We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Original and luxurious” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jafferji House & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jafferji House & Spa
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Original and luxurious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had a lovely one-night stay at this original and luxurious hotel. With excellent location we were close to everything while we still enjoyed the feeling of being in a secret place. The rooms were nicely decorated with a personal touch and the service was excellent! The only disappointment was the breakfast which standard needs to be raised in order to keep up with the hotel in general.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnjaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    69
    22
    7
    6
See reviews for
35
165
43
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at this awesome cozy place in the heart of Zanzibar. I found it to be reminiscent of the days gone by where one was pampered and catered to. It was beautiful and décor was simply decadent and in keeping with Stonetown. I just loved everything about the hotel, from the service, to the food to the suite I stayed in. I would highly recommend the Hotel to newly married couples, singles and just about anyone looking for an unusual atmosphere to relax in. I had a wonderful time and cannot wait to go back to Jafferji House for another episode of "Far From the Madding Crowd!". Every little detail was taken into account and the furnishings left you in awe.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are really quaint!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
152 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights after a safari in Northern Tanzania. The place is beautiful, the service was excellent. The hotel is located in Stone Town on a street with only pedestrian traffic. I was in the Freddie Mercury Suite (he was born on Zanzibar). The hotel has about 10 suites. It does not have an elevator.

The staff was very helpful in recommending and arranging tours and transportation. I had dinner in the attached restaurant the evening I arrived and found both the service and food to be good. Breakfast is served in the attached restaurant.

If I ever make it back to Zanzibar, this is where I'll be staying.

Room Tip: The street is quiet as it's pedestrian only. If you don't want to climb stairs, look for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terrell_msp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

we stayed one night here after being on safari---we had the out of africa room which was beautifully decorated.........staff was very nice altho the restaurant staff was slow and the food was nothing to write home about.we got a tour of some of the other suites and heard about the history of the hotel which was very interesting.would not recommend this for more than 1-2 nights as there is not much to do in stowntown--we took a late afternoon walking tour arranged by the hotel which was quite good.
there was a somewhat damp feeling in the room and the view outside is non exsistant........be aware that there a lot of steps to get to the room.although they brougth lunch to our room when we arrived they did not collect the glasses and some of the dishes till the following morning

Room Tip: each suite is very special...........
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karyn1241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed one night in the Stanley room at this gorgeously decorated hotel closely located to the Old Fort in Stone Town. The room was colorfully furnished, had windows but sadly no outside view so it felt slightly claustrophobic. It was also very damp, would suggest you that you always leave the air-con on. The staff were very friendly and pleasant and the breakfast buffet somewhat on the small side but sufficient.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tyhckerom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Coast, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

truely amazing hotel, well decorated, large rooms with big beds.. friendly staff starting all the way from reception to restaurant and housekeeping.

The restaurant decor is so well done its very hard to describe in words.. the food was really amazing as well

After learning the history behind the house, i would like to wish Mr. Javed and his team all the best and thank them for such wonderful treatment during my stay.

Jafferji House is a must recommend for a minimum 2 to 3 night stay with some world class pampering coming straight from the rooftop Spa and excellent food.

Honeymooners! - you must book yourselves in the Kamasutra Suite!

Room Tip: Kamasutra Suite, Jafferji House Sultan Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Idris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel, very amply decorated. However i don't recommend staying too many nights in Stone Town as there are limited things to do or see. For a one night stopover this place is great - but would not recommend it for an extended romantic stay.
Food at the restaurant was ok, nothing spectacular.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.3 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
31.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
0.2 mi away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#10 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jafferji House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jafferji House & Spa

Property: Jafferji House & Spa
Address: 170 Gizenga Street | Gizenga Street, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#8 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Jafferji House & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jafferji House & Spa is located in the heart of Zanzibar's historic Stone Town, behind the Old Fort, which is just a stroll from the House of Wonders. It is conveniently located to Zanzibar's most vibrant shops and restaurants on the sea front. Close to the Forodhani gardens. Transfer time to and from the airport is about 20 minutes and 10 minutes from the Ferry port ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Jovago.com so you can book your Jafferji House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jafferji House & Spa Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing