We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of House of Spices

House of Spices
Ranked #5 of 75 Restaurants in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Cash Only, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Breezing terraces for both restaurant and bar, Mediterranean food, pizza, wine bar
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

So many different tastes, combined into an one perfect harmony...yummy!
Good service. Beautiful view. Nice ambient.
I recommend it to everyone.

Helpful?
Thank Marija K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anna m, Owner at House of Spices, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Jambo.
Many many thanks for having taken tome to review your experience at the House of Spices restaurant: very nice in deed!!. We look forward to welcome you more and more soon.
Kind regards, anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    175
    39
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great flavour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

We went at night so missed what is probably a great view. The food was very good- great flavours and service good, even though a little understaffed. We didn't have pizza but they have a wooden oven and the output from that looked great.

Helpful?
1 Thank Johnnyglongford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anna m, Owner at House of Spices, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Hi there, thank you a lot for having taken the time to share your experience.
We look forward to welcome you soon for a crispy pizza.
Kind regards,anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Probably the best pizza in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

We had to ask around to find this place, almost gave up, but it was worth it when we eventually found it. Great view from the roof-top. Great atmosphere. The menu had a lot of different kinds of pizzas - Some western style and some local style. Overall this is a nice place to have dinner and a few drinks.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dman86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anna m, Owner at House of Spices, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Jambo, thank you for sending us your comment! we are delighted to understand that after several attempts you manage to find the House of Spices and you have enjoyed its service and food which in fact is what matters.
Difficult to find but, difficult to forget once found

As said in various occasion, House of Spices is located in the heart of Stone Town and we reckon to be lucky to be in this part of the town that carries fully intact the aroma,the feel and, soul of the old golden days of the Island rather than other place, perhaps much crowded but that might remind you something else, seen elsewhere: while Stone Town is rather unique and so it should stay...
Karibuni tena, anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best lunch pit-stop in Stone Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

It's a little hard to find, but the store downstairs sells decent spices and beautiful scarfs! The food is amazing, with spice-covered pizza and clay pot curry which brought us back twice more during our stay in Stone Town. If you're shopping or exploring the narrow streets, take a map and find House of Spice for lunch!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hannah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anna m, Owner at House of Spices, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Hannah,
thank you sooo much for your sweet review; all the staff will be delighted to read it.

You are right, we are a bit away from the "glitter and sequins" sites; we are in fact in one of the few areas of the Stone Town remained genuine which makes worth it to see Stone Town and to walk in its narrow streets meanwhile searching for the House of Spices! Karibu tena, anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

Very good restaurant in Zanzibar, good service and food. Located in an old house in the middle of the narrow streets of Stone Town.
Mediterranean cousine with a mild and intelligent Italian / Swahili influence. Good selection of dishes and excellent quality of food considering the quality of raw materials you can find in Znz, Service is attentive.
Well done guys.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank freddie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anna m, Owner at House of Spices, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Freddie, it is thanks to reviews like your that we source the energy and the strength to experiment new recipes that some time move away from usual stereotype.
Our the payback is at the time our customer catchs the effort, as you did.
Thank you soooo much, anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Spices also viewed

Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 

Been to House of Spices? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing