We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly amazing hotel in Stone Town”
Review of Emerson Spice

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stone Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Emerson Spice
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
389 reviews
210 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
“A truly amazing hotel in Stone Town”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

It would not be an overstatement to say that I enjoyed at Emerson Spice one of my most pleasant hotel experiences anywhere in the world, thanks to Mr. Emerson himself. He carefully restored a beautiful Stone Town palace, tasefully decorated it with handpicked antiques, which give each of the 11 rooms its own homelike style. Service is impeccable with well-trained efficient staff, a rarity worth emphasizing at Zanzibar.

Breakfast, sondowners and meals are served on the rooftop terrace with offers a 360 degree view over Stone Town. The creativity of the 6-course fusion dinner set menu is in own worth trying.

It was my first time in Zanzibar. I will definetely return. I could not consider staying anywhere else than at Emerson Spice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FrenchTraveler001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babuemerson, Owner at Emerson Spice, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you and the other reviewers for your insightful comments and, of course, the praise. We all here gleam with pride after receiving these reviews. The staff run around showing each other the latest review. It's such fun; it's sometimes hard to believe it's work. Thank you. Karibu tena!

Emerson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    59
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
82
266
36
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Emerson Spice and we just loved it! The hotel is beautifully done, the rooms are so charmy and the best is that you are right in the middle of the old town near the markets, hence a very lively area! Staff were very friendly! A simple but delicious breakfast is served on the rooftop with a beautiful view of the city! A truly wonderful and authentic experience!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliana Aires F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babuemerson, Owner at Emerson Spice, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for this lovely review. A recent guest jokingly complained that he and his bride found the street watching from the veranda so entertaining that they found it difficult to leave the room. We wish you many long years of joy together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Myself and my partner recently stayed at Emerson Spice for two nights in their "Kate" room. The views from our two terraces were beautiful and the hotel's central position in Stone Town allowed us to sit out and soak up the atmosphere of the town itself. The staff were all helpful and the food at their rooftop restaurant was amazing; they were also flexible enough to cater for our dietary requirements at late notice. Perfect base for exploring the small streets of Stone Town. Simply wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KirstyN22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed for only one night as part of a trip to Zanzibar. It was a surprise for my wife who's face lit up as she entered the hotel, and head almost exploded when we she saw the room (Violetta). The service from the friendly staff was first class. We had breakfast on the veranda in our dressing gowns which was very special. The breakfast was amazing. Everything about the stay was perfect. Katia and her staff made it a very memorable experience for us with some very personal touches. We would definitely stay again and wish we could have stayed longer. You won't be disappointed.
Thank you so much,
James

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamo82-Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babuemerson, Owner at Emerson Spice, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you! Your every adjective in the title made me smile more and more. For you, it seems, that we achieved our dreams as well as yours. Karibuni tena!

Emerson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I think everyone should spend a few nights at a beach resort, and at least one in Stonetown. It would be a shame to miss this unique city. We spent 1 night at Emerson spice. Two would have been better. Such a unique property! Rooms were the biggest I have ever seen. Very "open" hotel and you feel like you are living and breathing Stonetown, if only for a moment. Don't miss sunset cocktails and the tasting menu on the rooftop.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmh200886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babuemerson, Owner at Emerson Spice, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. Especially your mention that Stonetown is worth more than one night. It is! Travel agents just have not caught on this fact yet! Agents still push a one night in Stonetown itinerary. It is unfortunate, because most guests who do stay only one night feel that they were mislead and have missed some of the best of Zanzibar. There are exceptional excursions available here in town, including extraordinary beaches on the neighboring historical islands. There is a lot more to Zanzibar than the beaches, it is a complete destination. Many, many guests exclaim that they see why I chose to move here 24 years ago.
Emerson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Emerson and staff do a fantastic job making everything perfect. We are here for our honeymoon and couldn't ask for anything more. The rooms are beautiful and the roof top restaurant is fantastic thanks again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAKEWAY10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babuemerson, Owner at Emerson Spice, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Honeymooners travel in a special aura of joy. It is contagious. Our staff family is always susceptible and from there it is spread to the other guests as well. Thank you for sharing your happiness with us. Please come to see us for an anniversary, so that we can celebrate again. Karibu sana. Emerson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

2 nights was not enough. Step back in time to a unique experience. The rooms were large and beautifully decorated, arabian nights came to mind. A step stool to climb in to the parachute bed. And the stone bath in the corner big enough to swim in.
The call to prayer echoed accross the city as we sat on the roof top restaurant sipping wine and eating fantastic food. and watching another sunset over the water. It was not high season so we were able to get a booking it would not be easy in the high season. A must if you enjoy seafood. It is on the 5th fllor and there are no lifts. Still worth it

Room Tip: Book early this is a very popular place for all the right reasons
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carol1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
#2 of 34 in Stone Town
527 reviews
7.7 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 169 in Zanzibar Island
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 34 in Stone Town
281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maru Maru Hotel
Maru Maru Hotel
#8 of 34 in Stone Town
539 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jafferji House & Spa
Jafferji House & Spa
#12 of 34 in Stone Town
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerson Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerson Spice

Property: Emerson Spice
Address: Tharia Street, Kiponda, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#1 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#5 Business Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An inspired and lovingly restored Merchant’s House, this multi-storied small Boutique hotel has an inner courtyard, eleven unique antiques-filled rooms, and two of Zanzibar’s best restaurants. All rooms are equipped with a small fridge, air conditioner, fan, and high ceiling mosquito net. The rooftop ‘Tea House’ hosts one of Stonetown’s most renowned restaurants offering a stylish ambiance amidst the sound of the calls to prayer from the town’s many mosques. The five course ‘Taste Safari’, prepared daily by our Zanzibari chefs, is seafood based and celebrates the freshest and best the market has to offer each morning. The sunset hour is an integral and pleasurable part of the experience so diners are encouraged to arrive at around 6pm to enjoy a ‘Sundowner’ before dinner. On the Ground floor The Secret Garden, set amidst lushly landscaped hidden ‘Ruins’, open to the skies, has a Zanzibari inspired A La Carte Menu. Look out for live music performed by The Dhow Countries Music Academy. Open for Lunch and Dinner. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Emerson Spice Hotel Stone Town
Emerson Spice Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing