We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”
Review of Emerson Spice

Emerson Spice
Ranked #2 of 78 Restaurants in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Emerson Spice have two Restaurants: The Rooftop Tea House Restaurant - The Seafood Based, Set Five Course 'Taste Safari' Degustation Menu is prepared daily by our Zanzibari Chefs. The Sunset Hour is an integral part of the experience, so Diners are encouraged to arrive at any time after 5.30p.m. to enjoy a 'Sundowner' before dinner, which is served at 7p.m. Reservations Recommended. The Secret Garden - set amidst lushly landscaped hidden 'Ruins', open to the skies, it has a Zanzibari inspired A La Carte Menu. Look out for live music performed by The Dhow Countires Music Academy. Open for Lunch and Dinner.
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Absolutely loved my meal of shrimps here! Food was fresh and very delicious! A definite must for food lovers!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    385
    111
    30
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford Hills, NY
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Delicious Dinner with a Beautiful View”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We dined at Emerson Spice on our one night in Stone Town, and are so happy that it was recommended to us! We were traveling with our 10-year-old daughter and 13-year-old son, and we all loved it. The roof terrace provides a wonderful view of Stone Town and is especially beautiful at sun down. My husband and I started our meal with Dawa cocktails which were amazing. Then the 5 course feast began. Each course was an experience of different tastes and flavors, all of which we enjoyed and devoured. We were thrilled to find such a gourmet meal.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Givati8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Dawa”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

High up view of stone town with comfy cushions to recline on. The most refreshing Dawa - just order the next one when they bring it to you as you'll finish it in no time

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank AlexCavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresh and tasty”
Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Lunch at Emerson is a la carte and seafood dominates menu. Everything we tried has been excellent. Fresh, a lot of attention to detail and really tasty. Good service and reasonable prices. Dinner on the rooftop is also quality, 5 course for $30. Good value and great flavours.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nathpugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Treat yourself”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This restaurant is fantastic. The beautiful roof terrace is perfect for a pre-dinner drink and the food was just wonderful. Friendly, prompt, easy service. Not cheap, but perfect for a splurge. In a lovely old building on one of Stone Town's atmospheric little winding streets.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lily_D1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emerson Spice also viewed

Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 

Been to Emerson Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing