We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kholle House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kholle House
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The staff are switched on, informative and helpful. The decor creates a wonderful ambience and the rooms are spotlessly clean. I cannot recommend this place enough, 10/10. Don't worry too much about the location, the walk to the main streets is a matter of minutes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xpresso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mwasaju, Owner at Kholle House, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guests,

Many thanks for your very kind comments.

We shall certainly congratulate Rehema our receptionist for the assistance she provided you and your kids.

All the very best,

Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    63
    20
    7
    2
See reviews for
27
118
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

What a beautiful building tucked out of the way in Stone Town! Simply gorgeous interior - very unique feeling. Our rooms were quite small, but certainly adequate for our needs, and had such a romantic, antique feel that we felt like we were in another time and place! There was a lovely balcony with table and chairs just outside our rooms (numbers 21 and 22 I believe) which we used to extend our living space. Just up another set of stairs from the balcony was a sweet sitting area with cushions and netting and a fabulous view of the city.

The pool was also small but was just the thing to cool down from the heat and humidity. Poolside drink service was excellent - attentive without being intrusive. It was easy to forget the bustle and crowds just outside the walls of our little palace!

Special mention must be made about the lovely lady at the front desk when we checked in. She went out of her way to welcome us, all while dealing with another large family arriving, as well as one checking out. Then, when I needed to find a cash machine that would accept my Visa card, she found 2 that would work, called a taxi for me, paid for it herself (so that I wouldn't get charged a tourist rate) and made sure he brought me back, all the while keeping an ear out for my kids, should they need anything! And all this was done when the poor woman was trying to eat some lunch!

The air conditioning unit in my room was not working properly when I arrived but it was attended to promptly, and was working before we were done our lunch at the nearby classic, Mercury's Restaurant.

The only negatives that I experienced were the breakfast that was entirely uninspiring (food bland and served cold); the proximity to the tower at the mosque which was startlingly loud at 5 in the morning; and the difficulty finding it amongst the twisting, winding little back alleys! I would certainly consider staying here again if we ever go back to Stonetown.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mwasaju, Owner at Kholle House, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear guests,
We are humbled by your kind comments and positive appreciations.
See you again in Kholle House.
All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed for two nights with our son in January and found the hotel to be charming and the staff efficient and very kind. Both my husband and I had problems with our eyes and they went above and beyond the call of duty to help us out. In fact my excellent rating is probably down to the staff otherwise it would be very good.

The rooms were cute with airconditioning. Ours was not large (though the third bed was really big) but the balcony overlooking the garden was a treat and the whole hotel was very atmospheric.

Breakfast in the garden was great - well prepared in great surroundings. We ate in on one of the nights and the food was good though I am not sure it was worth going up on the roof as the garden was lovely and we felt very guilty making the poor waiter carry everything all the way up some very steep stairs.

The pool was small but did the job of cooling us down in sticky Stonetown. Anyway it never seemed crowded. It is a little walk from the main drag of shops etc but not a problem once we got our bearings.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank linda55London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mwasaju, Owner at Kholle House, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guests,
Many thanks for your very nice feedback about Kholle House.
We find it very encouraging for our staff.
All the very best,
Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at Kholle house for 2 nights and felt we had been visiting friends,the atmosphere of the hotel was so welcoming and friendly.
The owner has done a great job in transforming the hotel from a building site using traditional materials,leaving you with the feeling that the Sultan's daughter is about to walk in.
The staff did everything they could to make our stay very memorable and comfortable.
Thankyou to you and good luck for the future - you all deserve it.!

Room Tip: We did have one of the expensive rooms but it was more like a suite and extremely comfortable - wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianaOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mwasaju, Owner at Kholle House, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guests,
Many thanks for your very kind comments about Princess Kholle's House.
Our staff and manager will feel encouraged by your very positive appreciations.
Sincerely,
Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

The website makes this hotel look better than it really is. It is pleasant but seems overpriced. Entrance area is cramped buy courtyard with pool is nice. There are several other alternatives in town. We were glad we booked the suites which were spacious. Number 15 is especially nice and has a huge bathroom. We enjoyed the small but lovely pool on steamy afternoons which was our main reason for choosing this hotel. Breakfast is now the only meal regularly served and it was just ok. We had a special new years dinner that was disappointing with exceptionally slow service. Location is great between the center of stonetown and the market in a neighborhood with local flavor. The biggest hassle is the need to pay in cash especially at the end of a long trip. Access to ATMs is unreliable. Better to pay by wire in advance. Guide provided for a half day tour of stonetown was very good. Service at the hotel was a mixed bag. Some great some not.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gottago2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mwasaju, Owner at Kholle House, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guests,
Although your overall rating is not that positive for Kholle House, we note that your comments are mostly positive about the House.
It is a fact that offering standard services in a 150 years house is not that easy.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lier, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Great value in big contrast with Stonetown itself, highly recommended.
Sleeping in the Sultans house. Very near to the harnour en towncenter. But a bit to close to the iman tower from the mosk.
The owner has done a great job in restoring this house with cultural background. Nice small garden en swimming pool

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Verhepa1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mwasaju, Owner at Kholle House, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guests,
We appreciate your comments and thank you for your appreciation.
Asante sana!
Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed for a couple of nights, and then another night on our way back home. We didn't get to take advantage of the stay-two-get-the-third-free deal, but they did upgrade us for our second night, and for our return stay. The furnishings were beautiful, the building was gorgeous, the small pool, garden and salon, as well as the rooftop lounge were all great.

The staff was generally very accommodating and helpful, except for a couple minor issues. For our return trip, we had specifically asked if we could check out late, as we had a late flight, and other hotels had agreed to our request. Kholle didn't answer this question, and then informed us that day we had to check out at the normal time, which might have changed our choice. Then when we checked out, they tried to pull some games on us with currency exchanges - we were paying in a mix of dollars and shillings, and they wanted us to pay the drinks bill, charged in shillings, in dollars at one exchange rate, and the room bill, charged in dollars, in shillings, at another rate. It wasn't a big difference, but there was a lot of confusion and it just seemed cheap and petty for a quality establishment

One really nice touch was the glasses of juice on arrival - they were fantastic, and different both times. We had them later as cocktails, which were also fantastic. The breakfast was quite good, although a bit confusing - there is a list of options and it is not clear whether you choose one item or whatever you want. It turns out you can get everything you want off the list without paying extra, but you seem to have to ask for each individual thing (i.e. it says eggs with bacon, tomato, beans - if you ask for the eggs, you just get the eggs, not the whole plate).

The negatives were actually rather minor - we'd definitely go back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoreA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mwasaju, Owner at Kholle House, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Guests,
Many thanks for your kind apprecation.
All the best,

Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.4 mi away
Zanzibar Coffee House
Zanzibar Coffee House
#4 of 34 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 stars 404 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#10 of 34 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mashariki Palace Hotel
Mashariki Palace Hotel
#2 of 34 in Stone Town
5.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dhow Palace Hotel
Dhow Palace Hotel
#16 of 34 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 stars 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kholle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kholle House

Property: Kholle House
Address: Malindi 607 / 608, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 642, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kholle House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kholle House fact sheet:Services & Facilities:• Wi-Fi available• Outdoor swimming pool• Transport to/from airport if required at an additional charge. Zanzibar airport and Dar es Salaam airport – ferry dock• Island tours and sea activities assistanceKholle House in the heart of Stone Town is an historical and authentic house build in 1860 which belonged to Princess Kholle. Sister of Sayyid Sultan bin Bargash and Princess Salme. The house has probably been there as a showcase from their crystal collection and porcelain.After the revolution in 1964 the house was confiscated and occupied by several families, this period caused severe damages in the house. Three years of restoration has bring us the pleasure to present our town beloved house, the work done in connection with historical monuments and in full respect with the construction methods in the time (coral rubble, lime, mangrove beams, marble…). With an noble and austere façade the building is typically Omani Arabic style while the garden has more Indo-Victorian fantasy rhythms. This style is featured on the covers of the old dispensary which faces Kholle House and was restored by the Ada Khan Foundation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Kholle House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kholle House Hotel Stone Town
Kholle House Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing