We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“I have been there twice!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stone Town Cafe

Stone Town Cafe
Ranked #10 of 75 Restaurants in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $9
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Open 8am to 10pm, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Inside air-conditioned seating, outside seating. Intimate cafe serving big breakfasts, burgers, wraps, quiche, home-made cakes and great chocolate brownies. Real coffee brewed Arabic-style and herbal teas and juices.
Brazil
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“I have been there twice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

I try to avoid visit the same restaurant twice. I think, if you are travelling, you should visit different as many restaurants as you can but stone town cafe make me give up this way. The avocato salad, tuna & cuscus and octopus & rice are some good suggestion from the menu. The restaurant enviromental is simple, the staff are friendly and the price is resonable.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yuri_Capi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    132
    28
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Doesn't deserve the high rating on trip advisor...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Read previous reviews so made sure to stop in during my time in Stonetown. Was rather disappointed & not quite sure why people rate it so highly...sat inside (at the big open window tho)as it was middle of the day & the outside area just didn't look appealing..having been here over a week now, I am used to the somewhat "relaxed" attitude of many in the service industry so just be prepared to wait a while..this is not just here but many other places in ZAnzibar...perhaps go before your hungry! Food was ok but nothing to rave about...tho it's cheap so not disappointed in that sense....my friend did enjoy the spiced coffee tho...

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ravens_skye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Ate here twice during Sauti za Busara in 2012. Food was great - really enjoyed our pizzas! Fresh fruit juices were good too! Service was relaxed but that is expected in Stonetown - especially during Sauti za Busara as the town is alive during that particular week in February.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good food and great people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Love the breakfast there. I had the coconut bread. Lovely served with some butter. The crepes with banana and honey was awesome. A hidden gem, truly!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank TuvaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
393 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Good Pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

We were looking for place to eat, didn't want a full meal and stumbbled upon the Stone Town Cafe. Really enjoyed the pizza we ordered. The wait time is relatively short for Africa. Pizza and two pops cost 11000 Tsh, less than $10. The staff was helpful and nice. The restaurant was not busy and we had a great conversation with the two waiters and the other patron. Definately recommend this place. If we had longer to spend in Stone Town we would have returned.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MurTheExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stone Town Cafe also viewed

Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 

Been to Stone Town Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing