We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Quaint, cosy little place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Town Cafe

Stone Town Cafe
Kenyatta Road, Shangani, Stone Town, Zanzibar City ...., Tanzania
+255773861313
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 70 Restaurants in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $9
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Open 8am to 10pm, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Inside air-conditioned seating, outside seating. Intimate cafe serving big breakfasts, burgers, wraps, quiche, home-made cakes and great chocolate brownies. Real coffee brewed Arabic-style and herbal teas and juices.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
437 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 535 helpful votes
“Quaint, cosy little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Liked: Being small and cosy adds to the atmosphere, while we sat at the outdoor patio. Oooh... and the spiced coffee is to die for. Far better than Starbuck's! Everyone in our group agrees.

Disliked: I guess the cafe is a victim of its own success because it's always busy and patrons have to wait for a table once in a while.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eternal_Nomad_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    112
    21
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great food, coffee, juices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We came here upon recommendation and ended up coming twice.

Great location and all day breakfast. We came here for lunch and drinks and would recommend:

- tuna steak lunch: nice piece of tun steak with lime and rice on the side
- mango shake
- Zanzibari coffee: THE BEST coffee I had on the island. Truly spice with cardamon and cinnamon

Prices have nearly doubled since most travel guides have been published but it is still affordable and somewhat authentic.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Avichai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
93 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is my all time favorite place for avocado toast- okay, maybe it is the only place i have ever eaten avocado toast, but it is so good- I literally will travel to Zanzibar just to eat the avocado toast at Stonetown Cafe! Two thumbs up!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ETSinTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“good flavour and good concept”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Very simple but nice concept and perfect stop in the middle of the day to have a coffee and a cake.
The decoration makes you feel in Zanzibar and the ladies who work there remind you of your mama. I loved it

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank DMakuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“great curry, service slow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Food and drinks really tasty especially curry. Service was slow for lunch time but was very chilled so we were relaxed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank carwads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stone Town Cafe also viewed

Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 

Been to Stone Town Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing