We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The atmosphereof Stone Town”
Review of Emerson Spice

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stone Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Emerson Spice
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My partner and I stayed here in early January 2013. This is a great experience hotel and staying here really enhanced our visit to Stone Town and Zanzibar.
I booked direct and all communications were efficient and accurate. They offered to have a staff member meet us at the ferry. Another staff member escorted us to a pharmacy.
Our room (Violeta) was large, beautifully decorated, cool, spotlessly clean, and just such a delight to walk into. And the verandah with day bed and hammocks, looking down on the street life below was an added bonus. The attention to detail showed that someone really cares about the guest experience.
eg.Its difficult to find your way around the maze of laneways and streets in the old town, so each room has a free mobile phone to take with you in case you get lost, and you can ring the hotel and someon e will come and get you. How thoughtful is that.
No two rooms are the same and each has a different theme.
I should also mention the roof top cafe where you can enjoy a fabulous dinner which is a must for interesting innovative cuisine. We thoroughly enjoyed it, and also the cafe in the lobby for lunch. Delicious food and some of the best we had on our East Africa holiday.
All this at very realistic prices, efficient and friendly service.
The staff are very very helpful.
This is a special hotel and we are so pleased to have stayed here.
It's in my top ten of hotel experiences.
Thankyou all so much.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidaymaker039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 551 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel on the final leg of our Hoheymoon. We picked it because it had top reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. Just the opposite, it is like a gem in the streets of Stone Town.
We preferred this location because hotel is situated in the more "local" area of Stone Town.
We stayed in the Room Belle, and it was absolutely beautiful! We had a balcony overlooking the street. Decor of the room was amazing. We could not stop admiring this building and the beautiful decoration of every room, attention to detail is unbelievable.
Staff was very friendly, all the extra touches made it very special. We had breakfast served on the balcony with fresh fruit, juice and tea/coffee. On arrival they gave us a bottle of bubbly and a fruit basket. We had a very early departure, about 5am, but they still served us breakfast in the cafe area.
Hotel organised our tour guide to take us round Stone Town, and it was really worth it. His name was Solomon, so please ask for him!
We booked an evening meal on the roof top restaurant and what an amazing dinner that was! That night they had a complimentary wine tasting session with Mr Emerson himself, and it was a great pleasure to meet him!
The only downside is that there is a mosque very near, so be prepared to be woken up at 5am. It applies to the majority of hotels in Stone Town as there are about 45 mosques and they all use speakers to call for prayer. But don't let this put you off, this is a part of the overall experience!
Thank you Emerson Spice, we hope we can come back one day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katia1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

There's certain places you come across in life, that remain one of those lifetime experiences. Everything from the communcal tap outside the front door the local children used to fill their bottles to the beautiful spacious rooms makes this place special. My room overlooked a mosque, and the call to local prayers made this place memorable. Fit for royalty, thank you Emerson Spice for making one of my lifetime memories a joyous one. Dinner on the rooftop is a must!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maselina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I stayed at Emerson Spice with my mother and brother March 2012 in Aida. The loft room was beautiful - we had three beds, each with canopies, as well as a day bed to lounge on. It was truly unique with such attention to artistic detail. Emerson Spice is in the heart of Stonetown with fabulous street to peer down on. The rooftop restaurant meal was a several course menu - great value for a low price. The menu varies each day and we had a great variety of fresh seafood, vegetables, fruits, and desert. Breakfast was equally amazing - we sipped Zanzibar spice coffee each morning with an egg of our choice, a plethora of fruit, and fresh juice (passion fruit or bungo). Wireless interest is also available in the lobby and faster than anything else I experienced in my three and half months in Tanzania.

If I ever make it over to Tanzania/Zanzibar again I will stay at Emerson Spice.

Room Tip: Aida if you're travelling as a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Came to Emerson after 5 days in Nungwe. The rooms are spacious and "farytail-like", and the staff very helpful ;) Dinner on the rooftop is a must, a lot of interesting mixes of food and spice. We stayed in the rooms "Mimi" and "Desdemona", which both have great view of the city. Desdemona Even had some oceanview ;) Wecan definately reccomend the hotel to oter families visiting Stone Town. Visitors should also have dinner or lunch in "House of Spice" - good service and very good Italien pizza and pasta.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank Stine71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Emerson Spice is quite an eclectic place. The hotel is well run and managed, and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooftop cafe for breakfast or dinner is a must. Location is great. The rooms are large, and decor is eclectic. The decor was not quite our style and we didn't love Stone Town, but the hotel was well run and accomodating. The rooms are equipped with a cell phone which has some credit and you can use during your stay in Stone Town -- that was definitely a great idea and nice touch.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank froufrouBkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

A perfect stay. Charming room.excellent diner.dedicated staff.Friendly atmosphere not no be missed
A perfect location few minutes from the harbour, the market,
Food was amazing subtil association of local products/ Fine dining

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hekla73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Zanzibar Coffee House
Zanzibar Coffee House
#4 of 33 in Stone Town
556 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
#2 of 33 in Stone Town
571 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.2 mi away
Jafferji House & Spa
Jafferji House & Spa
#12 of 33 in Stone Town
370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maru Maru Hotel
Maru Maru Hotel
#11 of 33 in Stone Town
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerson Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerson Spice

Address: Tharia Street, Kiponda, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#5 Business Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range: $175 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An inspired and lovingly restored Merchant’s House, this multi-storied small Boutique hotel has an inner courtyard, eleven unique antiques-filled rooms, and two of Zanzibar’s best restaurants. All rooms are equipped with a small fridge, air conditioner, fan, and high ceiling mosquito net. The rooftop ‘Tea House’ hosts one of Stonetown’s most renowned restaurants offering a stylish ambiance amidst the sound of the calls to prayer from the town’s many mosques. The five course ‘Taste Safari’, prepared daily by our Zanzibari chefs, is seafood based and celebrates the freshest and best the market has to offer each morning. The sunset hour is an integral and pleasurable part of the experience so diners are encouraged to arrive at around 6pm to enjoy a ‘Sundowner’ before dinner. On the Ground floor The Secret Garden, set amidst lushly landscaped hidden ‘Ruins’, open to the skies, has a Zanzibari inspired A La Carte Menu. Look out for live music performed by The Dhow Countries Music Academy. Open for Lunch and Dinner. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Emerson Spice Hotel Stone Town
Emerson Spice Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing