We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food! Beautiful restaurant ”
Review of House of Spices

House of Spices
Ranked #8 of 83 Restaurants in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Breezing terraces for both restaurant and bar, Mediterranean food, pizza, wine bar
Reviewed January 4, 2018 via mobile

Such a beautiful place, we visited during the early lunch hours and it was really peaceful.

We received absolutely amazing service and food was just delicious.

Well recommended

Thank Iwona Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anna m, Owner at House of Spices, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2018

On behalf of the House of Spices staff, thank you very much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (617)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 617 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2018 via mobile

the service was horrible since the beginning, while he took the order, he was distracted, he walked away "several times" to talk to other tables, and when he came back, he needed us to repeat again! appetizer was finished for long, but was not cleaned, only till the main course was finished, he took it away together! we asked about beer, he didn't tell us anything but brought a random one. the whole time was the waiter not attentive, only the time we were paying, he was standing aside and available! passion-fruit cheese cake is not even a cheese cake, looks nice but tastes really wired! overall the food was just ok, nothing memorable or worth trying especially with the waiter, it will just ruin your night

Thank cdlnz d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anna m, Owner at House of Spices, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2018

From the record of previous reviews, it is evident a sort of animosity in respect of all staff members of the places visited.

Waiter serving this table reported an interesting behvbior coming from the them.

Although not firends but nearby guest's tables felt to apologize for the unusual manner not belong to gentlemen

Waiter decided not to reply and not to accept the provocations that could have ruined the evening of other diners demonstrating so an incredible professionalism experience inspite of the young age.

Yet, dedication to work and especially to customers who had come to enjoy good food as per other excellents reviews.

The cheese cakes prepared fresh daily, have gone finished and some have asked twice.

We worn our colleagues to pay attention

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2018 via mobile

Great food and a warmth welcome. Location is nice with a small shop at ground floor. We had an amazing food at a Very good price! Try The layered avocado mango eggplant and the ravioli!

Thank linda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anna m, Owner at House of Spices, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2018

On behalf of House of Spices staff, thank you veey much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2017 via mobile

We were not expecting such a beautiful boutique hotel! The decor is simply stunning, the owner is extremely helpful and the location is perfect for exploring Stonetown. Breakfast was an absolute treat each morning with fresh fruit, pancakes and cakes. Shared bathroom was no problem at all. Lovely gift shop too.

Thank Hayley_Mortimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2017 via mobile

Its was excellent dinner there specially chef prakash is amazing indian chef! I feel i ate the real indian foods, very high recommended to have dinner

Thank Kiko D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Spices also viewed

Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 

Been to House of Spices? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing