We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in the middle of Stonetown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jafferji House & Spa
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel, very amply decorated. However i don't recommend staying too many nights in Stone Town as there are limited things to do or see. For a one night stopover this place is great - but would not recommend it for an extended romantic stay.
Food at the restaurant was ok, nothing spectacular.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (370)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 370 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

Already before we went to Zanzibar I knew I had to visit this place, I had seen the website and was intrigued by the beautiful atmosphere this place has. We have a hotel in Kenya ourselves so we know how important service is and I was impressed by the level of service in this hotel. The rates are high but the rooms are absolutely stunning and romantic and the staff really go out of their way to make you happy. If you want a romantic night in Stonetown and want to spoil yourself for one night, then go here. All the rooms are beautiful but we stayed in Zanzibar Kabissa and this really is my favorite room.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice and decorated according to a theme but our favorite is Zanzibar Kabissa for a rom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicolineBa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Despite the hotel staff going out of their way to be polite and warm considering what else is available in Zanzibar I would really only stay in this hotel for a night or two.

The accommodation is good but the rooms felt dark and damp. The bathrooms are ample but if you want to bath it could be a problem.

It can also be very noisy so don't expect a peaceful sleep.

The plus points is the view from the roof and the stories and photos around the hotel.

Tours from the hotel seemed a lot more expensive in comparison to other hotels on the island.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GJMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed here for three days while on a visit to Zanzibar after a long trek up Kilimanjaro. We were warmly greeted and immediately upgraded for the extent of our stay. The staff were exceptionally friendly and eager to help with any request. The rooms were spacious, sophisticated, comfortable and ornately decorated with cultural style. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and were amazed by the quality of food in the downstairs restaurant which catered for both western and traditional tastes. The Jafferji deserves to be one of the top hotels in Zanzibar. Highly recommend!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in October. The accommodation was very good and in a convenient part of stonetown. Food was excellent and the rooftop meal was suberb with the lobster cooked to perfection. An experience you must try for yourself. The hospitality of the management especially Donna is second to none. I would whole heartedly recommend this hotel for anyone wishing to visit stonetown

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

On the positive side, it was a beautiful hotel, much nicer looking in person than in pictures.

On the negative side, you cannot smell the hotel before submitting a non-refundable booking. We were assigned the Mercury room last weekend. It was a very pretty room, but it smelled like a combination of mold, bug spray, and Lysol (disinfectant). The smell was very strong! People at reception wanted to burn incense to mask it. They behaved as if the smell was a frequently occurring complaint.

Due to the generosity of a friend who was also staying at the hotel, I ended up switching to the Out of Africa room which did not smell as strong, (but still smelled like mold!). He said he recognized the odor I was talking about at Mercury, but it did not bother him as much.

The funny thing was that he said the odor permeated his clothes. All of us could smell it on our flight home a day later.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladybug20001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This place is GORGEOUS!!
exquisite decor, furniture, wall-hangings, carpets, ambiance, food, exquisite everything!!! Beautiful bathtubs. Absolutely worth each and every penny. I never write on websites like this but in case of Jafferji House and Spa, i had to let the owners know how happy we were that we chose to stay here. Thank you for the lovely experience.

Cheers,
Andrew and Jullia

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.0 mi away
Maru Maru Hotel
Maru Maru Hotel
#11 of 33 in Stone Town
560 reviews
31.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
309 reviews
18.9 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jafferji House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jafferji House & Spa

Address: 170 Gizenga Street | Gizenga Street, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#8 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range: $105 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jafferji House & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jafferji House & Spa is located in the heart of Zanzibar's historic Stone Town, behind the Old Fort, which is just a stroll from the House of Wonders. It is conveniently located to Zanzibar's most vibrant shops and restaurants on the sea front. Close to the Forodhani gardens. Transfer time to and from the airport is about 20 minutes and 10 minutes from the Ferry port ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Jafferji House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jafferji House & Spa Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing