We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really great stay”
Review of Kholle House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kholle House
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2011

The hotel is quite hard to find but excellent location across the road from the ferry terminal from Tanzania. The manageress is very nice and helpful and went out of her way to let us know good places to eat and drink ( recommend Livingstones on the beach and 236 Hurumzi for cocktails at sunset) Stone town is great check out the Foradhani Gardens for authentic food absolutely fantastic and Silk route for restaurants really great indian cuisine. Back to the Hotel, great history and very modern, oozes charm and the added benefit of the small pool is great after a days sight seeing. Fantastic breakfast with great selection. All in all great hotel at very reasonable price.

Keep it up!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paulo1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 242 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2011

We were looking forward to our stay in Kholle House as part of our honeymoon very much. However, on arrival we were greeted with a grunt by the receptionist and grudgingly shown to our room. We were given no information about the hotel facilities, food availability etc. I was very disappointed to find out that our 'luxury' room had no door to the bathroom. Hence when lying in bed, you could see and hear someone on the toilet. This complete lack of privacy was hard to stomach and definitely NOT what I would expect when I am paying $200 a night for a room!

I asked to speak to the manager to see if we could be moved (this was our honeymoon after all), and was told that I could not speak to her until 5pm the next day (more than 24hours away!). Eventually I was handed a mobile to talk to the manager on the phone. I was made to feel like I was being completely unreasonable as "nobody has bothered about it before" and that as the hotel was designed to have no door on the bathroom, I should just accept that I could see, hear and smell everything that was happening in the toilet!

Eventually, we decided to stay somewhere else as the whole experience and attitude of the staff had been really disappointing. The manageress (on the phone - no one available to help at the hotel!) promised to find alternative accommodation and I appreciated her efforts. However, the alternative room she suggested in Africa House was run down, dark and damp. We eventually managed to secure our own alternative accommodation in the Dhow Palace hotel (friendly, helpful staff, beautiful room, drinks on arrival, private bathroom!).

Kholle House has the potential to be wonderful, but when paying $200 a night for a hotel I think it is fair to expect to be treated well by the staff and to have a little privacy in the bathroom!

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
4  Thank JRV186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mwasaju, Owner at Kholle House, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Dear customer,
Following your comments, doors have been placed in each bathrooms except one for technical reasons.
A welcome drink is always available on arrival as well as explanations about the history of the House and its environment. A brochure is handed to our guest while checking in.
A manager on duty is available from 07:30 to 19:30 and the receptionist will be delighted to help at any time of the day or night.
Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Just spent 3 nights in this lovely gem of a place in Stone Town just off the main road. It was quiet with great decor. Had a charming room (#1) and felt very taken care of by all the staff. Alejandra, the manager, was most helpful in suggesting sights, restaurants, and special areas I might want to see. I was traveling on my own and felt this place to be safe and supportive. I would go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globaljoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

The hotel is nice. Rooms are well furnished and thoughtfully decorated. The breakfast is substantial and good. The staff is friendly and helpful. The location has an upside, it is right next to the ferry so you can drag your stuff over without having to deal with the taxi touts (the hotel will send someone to help if you ask beforehand). But there are a couple of quirks. First, the bathrooms have no doors - not a big issue but something to be aware about. Second, the hotel is right next to a mosque - so ask for a room that faces away from it unless you're not bothered by the early morning call of the muezzin! Finally, there is no internet access - though the manager let me use her computer (for work reasons, I have to check in every day). But, given the prices they charge (relative to other upscale Stone Town hotels), the place is a steal!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the mosque
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WanderingLama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Kholle House is a beautiful haven of peace, with a ton of charm, in the heart of busy Stone Town.

Alejandra, the very welcoming hostess is someone who really cares about you having a splendid stay and about making you feel at home. She even spent an hour helping us to get a ticket for the ferry, without which we would've missed our ferry and, consequently, the airplane.

The beautifully renovated rooms are so breezy and elegantly decorated with great style!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ludovic0_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Within walking distance to most of the tourist attractions in Stone Town.

Room Tip: Beautifully restored and decorated. Rooms were spacious. Breakfasts good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MicheleStarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

On arrival we were greeted with cold towels and refreshment. The delightful Alejandra (manageress) regaled the romantic history of the hotel while our bags were discretely whisked away to our rooms. The hotel has been meticulously restored to its former glory and the suite I stayed offered welcome luxury, fantastic detail, discrete and and sympathetic to its heritage. Later, after fresh seafood and several sundowners at Livingstone's bar (cool bar with good music, 10 minute walk, faces out over the water to the sunset!) my sleep was deep and uninterrupted. Breakfast continued to impress, good coffee, eggs Florentine (with a side of real bacon!), all of which was served up with charming and enthusiastic service. When in Stone Town this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lukeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
300 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jafferji House & Spa
Jafferji House & Spa
#12 of 33 in Stone Town
363 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Zanzibar Coffee House
Zanzibar Coffee House
#3 of 33 in Stone Town
545 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maru Maru Hotel
Maru Maru Hotel
#9 of 33 in Stone Town
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kholle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kholle House

Address: Malindi 607 / 608, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 642, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range: $97 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kholle House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kholle House fact sheet:Services & Facilities:• Wi-Fi available• Outdoor swimming pool• Transport to/from airport if required at an additional charge. Zanzibar airport and Dar es Salaam airport – ferry dock• Island tours and sea activities assistance. Kholle House in the heart of Stone Town is an historical and authentic house build in 1860 which belonged to Princess Kholle. Sister of Sayyid Sultan bin Bargash and Princess Salme. The house has probably been there as a showcase from their crystal collection and porcelain.After the revolution in 1964 the house was confiscated and occupied by several families, this period caused severe damages in the house. Three years of restoration has brought us the pleasure to present our town beloved house, the work done in connection with historical monuments and in full respect with the construction methods in the time (coral rubble, lime, mangrove beams, marble…). With a noble and austere facade the building is typically Omani Arabic style while the garden has more Indo-Victorian fantasy rhythms. This style is featured on the covers of the old dispensary which faces Kholle House, that was restored by the Aga Khan Foundation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Kholle House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kholle House Hotel Stone Town
Kholle House Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing