will go out of his way to ensure that you have an excellent experience in Stone Town. He is a wealth of information on anything you might want to know about the island. The staff are incredibly kind and helpful. The rooms are lovely. The location is convenient to the ferry, market and bus area at the Darajani.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews