We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, clean in a good place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Safari Lodge
Ranked #25 of 30 Stone Town B&B and Inns
London UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice, clean in a good place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Lovely hotel right in the centre of the real Stone Town - the hotel is based few houndred meters from the "big Tree" - in a middle of labyrinth of streets - easy to find if you dont mind asking locals for help :) 7 minutes to central market , 10 minutes walk to centre of Stone Town. Clean, decent size rooms with aircon but very confined as normal in very tiny, narrow centre of this antient city.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minka202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    39
    12
    6
See reviews for
3
18
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Nice place to base camp in Stonetown. Not far from Fordani market, the ferry and Freddy Mercury's bar. Decent light breakfast on the rooftop. Popular with backpackers. Front desk staff are helpful and resourceful. It seems pretty busy. Stonetown is easy to get lost in.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeager76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

THIS PLACE IS A CANCER !!!!

The staff are atrocious and the least helpful in the entire world... They say one thing and do another. Our party was there for a week and every single request or interaction was difficult for them. They do not want guests and treat them awfully.

I WOULD NEVER EVER STAY THERE AGAIN EVER !!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stone Town hotels

South west uk
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

Clean hotel in the back lanes of Stone Town. Stayed in a large room with four beds on the 1st floor.comfortable beds. Fan and air con worked well and sheets were clean. Paid $50 for one night. Would not recommend ground floor or basement as rooms were noisy and shabby. Drinks ava ilable to purchase in reception but fridge switched off. Breakfast Toast, cereal, fruit and choice of egg with tea and coffee

Room Tip: Not on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellinggirl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

Stayed for one night here as part of a tour before heading up to the beaches on the north side of the island. Stayed in a quad room, which meant the room was spacious. Beds had mosquito nets, plus room had table, tv, fan and air-con. Didn't spend much time in the room to be honest. There is a hotel safe to use if you need to. Breakfast is up on the roof terrace in the mornings - juice, tea/ coffee/ toast, eggs. Didn't really see any of the other rooms so your experience may vary depending on what room you stay in, but two from our group were allocated room 106 (directly behind the reception). We used this room to store our luggage in - it's a quad room and smells stuffy plus you can't open the windows. Avoid this room!! The hotel claims to be 'home away from home' - it was clean and adequate and had the mod cons (but no wi-fi).

We were told that there is a power shortage on Zanzibar so there are regular periods without power (6-7pm in the evenings).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrettyPerfect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

Clean and central. However the man on the front desk had no idea what he was doing when we checked out... Perfectly adequate though if you aren't after tip top service.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JreidChch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2011

My first visit to Safari Inn was with 3 other people and we stayed in their Quad room on the ground floor. The power in the city was out, but their generator was working for everything except the AC. The room was fine, but the bathroom was pretty gross, especially with us all sharing. There was no ventilation whatsoever, so without the AC, the room was steamy and gross.
After going to the beach for a few days, my boyfriend and I had one more night in Stone Town before an early morning ferry and again stayed at the Safari Inn because it’s only a 5 minute walk to the port. We had a double room this time on the 3rd floor (we specifically asked for a room on a higher floor when booking as higher rooms have more ventilation) and it was really nice. Thankfully the AC was working which also helped. The only downside was that the bed was incredibly hard, like wood.
Despite the cons mentioned, I would recommend this place if it weren’t for the people working at the front desk, specifically one young woman who was incredibly rude whenever we asked a question or needed her help.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wake04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.5 mi away
Zanzibar Hotel
Zanzibar Hotel
#23 of 33 in Stone Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Warere Town House
Warere Town House
#13 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Princess Salme Inn
Princess Salme Inn
#18 of 33 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stone Town Cafe and Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Abuso Inn
Abuso Inn
#8 of 30 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rosal Stone Town Hotel
The Rosal Stone Town Hotel
#7 of 30 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Lodge

Property: Safari Lodge
Address: Malindi Street | Stonetown, Zanzibar, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Safari Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Safari Lodge is situated a few meters from Zanzibar Harbour. Setup in an old traditional Zanzibar exteriors.Accommodation ranges from luxurious to supreme rooms with traditional hand crafted furniture to portray the great 18th Century Zanzibar craftsmanship.While in Zanzibar you can experience the clean beaches. the spice tour of the old town and many more interesting historical sites of your choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Lodge Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing