We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“little lord fauntleroy”
Review of Emerson Spice

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stone Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Emerson Spice
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“little lord fauntleroy”
Reviewed July 13, 2011

After three months in tanzania my trip all short to zanzibar was a most welcomed antidote and my stay at emerson spice could not have been bettered
Whilst the building is splendid and being restored with the utmost attention to detail i felt like a prince in his palatial suite, my abiding memory is of the care and consideration shown me by the staff- they were an absolute delight and the perfect pick me up
It was my birthday and these days i tend to let it pass unheralded but a friend phoned ahead- my arrival was marked with a cake with candles a few chocolate bars and the most being rendition of happy birthday replete with how old are you know
i was most charmed and stayed that way throughout my short stay- thankyou for making me feel part of the family at emerson spice

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrislukaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    58
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
81
255
35
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

This may be the nicest hotel I've ever stayed in. It was breathtakingly beautiful... very Arabian Nights. The owner has maintained a lot of local antiques and uses them to decorate the hotel. It is colorful, traditional, modern, classic, immaculately clean, well air-conditioned, and has the largest balcony I've ever seen. Our private balcony spanned one entire side of the hotel and wrapped partly around another. There wasn't much of a view since you're in Stonetown, but you can watch people down on the street and say hi to the kids in the house across the way. The staff is very helpful and the food was fresh and delicious.

The hotel is a few blocks from the water, which is where street fair and all the other action happens. It's a great location. Your taxi driver will have to take you on foot after a certain point, so please insist that he help you find the place. It's fairly close to Coffee House, which everyone seems to know. The Coffee House staff will even show you how to get there if the taxi driver doesn't know.

There may not be a lot of reviews yet because it's just recently opened. I suspect anyone who stays here will have nothing but positive things to say. The craziest part is that it's really not all that expensive ($150/night). You should have no hesitations about staying here.

No hair dryer in room. Powerful fan and A/C with remote control.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sgfrontman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babuemerson, Owner at Emerson Spice, responded to this review, July 9, 2011
Dear esteemed guests,

What can one say to such kindness? You've been delightful, perfect, and a pleasure to serve by all of us here, as you have noticed and appreciated so warmly in your reviews. Our little family here talks about what good people you have been, and when you leave, we remember. So please keep in touch.

On a personal level, I've been so busy, designing, building, playing in the kitchen with my gorgeous crew and being the naughty five-year old that I am at heart; that I've not spent much time following your written comments; but today when I looked at all that you've written, my heart skipped.

It's, of course, a bit mad to design rooms as such personal fantasies and to ask my guests to share them with me. Your appreciation of them is truly touching and the greatest compliment a designer could dream of. Wow! I thank you all, and please visit again.

Emerson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanzania
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2011

In the heart of Stone Town, this is one of the oldest buildings in the original Zazibari style.  Through it's huge, solid wooden doors you feel yourself slipping back in time.  The walls ooze with the very essence of Zanzibar.   You are immersed in kind of mystical and eastern world of four poster swahili beds, ornately carved balconies, thin wafting drapes all cooled and softened with the mixed hues of pinks and blues from the stained glass windows. Emerson and his very helpful and informative staff go out of their way to add to the whole experience.   If you are looking for the real hidden treasures of this exotic island - this is it!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saskerella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dodger002
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Superb location, service, staff, and owner! Look fwd to returning and dining there again. The food is stellar.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank dodger002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

My husband and I loved Emerson Spice! Each suite is uniquely decorated with antique Zanzibari furniture. You feel like you are entering another world, another place and time. The service is very friendly and accomodating. Emerson goes out of his way to attend to your needs and is happy to spend time telling you about Zanzibar culture and history. The food was the best I've tasted in Zanzibar...maybe in Tanzania as a whole! HIGHLY recommended!!! Situated next to a busy square in the heart of stone town--you will really get a feel for daily life of Zanzibar residents. I am a light sleeper but didn't mind the call to prayer of the muezzin from the mosque just outside the hotel. Nice balcony for sundowners / watching the world go by.

Room Tip: Real, friendly , authentic Zanzibar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UptownGirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
#2 of 33 in Stone Town
485 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zanzibar Coffee House
Zanzibar Coffee House
#3 of 33 in Stone Town
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 168 in Zanzibar Island
468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#11 of 33 in Stone Town
270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jafferji House & Spa
Jafferji House & Spa
#12 of 33 in Stone Town
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerson Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerson Spice

Property: Emerson Spice
Address: Tharia Street, Kiponda, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#1 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#5 Business Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An inspired and lovingly restored Merchant’s House, this multi-storied small Boutique hotel has an inner courtyard, eleven unique antiques-filled rooms, and two of Zanzibar’s best restaurants. All rooms are equipped with a small fridge, air conditioner, fan, and high ceiling mosquito net. The rooftop ‘Tea House’ hosts one of Stonetown’s most renowned restaurants offering a stylish ambiance amidst the sound of the calls to prayer from the town’s many mosques. The five course ‘Taste Safari’, prepared daily by our Zanzibari chefs, is seafood based and celebrates the freshest and best the market has to offer each morning. The sunset hour is an integral and pleasurable part of the experience so diners are encouraged to arrive at around 6pm to enjoy a ‘Sundowner’ before dinner. On the Ground floor The Secret Garden, set amidst lushly landscaped hidden ‘Ruins’, open to the skies, has a Zanzibari inspired A La Carte Menu. Look out for live music performed by The Dhow Countries Music Academy. Open for Lunch and Dinner. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Emerson Spice Hotel Stone Town
Emerson Spice Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing