We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Emerson Spice

Emerson Spice
Ranked #2 of 70 Restaurants in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Emerson Spice have two Restaurants: The Rooftop Tea House Restaurant - The Seafood Based, Set Five Course 'Taste Safari' Degustation Menu is prepared daily by our Zanzibari Chefs. The Sunset Hour is an integral part of the experience, so Diners are encouraged to arrive at any time after 5.30p.m. to enjoy a 'Sundowner' before dinner, which is served at 7p.m. Reservations Recommended. The Secret Garden - set amidst lushly landscaped hidden 'Ruins', open to the skies, it has a Zanzibari inspired A La Carte Menu. Look out for live music performed by The Dhow Countires Music Academy. Open for Lunch and Dinner.
Goes, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Good food but the menu for four persons ,with extra drinks was 130 usdollar,what was an european price.
We all were sqeeuzed in on the terrace

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank YaminaA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    88
    25
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
160 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We went for Christmas dinner there. Besides of having an amazing panoramic view of Stone Town, that night there were Christmas carols sang by kids. Food was outstanding and the cooks were so kind. Everything was a part of a very nice atmosphere to celebrate Christmas out of home.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Special Spice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Innovative cooking with great use of local ingredients and spices
Great concept - you arrive to see the sunset then eat a set menu all given at the same time.
I think this gives the chefs more space to really go to town on the creative dishes
Very unexpected in a quite sad and dirty town.
Well done Emerson Spice!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank talltrees888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Absolutely loved my meal of shrimps here! Food was fresh and very delicious! A definite must for food lovers!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford Hills, NY
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Delicious Dinner with a Beautiful View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We dined at Emerson Spice on our one night in Stone Town, and are so happy that it was recommended to us! We were traveling with our 10-year-old daughter and 13-year-old son, and we all loved it. The roof terrace provides a wonderful view of Stone Town and is especially beautiful at sun down. My husband and I started our meal with Dawa cocktails which were amazing. Then the 5 course feast began. Each course was an experience of different tastes and flavors, all of which we enjoyed and devoured. We were thrilled to find such a gourmet meal.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Givati8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emerson Spice also viewed

Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 

Been to Emerson Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing