We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a real gem in stone town zanzibar with 2 drawbacks only”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jafferji House & Spa
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“a real gem in stone town zanzibar with 2 drawbacks only”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I loved it. as a group of friends we had different room types and we checked them all out. they were all so different and amazingly lovingly decorated and themed. the attention to detail shown at this property was amazing and rarely seen. Mr Jafferji himself can often be seen wandering around the hotel and all his amazing photography is displayed. the staff go above and beyond to help you immediately, walking us to a nearby restaurant so we can have wine with our dinner. the only 2 drawbacks are they don't serve alcohol here and there is no pool. if you can cope without those its perfect heaven on earth place to stay.
the café/restaurant they have is a little on the basic side compared to the rest of the property. I think they could improve the menu here a tiny bit but it was pretty good
you can choose to dine up on the roof top - its a set menu but you have 3 choices
that is the only time you can ask them to provide a bottle of wine with yoru dinner and they can
highly recommend you book for a private rooftop dinner. it is not expensive and its amazing!
definitely stay here!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alwaystravelling73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    71
    22
    7
    6
See reviews for
35
168
43
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for one night following a few days in Pemba and we were really impressed with the hotel! The staff were all very welcoming and friendly and made us feel at home stright away. The interior of the hotel was lovely and had lots of character. We had two rooms and both were lovely- very clean and spacious. We had to check out really early for our flight and the staff arranged for us to have a take away breakfast which was lovely. We had dinner in the restaurant which we all enjoyed- luckily we had enough cash as the card machine wasn't working! The location of the hotel is great- right in the heart of everything. Overall, we had a great stay and really pleased that we decided to stay there! Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed here for two nights upon our arrival in Zanzibar. We arrived very late the first night and the staff was there to welcome us with big smiles. All of the staff was excellent during every encounter with them.

We stayed in the Mercury Room which was entertaining, especially since before arriving we did not know that Freddy Mercury was from Zanzibar so at first we though it was odd that this hotel was playing homage to him - gave us quite a few giggles.

The room was quite dark and very oddly laid out but it was clean enough and there was quite a bit of space.

The location of the hotel (for Stone Town) was good as it was on a main shopping street and close to the market and water.

The food we had, breakfast and dinner, were both really good.

Thanks to the staff at Jafferji for being so lovely and making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eurochic00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My wife and I spent our 17th anniversary at Jafferji House, starting with a glorious massage in the rooftop spa. The staff was fantastic and the setting was absolutely stunning - a Stone Town rooftop nestled between the historic Old Fort and the winding alleys of the old town. The melody of a choir singing at the Cathedral merged with Muslim calls to prayer just as the sun set over the Indian Ocean and the African mainland. We followed the spa with a private dinner on the rooftop - succulent lobster and seafood, beautifully presented and utterly enjoyed. It was the finest meal I've had in a long time, and the service was excellent.

The hotel is beautifully decorated with a modern Swahili style, reflecting the vibrant arts of the islands. Obviously someone put a lot of passion into every detail of the decor. Just walking through the halls was a treat.

This is the perfect place for a special occasion, and hey, a trip to Zanzibar is a special occasion in itself!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London (UK)
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The Jafferji House is the perfect example of a small hotel that is not great only because it is comfortable, offer great services, pleasant, beautiful, cool etc. but also harmonically and tastefully reflects the atmosphere of the city in which it exists. The minute we entered the hotel lobby, we felt we are in a special place. Stunning interior, breathtaking, traditional design. Every detail of the place is carefully looked after in every single corner. We were lucky to get upgraded to a suite which was even more stunning. It really looked like if it was somewhere in a sultan’s palace. Moreover, the staff was also exceptionally helpful, kind and friendly so the whole experience made us really feel if we were some kinds of royals. The place was so beautiful and pleasant, that we were keener to explore the rest of the hotel first, before we went out to see Stone Town itself.
The location of the hotel is also excellent. The Gizenga Street is arguably one of the most interesting of all the narrow alleyways of the city. It is full of nice little shops, and only a couple of minutes walk from the House of Wonders, the catholic church and the old fortress.
My only advice to the hotel management would be to do something with sound insulation, as the rooms can be a bit noisy till 11pm from the lively Gizenga Street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fuzert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I just got back from spending several days at this beautiful hotel. The staff was so helpful they could not do enough for us. The rooms were beautiful and clean. The only problem I had was the suite they gave us was the Karma Sutra suite which would have been fine except I was with my son. Unfortunately they did not have another suite to give us. The room was beautiful, two story with a bed on each floor. When asking for recommendations to restaurants , someone from the hotel alway accompanied us so that we would not get lost. The food in the restaurant was good the staff was exceptional. I will most certainly be back to this hotel on my next trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tennis_bum1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Very nice hotel in the centre of Stonetown where staff take pride in their service.
Immaculate hotel, beautiful room with 4 poster bed and very eloquent.
Ate lunch in the restaurant which was a lovely setting with fantastic decor and furniture and mealwas good value.
Would also recommend the rooftop private dining. Amazing food, view over the roofs of Stonetown and impeccable service by the waitress...made for a very romantic night.
The owner was very nice, chatting to us and taking great interest in how our stay was and asking if there was any problems.
Also allowed us to stay in the room way after check out time until we left for the airport. Might not sound much but these things show that she wants her guests to have a nice stay. Would recommend if you're wanting to woo the other half......I'd made mine camp across Tanzania for 2 weeks so thought It was the least I could do!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graham07930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donphida, General Manager at Jafferji House & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Jambo Graham,

It is an absolute pleasure to read such a review. I am delighted to read your comments about the service and It is indeed nice to know that you enjoyed our cuisine and service during your stay with us.
We certainly take great pride and I will definitely share your appreciation with all our staff - Karibu Tena..

Warm Regards, Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.3 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
260 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
31.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#11 of 33 in Stone Town
230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zanzibar Coffee House
Zanzibar Coffee House
#4 of 33 in Stone Town
491 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dhow Palace Hotel
Dhow Palace Hotel
#13 of 33 in Stone Town
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jafferji House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jafferji House & Spa

Property: Jafferji House & Spa
Address: 170 Gizenga Street | Gizenga Street, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#8 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Jafferji House & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jafferji House & Spa is located in the heart of Zanzibar's historic Stone Town, behind the Old Fort, which is just a stroll from the House of Wonders. It is conveniently located to Zanzibar's most vibrant shops and restaurants on the sea front. Close to the Forodhani gardens. Transfer time to and from the airport is about 20 minutes and 10 minutes from the Ferry port ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jafferji House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jafferji House & Spa Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing