We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Palace... comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Golden Tulip Zanzibar Botique Hotel
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Grand Palace... comfortable”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Rooms are adequate, but not roomy. A/C failed in our room, but we were quickly moved to another. The hotel is located just close enough to the Stone Town sights and restaurants. Front desk staff is helpful, but did not have the local knowledge or expertise we've come to expect at good hotels. For example, they had no idea about two fairly well known (at least on Trip Advisor) Stone Town restaurants: Lazuli and Emerson Spice Hotel Cafe. Probably just not a priority. Also, several times they had trouble making change in Shillings for our payments... digging into their personal purses or sending a "runner" to get change. The management solution to that is too simple and obvious to even state! Otherwise, the breakfast quality and service at the rooftop cafe was excellent... albeit a few floors of stairs are involved since the elevator is "out of service". Housekeeping and bell staff were excellent.

Room Tip: Check the A/C right away before unpacking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brits4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    57
    20
    8
    1
See reviews for
17
44
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bern
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

! From the minute my husband and I entered this hotel, things went south. The lift was under repair and they were painting so negotiating the hallways with our bags was not easy!  It was evident the air conditioning in our room was not working and the safe door was hanging at an angle! We requested a room change which could only be done after an extra room was serviced! Once we had resettled, we discovered the bed was a Queen with 2 single mattresses on it, ie a bit of a leap from bed frame to mattress !   Only one bedside lamp and bedside table!  They had given us one single duvet between us! No hot water the entire stay of 3 nights! The stopper  in the bathroom basin blocked shut and nobody answered our maintenance call! Both  remotes, air conditioner and TV had flat batteries!
Sick of going up and down the stairs to complain I tried to get some sort of compensation at the end of our stay!  Not a step In our direction, even the credit card machine went on strike and then we were given a bad exchange rate on our dollars!  All this for $143 per night,  Never again!!! This is not to be confused with the Zanzibar Palace Hotel...this is the GRAND Palace

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeeBern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

I can write quit a big review about my three nights in this hotel.
A great rooftop restaurant with nice stone town view
The rooms are perfect in space and luxury.
The staff is excellent trained, the breakfest is great.
The only down is they dont sell alcohol. But easy to solve: 50metres away is mercury restaurant.
Will go back there any day!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

I was here on a business trip and the hotel was selected by the client. Its in a reasonably convenient location and the rooms are well equipped and comfortable. The wifi works well if you are in a corner room on the first floor. I stayed in room 106. The staff are very friendly and go out of their way to be helpful. The cleanliness of the hotel is remarkable. While I enjoyed the breakfast that had everything you could want including fresh fruit - the room service was disappointing. I would not eat here - but instead go into town where there are plenty of restaurants with good fresh fish and other items at reasonable prices. If you take the ferry from the mainland this hotel is within short walking distance. So in summary a very good stay and suited for business as this is far from "tourist" attractions in town ad restaurants,

Room Tip: Rooms on the corner have higher speed wifi (106,107 etc)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harissa47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I went to Zanzibar on May 2011. I got the information about this hotel from my friend who was really satisfied with the service while she was there.
When I was arrived in the airport, the hotel driver was already there to pick me up and took me to the hotel. It was not check in time yet, but they allowed me to enter my room. The staffs were so friendly. Even when I tried to give them the tips, they refused politely and said, "No, mam. It's my job. You don't have to pay more for something that I should do"..The first time happened in Africa, the staffs refused the tips.
The room was very clean, the breakfast was nice and the restaurant has a great view to the sea. It's also very close to interesting places such as Mercury restaurant, the pallace, forodhani garden, etc.
With only 65 USD / nights, this hotel was very good.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nurul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and were not disappointed. Clean rooms with LCD, safe and a good a/c. Breakfast at the rooftop is pleasant. We had one dinner at a very reasonable price but went elsewhere on the following evening. Friendly staff. Not appointed in a beautiful/prime location but close to the ferryterminal. Construction going on nearby (nearly finished). Small garden in front of the hotel. No pool. Stone Town is very safe, even at night.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2reizigers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

You'd think the way my friends reacted to every element of this hotel that it was their worst experience ever but in all honesty it wasn't that bad. Its pretty close to the Mercury bar which is nice for if you want to stay out late and have a nice bar nearby. Buuuuttt...you definitely want to walk around the area with someone especially if you're a woman. A lot of strange characters just milling about and ready to harrass you. The service is ok but the rooms are actually pretty clean. I felt a little uneasy outside of the room but the room itself was really nice.

Room Tip: There is no pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kundara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
3.3 mi away
Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
#20 of 37 in Zanzibar City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Seyyida Hotel & Spa
The Seyyida Hotel & Spa
#23 of 33 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.4 mi away
Forodhani Park Hotel
Forodhani Park Hotel
#19 of 33 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Zanzibar Coffee House
Zanzibar Coffee House
#4 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Princess Salme Inn
Princess Salme Inn
#18 of 33 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Zanzibar Botique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Zanzibar Botique Hotel

Property: Golden Tulip Zanzibar Botique Hotel
Address: Malindi Road, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 25524, Tanzania (Formerly Zanzibar Grand Palace Hotel)
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Tulip Zanzibar Botique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"International Standards, Local Flavors" Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique offers all those amenities that give the perfect frame for enjoying a stay in Zanzibar's capital before or after safari. The ideal place to discover Stone town from it is located within one hour drive from any of Zanzibar's beaches and attractions. Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique is a replica of a historic building located in the city center of Stone town opposite to the ferry terminal. Our guest can enjoy a stunning sea town view from THE TERRACE RESTAURANT. Located at the Top Floor, the Terrace menu a la carte, presents a selection of Continental and International dishes that can be consumed enjoying an incredible 360 degree Ocean and Stonetown scenery. All highlights of this beautifully city, recognized as UNESCO heritage sight, such as the house of wonders, Forodhani gardens, the old fort, Darajiani market (...) are within walking distance as well as the numerous shops, restaurants and nightspots. GT Zanzibar Boutique's rooms are decorated to ensure a traditional picturesque and soothing environment and are designed to meet all your needs. We offer at total of 33 rooms and in addition the property offers a state of the art conference facility as well as event venues that can accommodate up to 350 people comfortably. All rooms are fully furnished to meet the highest International Standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Golden Tulip Zanzibar Botique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Zanzibar Botique Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing