We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Pretty but a tourist trap” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Forodhani Park

Forodhani Park
Ranked #3 of 33 things to do in Stone Town
Attraction details
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Pretty but a tourist trap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Guaranteed you will pay twice the price from street vendors compared to surrounding restaurants. Stopped for a drink and an orange fanta was twice the price we were charged at nearby Mercury's Restaurant. People do NOT like to have their photos taken in Stonetown. I was taking a picture of the boats in the distance and realized people ahead of me were yelling at me thinking I was taking photos of them...I was mortified as I wasn't taking photos of them but this experience was repeated time and time again and it actually put a real damper on our trip.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rheppner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    321
    179
    44
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“i wouldn't go there unless im with someone knows the clean food very well”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

wouldn't go there unless im with someone knows the clean food very well . furthermore, Too much hassling to sell whatever they have ! but the food is ok if you got the right choice !

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Redseadiver3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piraeus, Greece
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“not what it is said to be..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

the Park was really close to the hotel where we stayed so reading the comments of other members we decided to visit from the 1st night we were in Zanzibar. Although the location is great, right in front of the Old Fort and the House of Wonders the Park per se is very small to accommodate the hundreds of people who come for a walk every night. We stayed for one week in Zanzibar and visited Forodhani 3 times.
The food vendors will try to sell to the tourists everything incredibly more expensive than what the locals pay and you have to be extremely careful about the quality of the food. there is a lot of fish and seafood but also meat and samosas and some pies. But nothing is fresh or better said freshly grilled. All the things you see on the food counters are already precooked (and you are never sure whether the cooking took place that day or days before). What you do is pick what you want, try to find a place to sit and then they will bring you your selection on a plate after they reheat it on the grill. We tried the food twice- the 3rd we only had ice-cream and it was very dry and tasteless. There is a lot of food that is been wrapped up when the night is over and I guess it is been displayed the next day.
The sugar cane was excellent and the Zanzibar pizza a nice surprise.
It's good to go for the local colour and see the sunset but the food is way overrated and overvalued.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank covaltio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Evening happening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Cool place after sunset. Tried the cane juice for 500 TS. It was great. Did not dare to eat any of the other stuff. It it was interesting to see local food.

Helpful?
Thank 4pedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Evening Market is a must to see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

If you want to try fresh sea food come here in the evening - you have plenty of points to choose what you like - crabs, octopus, lobster or fish, and it will be served well done and delicious. Try fresh juice from sugar cane with ginger and lemon, I would recommend without ice (no stomach problems)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Msafiri_Poland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forodhani Park also viewed

 
Zanzibar Island, Zanzibar Archipelago
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 

Been to Forodhani Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing