We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful unique Zanzibar experience”
Review of House of Spices

House of Spices
Ranked #7 of 84 Restaurants in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Breezing terraces for both restaurant and bar, Mediterranean food, pizza, wine bar
Reviewed February 10, 2018

Everything was so unique from the spiced hand soaps, to the gorgeous silks on the bed. The hotel is right in the center of stone town, and a great place to experience this city. The breakfast every morning was fantastic, with some of the best coffee we had in Zanzibar. Lunches were also amazing, with perfect detailing on each plate.

They helped us easily arrange transport from the airport, and book dinners at some of the local restaurants. The staff was so welcoming, and kept us very comfortable throughout our stay. Thank you so much!

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank als753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anna m, Owner at House of Spices, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2018

Thank you soooooo much. Terrific review.
House of Spices

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (647)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 63 of 647 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2018

The House of Spices is my favorite restaurant in Zanzibar.
I think i have tried almost all the dishes in the menu but one of the best is the seafood soup and seafood curry and black marlin and..... and ....and....PIZZA!
Every time i'm filling like at home, chatting with the staff and relaxing in their beautiful terrace. Nice atmosphere highly recommended!
Well done guys

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carlotta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anna m, Owner at House of Spices, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2018

House of Spices is your home. Looking forward to see you soon again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2018 via mobile

Terrible service. Only two tables. Waiter was unfriendly. Service was an effort. Pizza was OK but completely filled restaurant with smoke from the pizza oven. Seafood soup was like dishwater and other dishes, pasta and curry were bland and unexciting. Extremely over priced for what you get and they only take cash!! House of disappointments is a more accurate name. Far far better food to be had in stone town at a fraction of the cost.

Date of visit: February 2018
2  Thank laura c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anna m, Proprietario at House of Spices, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2018

The waiter was not rude nor unfriendly he was just trying to make you following the rules that every place has
NO TO SMOKE in the restaurant

But you did it in spite the waiter 's worn.

And not happy to break the rules in place, you have thrown the remaining cigarette into the flower pot near by you as the CCTV camera has srecorded and that it can be shown to every body.

You have then used this neglicence of yours to attak the work of an honest waiter only responsable to make you folloqing the rules
Therefore the complaints about the food are a clear and chidlish consequences of your bad manner rudeness in the weak tentative to appear better than what you have been

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2018 via mobile

We stayed in the Ginger Room for 3 nights and loved the hotel. The interiors are superb and one of a kind. Our room was beautiful! Thanks to the hotel staff for a great stay!

Our stay included a daily breakfast that was also fantastic. Fresh fruit, juice, delicious coffee, breads, and eggs! I was so full every morning! :) We only ate one other meal at the gorgeous rooftop restaurant, a lunch of seafood pastas. Delicious and fresh.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank ryanoglesby08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anna m, Owner at House of Spices, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2018

Dear Guests
On behalf of the entire staff thank you so much for your lovely comment.
We look forward to welcome you soon again
House of Spices

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2018

We ate here twice. We enjoyed the sea food we had for dinner (lobster and sea food platter). The starter with aubergine, avocado and tuna was tasty and beautiful. They also have very good pizzas which we had for lunch. The service is friendly, efficient and professional. There is also a wine and tapas bar and a small souvenir shop at the entrance.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SusaMasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anna m, Owner at House of Spices, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2018

Dear Customers
On behalf of the house of spices crew thank you so much for your review
House of Spices

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Spices also viewed

Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 

Been to House of Spices? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing