We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place. Staff let it down though.”
Review of Manch Lodge Vuga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manch Lodge Vuga
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice place. Staff let it down though.”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I really liked it here but the thing that really let it down was the waiters/kitchen staff. They were so lazy. They were rude and very unhelpful. They sat around on chairs playing on their iPhones the whole time people were sat there waiting for menus and not getting served. Food took forever to arrive. Twice I ordered drinks and they failed to ever be brought to me. It was such a shame as it let the place down. Apart from that the receptionist was such a lovely lady. She did everything she could to help us, including letting us store our luggage there for a few days after we'd left. The room was clean and bright. There was a shared bathroom which was quite dirty and there was water in the light bulbs which kept on dripping on my head whilst I sat on the loo!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonshireDumpling90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    24
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
2
11
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

This was a good little guest house. Very friendly and helpful reception staff and great to leave baggage and valuables after check out before getting the ferry to the mainland. Nice little garden area out the front for breakfast and relaxing in later on. Rooms were fine, clean and what you would expect for a lower end guest house plus a few extra touches.

Room Tip: it seemed as though you may have been able to see in to some of the showers?? worth double checking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRMC848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We tried different places in Stone town but Manch Lodge was the one we really appreciated.
The owner is really cool and helpful. He accepts to keep our backpacks in a dedicated closet the last day before we took our return flight and even let us take a shower.
there are rooms with / withhout bathroom
So in short, the place is clean, good location and the owner and their workmates are really cool.
We took one room without bathroom and using the shared one is fair: clean, available, not far (same level). The breakfast was also good.
Karim

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdefombelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

After arriving in Stone Town from Nungwi we looked for a reasonably priced hotel as close to the waterfront as possible. We found Manch Lodge by walking around and paid US$30 a night for two people in a room with a double bed, single bed, fan and nets. Breakfast is included. Bathrooms are shared. There is an outdoor courtyard for eating and drinking. We organised a Spice Tour through reception for US$15 per person. Staff were helpful with information. Forodhani Gardens and the Old Fort at the waterfront are 5-10 minutes walk. Zanzibar Ferry Terminal 20-25 minutes walk. Creek Road Dalla-dalla Station 10-15 minutes walk. Manch Lodge has some narrow alleyways around it but check its website http://www.manchlodge-zanzibar.net/ for directions and more information. As other hotels nearby were charging US$50-130 a night, Manch Lodge is recommended as a cheap option in Stone Town for anyone on a mid-range budget.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kuzurura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#11 of 34 in Stone Town
250 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#8 of 34 in Stone Town
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
#2 of 34 in Stone Town
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Princess Salme Inn
Princess Salme Inn
#17 of 34 in Stone Town
170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manch Lodge Vuga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manch Lodge Vuga

Property: Manch Lodge Vuga
Address: Shangani Street | Vuga, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Manch Lodge Vuga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manch Lodge Vuga Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing