We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect hotel, one downside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Golden Tulip Stonetown Boutique
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2012

I can write quit a big review about my three nights in this hotel.
A great rooftop restaurant with nice stone town view
The rooms are perfect in space and luxury.
The staff is excellent trained, the breakfest is great.
The only down is they dont sell alcohol. But easy to solve: 50metres away is mercury restaurant.
Will go back there any day!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 102 of 147 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2012

I was here on a business trip and the hotel was selected by the client. Its in a reasonably convenient location and the rooms are well equipped and comfortable. The wifi works well if you are in a corner room on the first floor. I stayed in room 106. The staff are very friendly and go out of their way to be helpful. The cleanliness of the hotel is remarkable. While I enjoyed the breakfast that had everything you could want including fresh fruit - the room service was disappointing. I would not eat here - but instead go into town where there are plenty of restaurants with good fresh fish and other items at reasonable prices. If you take the ferry from the mainland this hotel is within short walking distance. So in summary a very good stay and suited for business as this is far from "tourist" attractions in town ad restaurants,

Room Tip: Rooms on the corner have higher speed wifi (106,107 etc)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank harissa47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I went to Zanzibar on May 2011. I got the information about this hotel from my friend who was really satisfied with the service while she was there.
When I was arrived in the airport, the hotel driver was already there to pick me up and took me to the hotel. It was not check in time yet, but they allowed me to enter my room. The staffs were so friendly. Even when I tried to give them the tips, they refused politely and said, "No, mam. It's my job. You don't have to pay more for something that I should do"..The first time happened in Africa, the staffs refused the tips.
The room was very clean, the breakfast was nice and the restaurant has a great view to the sea. It's also very close to interesting places such as Mercury restaurant, the pallace, forodhani garden, etc.
With only 65 USD / nights, this hotel was very good.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nurul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and were not disappointed. Clean rooms with LCD, safe and a good a/c. Breakfast at the rooftop is pleasant. We had one dinner at a very reasonable price but went elsewhere on the following evening. Friendly staff. Not appointed in a beautiful/prime location but close to the ferryterminal. Construction going on nearby (nearly finished). Small garden in front of the hotel. No pool. Stone Town is very safe, even at night.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2reizigers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

You'd think the way my friends reacted to every element of this hotel that it was their worst experience ever but in all honesty it wasn't that bad. Its pretty close to the Mercury bar which is nice for if you want to stay out late and have a nice bar nearby. Buuuuttt...you definitely want to walk around the area with someone especially if you're a woman. A lot of strange characters just milling about and ready to harrass you. The service is ok but the rooms are actually pretty clean. I felt a little uneasy outside of the room but the room itself was really nice.

Room Tip: There is no pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kundara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Highly recommended if you want to stay at stone town.
Very relaxing ambiance at the lobby.

The room was wonderful. I can still smell the fregrance of the room. Good value for money.

The hotel is at a walking distance from the port and the centre of stone town.
Staff were friendly and helpful. However there's a room to improve.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kifahali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I had reserved another hotel room for my one non-business night in Zanzibar but when I got there, they had run out of rooms! Fortunately, I found the Zanzibar Grand Palace... They were able to take me in at a very good rate, so really saved my trip. The front desk staff was very helpful and gave good advice for where to go. The location is lovely and the rooftop restaurant has amazing views and a good breakfast (included in rate); restaurant staff very accommodating and friendly. Close to the ferry and all the Stone Town sights. Extremely clean and felt safe in the room, which had some fine Zanzibar chests, high ceilings, and nice detail. I probably wouldn't have chosen it at first, but felt very lucky to find myself there. Thanks to this hotel, my trip was saved!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manyadm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Zanzibar
BEST WESTERN PLUS Zanzibar
#21 of 33 in Stone Town
26 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.2 mi away
Warere Town House
Warere Town House
#15 of 33 in Stone Town
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dhow Palace Hotel
Dhow Palace Hotel
#13 of 33 in Stone Town
653 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Seyyida Hotel & Spa
The Seyyida Hotel & Spa
#23 of 33 in Stone Town
259 reviews
3.3 mi away
Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
#21 of 37 in Zanzibar City
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Stonetown Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Stonetown Boutique

Address: Malindi Road, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 25524, Tanzania (Formerly Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique Hotel/Zanzibar Grand Palace Hotel)
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Price Range: $73 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Tulip Stonetown Boutique 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"International Standards, Local Flavors" Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique offers all those amenities that give the perfect frame for enjoying a stay in Zanzibar's capital before or after safari. The ideal place to discover Stone town from it is located within one hour drive from any of Zanzibar's beaches and attractions. Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique is a replica of a historic building located in the city center of Stone town opposite to the ferry terminal. Our guest can enjoy a stunning sea town view from THE TERRACE RESTAURANT. Located at the Top Floor, the Terrace menu a la carte, presents a selection of Continental and International dishes that can be consumed enjoying an incredible 360 degree Ocean and Stonetown scenery. All highlights of this beautifully city, recognized as UNESCO heritage sight, such as the house of wonders, Forodhani gardens, the old fort, Darajiani market (...) are within walking distance as well as the numerous shops, restaurants and nightspots. GT Zanzibar Boutique's rooms are decorated to ensure a traditional picturesque and soothing environment and are designed to meet all your needs. We offer at total of 33 rooms and in addition the property offers a state of the art conference facility as well as event venues that can accommodate up to 350 people comfortably. All rooms are fully furnished to meet the highest International Standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Golden Tulip Stonetown Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Stonetown Boutique Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing