We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secret Garden”
Review of Emerson Spice

Emerson Spice
Ranked #6 of 84 Restaurants in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Emerson Spice have two Restaurants: The Rooftop Tea House Restaurant - The Seafood Based, Set Five Course 'Taste Safari' Degustation Menu is prepared daily by our Zanzibari Chefs. The Sunset Hour is an integral part of the experience, so Diners are encouraged to arrive at any time after 5.30p.m. to enjoy a 'Sundowner' before dinner, which is served at 7p.m. Reservations Recommended. The Secret Garden - set amidst lushly landscaped hidden 'Ruins', open to the skies, it has a Zanzibari inspired A La Carte Menu. Look out for live music performed by The Dhow Countires Music Academy. Open for Lunch and Dinner.
Reviewed April 6, 2016

Emerson Spice's other restaurant on the first floor, installed in the ruins of the next door building. Very romantic. Few tables. It serves the same food at the Emerson Spice restaurant (upstairs on the roof top), which was excellent with an excellent service. We were very pleased by our evening there.

Date of visit: March 2016
1  Thank PuckPasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spice_management_1, Manager at Emerson Spice, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2016

Dear PuckPasha,

Thank you for complimenting our new Secret Garden 'Swahili Grill' A la Carte Restaurant. As with the other two Emerson Restaurants, all our ingredients are locally sourced, prepared, cooked and served by our Zanzibari Chef and Waiters. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your evening with us and look forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards,

Russell & The Emerson Spice Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (694)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

238 - 242 of 694 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2016

Great view from here, fantastic people watching place. When we went visited it was low season. Food was decent and good value.

Date of visit: November 2015
Thank 496barram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spice_management_1, Manager at Emerson Spice, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2016

Dear Barra,

So glad you enjoyed all the views of vibrant Stonetown Life from the rooftop Tea House, as well, of course as the Five Course 'Taste Safari' Dinner!

<Karibu Tena!>

Russell & The Emerson Spice Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2016

A meal here when you're in Stonetown is almost as compulsory as a snack from Forodhani Gardens and a trip to Prison Island, and whether it's the five or seven course tasting menu that you go for it's certainly an experience. Whether it's a relaxing one probably depends on how much gourmet dining you usually do, but the elaborate nature of the food and with everything on the endless succession of plates having to be explained by the waiter it makes for a rather bitty kind of evening. Of course the sunset, seen through the beautiful fretwork of the building's stunning architecture is fabulous, but the actual dining area is pretty cramped and you are very aware of people at neighbouring tables. Having said that the manager and staff could not be more attentive, and the food, if a touch Heston Blumenthal, is amazing.... but for me, the whole thing was a bit too like a stage set to be really enjoyable.

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank silentcharacter75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spice_management_1, Manager at Emerson Spice, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2016

Dear S.C.,

Such wonderful compliments!

Thank you for dining with us. Always good to hear that our Guests enjoy the Sunset hour overlooking Stonetown from the Tea House and that the Service, Food, as well as Emerson Spice itself are appreciated so much.

Best regards,

Russell & The Emerson Spice Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2016 via mobile

We ate at both the rooftop restaurant and the SecretGarden on separate occasions at this truly glorious place . The rooms are well worth viewing if you are not staying over .

Outstanding cuisine !!wow !!!
The rooftop restaurant offers a 5 course menu for 40 USD primarily seafood based , while the Secret Garden offers ala Carte at various prices .
I had the seafood platter while my husband had the goat meat as mains . Superb.

The rooftop place affords spectacular sunset views during sundowners ,the SecretGarden among ruins adding a surreal and magical charm .

For those staying in Stone Town looking for that special place to eat at,I highly recommended trying both places .

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank FedBatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spice_management_1, Manager at Emerson Spice, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2016

Dear Fedbatz,

What a super review of both Emerson Spice Restaurants. Thank you for dining with us twice and taking the time to write about it too!

All our ingredients are locally sourced, so everything is fresh and seasonal, as well as having the bonus of supporting our Island's Communities.

We look forward to welcoming you back! Best regards,

Russell & The Emerson spice Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2016

We arrived in stone town not knowing what to expect. As we checked in and freshened up we were ushered to the roof top dining area of Emmersson Spice. Beautiful setting, lovely welcome drink and a four course menu to die for. It felt like we had been transported back and dropped into an oriental story book. Service was fantastic, staff very friendly and thorough and host Russel Bridgewood absolutely charming.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bettina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spice_management_1, Manager at Emerson Spice, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2016

Dear Bettina,

It was our pleasure to "transport you" into "an oriental story book"!

We're so glad that you enjoyed the rooftop 'Sundowners' before our 'Taste Safari' Dinner. Thank you for all your compliments!

Best regards,

Russell & The Emerson Spice Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emerson Spice also viewed

Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 

Been to Emerson Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing