We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel in the heart of Stonetown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jafferji House & Spa
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We arrived at Jafferji House in early January, after a full day travelling from Serengeti, and after being welcomed to our room (the Mercury Suite) one of our first thoughts was "we should have booked to stay for more than one night". The hotel and suite were beautifully decorated, and the staff were extremely helpful. Facilities in the room included everything we needed plus more. It had air-con, wifi, and TV (which we didn't even turn on as there was so much else to do). We were keen to explore Stonetown but were a bit uncertain on on how difficult it would be, however, once we asked at the front desk they provided expert guidance, and we spent a few hours wandering around the wonderful sights of Stonetown, including watching the sunset over the ocean. After excellent night's sleep we enjoyed breakfast and were on our way. Thank you to the team at Jafferji house!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 373 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014

Our stay at Jafferji House was incredible. We received excellent service from the staff, starting with a friendly collection from the airport. The hotel is located in the heart of Stone Town, making sight-seeing and exploration effortless. The building itself is architecturally impressive, with carefully selected lighting and furnishings and beautiful wooden features. We stayed in the Freddie Mercury Suite the first night and upgraded to the Sultan Suite the following night. Both suites were comfortable and well-maintained - we had no problems with internet access or air conditioning and hot water was readily available. The Jafferji House has a restaurant with very good quality food and also offers a private dining experience on the rooftop with views of Stone Town and glorious sunsets on the sea. My partner took advantage of this beautiful location to propose to me and we will definitely be planning a return trip in the future. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Our stay at Jafferji House was amazing. Upon check-in we were upgraded to the Kama Sutra suite where we stayed two nights. Our suite was huge: two levels with an outdoor bathtub, indoor en suite, air conditioning, a smaller bed downstairs and a large bed upstairs, safe for valuables, a tv and of course decorated in true Zanzibar style. The bedding and the colors of the decor were just beautiful. The whole property is decorated by photos that Mr. Jafferji took himself and it adds a great personal touch. The breakfast was good in the morning...fruit, croissants, some bran cereal, and also a hot option that included eggs. The staff was very helpful and friendly and arranged transport for us as well as giving us general directions (and can also arrange excursions for you as well). Jafferji house is a great location very close to the water and central to many tourist attractions. Don't forget to get lost wondering the tiny maze of streets in Stone Town, you will not be disappointed. My only regret is that our stay was not longer than 2 nights!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jklawhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Stayed here over Christmas! Amazing service and room!
The staff were extremely helpful, organised transfers, tours etc
The included breakfast was fantastic and the coffee very welcomed!
The rooms were huge with great bed and en suit. I stayed the in 'Out of Africa' room which I would highly recommend.
The restaurant has really tasty food however no alcohol is available and there is no bar.
Would recommend this accommodation very highly to anyone, very central in stone town (just behind the Old Fort). Staff and service made the stay a pleasure

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcrane83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

This is a fantastic hotel. The room are all uniquely designed and the entire building is amazing. The staff is very service minded and friendly. Breakfast is rich with a huge variety of selection. Internet is working perfectly.
All feel joyful, simple and beautiful.
I want to come back!

Room Tip: Each room has a theme, chose your the theme you are most curious to more about
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed for two nights, were upgraded to the "Kama Sutra" suite which is an amazing room!
Breakfast was very good, staff very polite and helpful.
A very interesting building in itself with lots of wonderful nooks and crannies and very well situated in the center of Stone town.
I would advise travelers to confirm their bookings with the hotel before arrival as I think there may be an issue with overbooking.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

My GF and i stayed at the Jefferji House an excellent hotel , simply luxury that let you relax.Good service,staff so nice the food is amazing. I definitely recommend this hotel to everyone going to zanzibar .

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Youssef D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donphida, General Manager at Jafferji House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Youssef,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for posting this great review. We are all glad to read that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the very near future.
Warm Regards, Donna Da Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0 mi away
Maru Maru Hotel
Maru Maru Hotel
#11 of 33 in Stone Town
562 reviews
18.9 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
315 reviews
31.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jafferji House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jafferji House & Spa

Address: 170 Gizenga Street | Gizenga Street, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#8 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range: $106 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jafferji House & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jafferji House & Spa is located in the heart of Zanzibar's historic Stone Town, behind the Old Fort, which is just a stroll from the House of Wonders. It is conveniently located to Zanzibar's most vibrant shops and restaurants on the sea front. Close to the Forodhani gardens. Transfer time to and from the airport is about 20 minutes and 10 minutes from the Ferry port ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jafferji House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jafferji House & Spa Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing