We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere delicious food”
Review of House of Spices

House of Spices
Ranked #8 of 83 Restaurants in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Breezing terraces for both restaurant and bar, Mediterranean food, pizza, wine bar
Reviewed October 16, 2017 via mobile

We tried little bit from everything. Pasta and masala were amazing, pizza and desert were good but nothing for what you have to come again. I highly recommend this restaurant, it’s one of best what I try so far.

Thank Ivana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anna m, Owner at House of Spices, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2017

Thank you
House of Spices

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (625)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 64 of 625 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2017 via mobile

We would recommend the pizzas but the other dishes were a bit disappointing. A great pity as it is a lovely venue and the staff were most gracious.

Thank LeethalLeeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anna m, Owner at House of Spices, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2017

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2017 via mobile

The food here was nicer than the Teahouse restaurant but the setting isn’t quite as special. It is however a beautiful restaurant in its own right. For Zanzibar the level of food quality we enjoyed on the night was very good and the wine (pinotage) was a nice one. The staff were attentive to the right level too. Tiny gripe wax the sales pitch on the liqueurs at the end but it wasn’t a hard sell. Definitely go here. Prices were 30k TZS for the wine and 15-20k TZS for the mains.

Thank Berkscouple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anna m, Owner at House of Spices, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2017

Dear Customer,

thank you for having taken the time to review your experience.

We are all looking forward to welcoem you soon again

From all of us
Very best regards
House of Spices

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2017

An interesting restaurant atop an old spice warehouse. Interesting architecture, good food with plenty of Tanzanian cuisine. Food is good, but not memorable. There are better value restaurants and better quality restaurants, but combined with the atmosphere the history of the building exude, it's worth putting on your list if in town for a few days.

Thank Stirred_n0t_shaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anna m, Owner at House of Spices, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017

Dear Customer,
Thank you for your review.

As restaurant, we thought that once the food is good and the food is offered in a nice ambience or, interesting restaurant by using your words, it should be enough to make a customer happy of the choice made.

Around the world, there is always a better place to go and to see with better prices.

All depend on the setting the restaursnt decide to have and the running costs the same restaurant has.

However, we are tremendusly attracted to know what a memorable food looks like: not in explaination but just in facts, what ingredients, how tbey are melanged, type and time of cooking, served in which way

By making and taking us to understand this, it will help our chefs make you found memorable disbes the next time you will honor us of your visit.

Waiting for the time, for the good of all our customers, we shall continue to offer good food in an interesting restaurant.

Best regards
House of Spices

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2017 via mobile

The food here was excellent. Really fresh seafood and the salads were excellent. The restaurant is very cool with a local theme and the staff were great. Really well priced too!

Thank Bryce Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anna m, Owner at House of Spices, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2017

Dear Client
Thank you so much for your amazing review.
We all look forward to welcome you soon again.
Kindest regards
House of Spices

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Spices also viewed

Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 

Been to House of Spices? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing