We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”
Review of Emerson Spice

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stone Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Emerson Spice
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Having stayed in many luxurious hotels all over the world, what a breath of fresh air Emerson Spice is after usual unexciting and uniformly decorated rooms I have grown accustomed to. The hotel is so beautiful. The rooms (I asked to be shown a few others) are each completely unique with carefully chosen pieces of furniture and colour schemes. We stayed in "Kate" which had a magnificent balcony. And then the service was fantastic, the management attentive, the food sublime and not to mention the sunset views when you sip your margarita at sunset! Well done, Emerson! This is a truly great and unique hotel! The only place to stay in Stonetown!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling_Louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    58
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
81
255
35
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stayed here for one night, and wished that we had booked more nights. We only had lunch, which was by far the best food we had on the island after a week. The room we stayed in was very spacious for the price, the bed extremely comfortable, the bathroom was actually fun, and the service was warm and genuine. Fully recommend this place to couples traveling to Zanzibar and spending any time in Stone Town.

Room Tip: Violetta had a wonderful balcony/terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We did not stay here but had an amazing lunch here, one of the best in Africa and Emerson so kindly gave us a list of his favorite shops.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NMeliW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ras al Khaimah, Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at Emerson Spice for 5 days. It is the best and most unique experience of my extensive travels to date! If you don't manage to stay at this magical haven, then you must at least experience the outstanding meals at the rooftop restaurant. Emerson Skeens and his chefs have taken African cuisine to international standards, with tastes and local ingredients that rank with the best worldwide. A magnificent experience!

Room Tip: Every room is unique and superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanBainbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in December 2011 and were very pleased with our experience. Having come from a generic beach hotel on the east coast this was a perfect contrast, with real authenticity, charm and very helpful staff. The size of the rooms is very generous and we enjoyed an massive balcony, where we had breakfast served in the morning. The added surprise was the rooftop restaurant, where you get delectable food served at a very reasonable price and can enjoy the 360 degree panorama of Stone Town. We would definitely stay here again as has that little extra touch that we look for when going on holiday.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinPer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravensbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed in violetta with our 2 children. We had breakfast on our balcony each morning which was great.
We were lucky enough to have spent new year at the hotel and the set menu that was put together for the new year celebration was excellent. Thank you to all the staff at Emerson Spice.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravensbourneaussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

A real surprise. Emerson is obviously a leader in all areas of hospitality.
He made us feel at home. Treated us to the marvelous experiences of Zanzibar .
We will be back
Whatever you do make sure you take up the opportunity of a roof top dinner.
The best dinner ever

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AH59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
#2 of 33 in Stone Town
483 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zanzibar Coffee House
Zanzibar Coffee House
#3 of 33 in Stone Town
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 168 in Zanzibar Island
466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#11 of 33 in Stone Town
270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jafferji House & Spa
Jafferji House & Spa
#12 of 33 in Stone Town
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerson Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerson Spice

Property: Emerson Spice
Address: Tharia Street, Kiponda, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#5 Business Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An inspired and lovingly restored Merchant’s House, this multi-storied small Boutique hotel has an inner courtyard, eleven unique antiques-filled rooms, and two of Zanzibar’s best restaurants. All rooms are equipped with a small fridge, air conditioner, fan, and high ceiling mosquito net. The rooftop ‘Tea House’ hosts one of Stonetown’s most renowned restaurants offering a stylish ambiance amidst the sound of the calls to prayer from the town’s many mosques. The five course ‘Taste Safari’, prepared daily by our Zanzibari chefs, is seafood based and celebrates the freshest and best the market has to offer each morning. The sunset hour is an integral and pleasurable part of the experience so diners are encouraged to arrive at around 6pm to enjoy a ‘Sundowner’ before dinner. On the Ground floor The Secret Garden, set amidst lushly landscaped hidden ‘Ruins’, open to the skies, has a Zanzibari inspired A La Carte Menu. Look out for live music performed by The Dhow Countries Music Academy. Open for Lunch and Dinner. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Emerson Spice Hotel Stone Town
Emerson Spice Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing