We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in stone town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jafferji House & Spa
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Dar es Salaam, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best hotel in stone town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

The staff of Jafferji House & Spa are wonderful. They were happy to fulfill any request with a smile. The hotel is extremely quiet. Other hotels can apparently be quite noisy, so this is an important feature. Breakfast was very good. It's buffet style so it's fast and plentiful.

Room Tip: Executive Suite very nice Antique Theme!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yusuf K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    71
    22
    7
    6
See reviews for
35
169
43
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

We spent 2 nights in this excellent hotel with good service in the center of Stonetown. Every room is uniquely furnished, you feel like a sultan. A swimming pool is not missed, the roof top offers stunning views.
Tip: spending a night and day in Stonetown allows for a much more intense experience than just a day trip to ZNZ.

Room Tip: Princess of Salme or any other room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Great hotel, very stunning decor. Room was fantastic. Very friendly and efficient staff. Free use of internet and pc a bonus. Good tour options and great service providers. Ideal location and close to sights. Felt safe at all times. Very clean. Good restaurant as well.

Room Tip: Every room is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L4Evo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

I did the research, booked the hotel, paid for my room, and headed off to Zanzibar. There were just two tiny flaws - I had forgotten my credit card at home, and all the US$100 notes I had on me were 'old'. (Please note that almost no one in Tanzania will accept dollar notes that are printed before 1997. Refresh your wallet before you leave home).

So long story in short - I had a very rich adventure for 5 days, while feeling very poor.

Jafferji House is my kind of quirky place. The walls are pink, the decor is kitsch, there are a dozen tiny nooks, there is much eccentricity, there is always another secret spot to discover and photograph, and I have a weakness for mosquito netting.

But that is the hotel per say.... Inside my room, ambience prevailed while amenities lacked. While there were beaded curtains and open toilets and much of Freddy on the walls (it was the Mercury Suite), there was no mirror, no luggage rack, and no promised Wi-Fi. The room is not sound proofed - the street noise can get really loud at night - and has neither dresser nor writing table. The lighting is dramatic and multi-hued, but the only way I could read in my room was by lying down directly under the bed light.

Some of the staff were very helpful in sorting out my financial state - George the Masai walked with me to several banks - and the women who run the restaurant are very friendly too. But as is the case with many hotels run by individuals or families, there are many missing undefinables. The aesthetics are fine, but they have forgotten to address many guest needs. And the housekeeping staff express extreme reluctance in parting with extra drinking water.

Breakfast is very, very slow but quite splendid when it arrives. Room service is adequate. All the sightseeing tours are run by a sister company, and therefore priced quite steep.

With three/four flights of stairs, this is not an ideal hotel for families with babies and push carts, or for the elderly and afflicted. Single travellers like me can take recourse in the great location. Jafferji is perhaps best suited for young couples who are so in love, they can turn a blind eye to whatever is missing.

Room Tip: If they offer the Mercury Suite ask for other options - unless you want to be partially blind and sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Writergirldubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Staff - kind, curteous, professional and accomodating!
Rooms - beautiful, unique, totally zanzibari, spacious!
Food - delicious, great breakfasts!
Location - excellent. Literally in the heart of the best area of Stonetown. Walking distance to all the best shops, restaurants and sights.
My husband and I spent two nights here on our honeymoon. Jafferji House is fabulous.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sultan Suite which was incredible and luxurious. We also took a peek inside most of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatMahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights last week and sere sad to leave. I could quite happily have stayed for a month! We stayed in the sultan Suite, and were totally blown away! The bedroom was beautifully decorated - the photographs cannot really capture the beauty of this hotel. We had a massive bed, with top class bedding, lovely mosquito net, Persian carpets on the floor, great aircon(most certainly needed), very big bathroom on suite and complimentary tea, coffee and water. We also had our own private sitting room, with huge ceiling fans - also beautifully decorated with antiques and collectables. I loved the massive antique copper bath. It was blissful to soak in there after a long day of sightseeing. My husband particularly enjoyed the outdoor shower with a view over the roofs to the Old Fort and the sea behind. Breakfast, served in The Mistress of Spices restaurant, was delicious. Freshly squeezed juice, fruit salad, yoghurts and a fully cooked variety was available. We also had dinner there on our first night - very good fare. The staff went out of their way for us. Their service was first class! The location on Jafferji House was great. We walked everywhere, day and night and never felt unsafe. This hotel is excellent value for money. When we visit again, we will most certainly stay at this establishment. I give it 10/10!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peridot022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
268 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

This is a fine hotel in the middle of Stone Town. Fascinating restored house, large rooms, fully air conditioned (very important when we there). We received a complimentary private dinner on the roof which was very good, though no alcohol served. Breakfast was excellent. Staff friendly. We thought Stone Town itself was over rated. Tons of tourist shops and street hustlers, incredible litter. Most of the alleged attractions were closed or dilapidated. It was much more attractive 100 years ago based on old photos that I have seen. It is a very different & somewhat interesting culture, but for us one day would have more than sufficed.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BunkyVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.3 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
31.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#11 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zanzibar Coffee House
Zanzibar Coffee House
#4 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dhow Palace Hotel
Dhow Palace Hotel
#14 of 33 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jafferji House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jafferji House & Spa

Property: Jafferji House & Spa
Address: 170 Gizenga Street | Gizenga Street, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#8 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Jafferji House & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jafferji House & Spa is located in the heart of Zanzibar's historic Stone Town, behind the Old Fort, which is just a stroll from the House of Wonders. It is conveniently located to Zanzibar's most vibrant shops and restaurants on the sea front. Close to the Forodhani gardens. Transfer time to and from the airport is about 20 minutes and 10 minutes from the Ferry port ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Jovago.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jafferji House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jafferji House & Spa Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing