We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this place!”
Review of Hiliki House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hiliki House
Ranked #1 of 30 Stone Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We love this place!”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Although Hiliki House is off the main area of Stone Town (which we consider to be a good thing) we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. The rooms are beautiful, the breakfast is fantastic, and Moudy will help you with anything you need. We had a bit of trouble finding the place at first (while being followed by a "papasi" with our suitcase in hand) but after a phone call Moudy himself met us and walked us there. We would recommend this place to anyone. It is a terrific value!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    59
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
33
125
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Hiliki house is just as I imagined a big house down a side street! room had a very small double bed, (hardly big enough for 2 people) air con and a dressing table, the bathroom was just across the hall which was very spacious. Only problem was ants in the bathroom but can't be helped, we're in Africa!
All e mails were answered efficiently by Agnes and booking dirent was easy. Maudy on reception was very helpful, offered us the use of his mobile phone to call parents, called transport for our journey back to airport and gave us a map of stonetown, highlighting where we wanted to go. Met Agnes at breakfast and she was friendly.
Breakfast was ok; fruit, juice, tea/coffee, pancakes and a bread type thing. Not the most exciting but ok. Asked Agnes about a driver and she recommended Ali for transport/trips and he was reasonable and shared his knowledge of stonetown and the surrounding areas with us.
The walk into town was 10 minutes - i felt very nervous on the first night as it was quite dark but was a fairly busy road and once i had my bearings it was fine.
We only paid $60per night for this acomodation so for the price really cant complain so for the price i would recommend it.

Room Tip: dont be put off by having a room with an adjoining bathroom, it was no problem nipping across the co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakar, Senegal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I have stayed at Hiliki House on several occasions whilst visiting Zanzibar. It is located just out of the busier parts of Stone Town opposite the lovely Victoria Gardens, making it a quiet but accessible spot. The rooms are spotless and well fitted out with beautiful swahili finishes, and Moudy and the other staff provide a lovely breakfast in the mornings. The rates at Hiliki are extremely reasonable for the quality of the location and the stay - I honestly don't think this place can be beaten on value! I know that next time I visit Zanzibar I will be returning to Hiliki!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellyinafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We had travelled to Zanzibar before and wanted somewhere a little different to stay this time in February 2012. We found Hiliki House after searching for small properties/bed & breakfasts on the Internet. What a great find. Hiliki House was just out of town (a maximum easy 10 minute walk) in a quiet location. We stayed 5 nights and had a lovely room with a huge bed and an ensuite bathroom. Breakfast was served in a sunny day room and was simple, plentiful and tasty. We also had access to free Wi-Fi. We had arranged an airport pick up and were also able to arrange a transfer to get us back to the airport at the end of our stay. Moudy, who manages the day-to-day operations, was very helpful and a lovely guy, organising a trip out to Prison Island for us. The staff we met were very pleasant as was Agnes the property's owner. We were very well looked after. We are very happy to recommend Hiliki House and should we return to Zanzibar again one day, we would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor which overlooked part of a nearby street - great for people watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbourneAnge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiama, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012 via mobile

The location is an easy walk to the main sites of Stone Town, yet it is in a quiet location with pleasant views over the gardens. Moudy the manager was very helpful and the supplied breakfast were tasty and fulfilling.highly recommended.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Well decorated and renowated place. Not in the center but it's not a big problem. You can book from internet, they trust you. You can ask driver from airport pick-up. If the driver is Ali you are lucky. Very friendly and trustable. You can go Nungwi for example with him, or ask him to buy your ferry tickets back to Daar. The hotel management is silent, they are not seen so often. They only appear when you ring the bell. Rooms are so airy, high roof, easy to sleep. The only problem, my time, the construction next by is making noise. The breakfast was so delicious served in a big room. I felt like i was welcomed in old time in an ancient house. Strongly recommended !! Rooms, bathrooms, A/C all perfect. Especially A/C split type, no noise and expensive brand.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KursatOner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Spent 3 nights in Room 2 at Hiliki House in Feb 2012. The building appears to have been completely renovated in the recent past, and offers simple but stylish rooms conveniently located about a 10 minute walk from the centre of Stone Town.

The breakfast was simple, but tasty - and the coffee very good. The room was comfortable enough with a fan and an effective air conditioning unit, and a modern shower room en suite.

The construction site at the back of the hotel was a nuisance - work started at 7am, and looks like it will run for some months yet (just out of the ground in Feb 2012). Worth considering if you're looking for a lazy start! The hotel is pretty quiet in general though - with only 6 rooms you won't stumble across many staff or other guests.

Over all, Hiliki House is an excellent alternative to the pricier hotels in town.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IK-POTTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Zanzibar Coffee House
Zanzibar Coffee House
#4 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.3 mi away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#11 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Warere Town House
Warere Town House
#14 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dhow Palace Hotel
Dhow Palace Hotel
#13 of 33 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hiliki House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hiliki House

Property: Hiliki House
Address: Victoria St, Vuga | Vuga Street, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 152, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hiliki House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hiliki house is a colonial architectural style house with 6 bedrooms, a spacious, open and airy living room overlooking the famous Victoria Gardens, where guests can relish Swahili Continental style breakfast, relax and enjoy FREE WIFI. The house is idealy located, in a quiet residential part of the Stone Town but yet 5 minutes walk from all the important land marks. There are a total of 6 tastefully furnished bedrooms, all fully air-conditioned (split unit), swahili style bathrooms, comfortable mattresses and pillows and essential amenities. A small kitchen for guests is located on the first floor equipped with a refrigerators, hot water kettle, and crockery and cutlery, with an "Honest Bar" for a fresh beer, wine or sodas. Hiliki house offers tranquillity, comfortable, and hospitable service in the backdrop of swahili deco, the ONLY accommodation of such setup, standard, location and size in the stone town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hiliki House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hiliki House Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing