We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mixed reviews for our 3 rooms”
Review of Zanzibar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zanzibar Hotel
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Flagstaff, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“mixed reviews for our 3 rooms”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Our traveling group of 3 couples had various experiences in our 3 rooms. First our scheduled ride did not meet us at the airport, we finally hired a taxi. The hotel manager apologized and offered us a reserved table at Africa House (sister hotel) for sunset drinks, very nice. One room had no hot water the first night, the AC was very noisy, and $70 was stolen from locked luggage while we were out for the day. Second room was very acceptable, although one chair had only 3 legs, limiting seating to the love seat. Third room had persistent trouble with the AC. Hotel manager (always attentive to any complaint throughout our stay) moved this couple to another room. This room developed trouble with AC as well so they moved back to original room, now with working AC.
Breakfast each morning was served on the 3rd floor balcony of Africa House with a beautiful view of boats on the ocean, very picturesque. Service was slow and lackadaisical the first morning, but improved the next 2 mornings. Fresh fruit and hot breakfast was consistently delicious and filling.
This hotel has the character of an old African building in need of maintenance. Watch out for the top 2 steps on the first flight of stairs: The top step is about 4" high, the next step down is about 9" high. A lovely cat sleeps in the dry fountain, rescued monkeys live in a large cage in the garden, and a resident bat hangs from the ceiling in the 2nd floor sitting area,. I was completely charmed by this hotel. Others in our group were less satisfied.

Room Tip: Room 11 was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunteriors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, High Class Hotels Ltd at Zanzibar Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2017
Dear Guest,

We are sorry for the inconvenience caused to you at Africa House Hotel , We urge you to try our newly revamped services and give us another chance to showcase our hospitality & services.

Your Host,
Team Zanzibar Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    52
    13
    4
    9
See reviews for
11
43
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2011

The Zanzibar hotel became a home away from home during my stay. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. The rooms are beautiful, done in a traditional Zanzibari style, and the garden is a pleasure to relax in. The location is very convenient, right in the heart of Stone Town. Thankyou so much for a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raphaelluber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, High Class Hotels Ltd at Zanzibar Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for such a lovely review, We are glade you enjoyed our hospitality & services . we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Your Host,
Team Zanzibar Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2011

It is more secluded than the more famous Africa House, but you can use the facilities at Africa House (a one minute walk) without having all the crowds hanging around your hotel. Staff very helpful, but not overbearing.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roger230949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, High Class Hotels Ltd at Zanzibar Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for such a lovely review, We are glade you enjoyed our hospitality & services . we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Your Host,
Team Zanzibar Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanzibar Island, Tanzania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2011

This is the sister hotel to the famous Africa House. Set in the heart of Stonetown this quiet, quaint hotel is ideal for all travelers. There is a beautiful garden surrounded by lush plants with the occasional visit from one of the adorable resident monkeys. Accommodation includes a delicious english style breakfast with a variety of fruit.

The owner, Denise, is a lovely woman who caters to your every need and tons of helpful information about traveling in Zanzibar. Thanks for such a lovely stay Denise!!!
I really enjoyed my stay here and would recommend it to anyone traveling to Zanzibar!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerstin44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, High Class Hotels Ltd at Zanzibar Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for such a lovely review, We are glade you enjoyed our hospitality & services . we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Your Host,
Team Zanzibar Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale California
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2010

The rooms are beautifully finished with attention to detail which is remarkable. The quality of the Zanzibar hotel has yet to be matched by any other hotel I have stayed in Tanzania . Service, staff owner/manager all excellent. Loved the huge garden which was totally unexpected in StoneTown. Anyone travelling to Zanzibar must stay in this place! Renovation was taking place on the exterior of the hotel so it was a bit noisy from 830am.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ezzmitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, High Class Hotels Ltd at Zanzibar Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for such a lovely review, We are glade you enjoyed our hospitality & services . we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Your Host,
Team Zanzibar Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#11 of 33 in Stone Town
248 reviews
0.7 mi away
Princess Salme Inn
Princess Salme Inn
#18 of 33 in Stone Town
169 reviews
0.7 mi away
Warere Town House
Warere Town House
#14 of 33 in Stone Town
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tausi Palace Hotel
Tausi Palace Hotel
#20 of 33 in Stone Town
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Al Johari
Al Johari
#29 of 33 in Stone Town
96 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Tulip Stonetown Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zanzibar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar Hotel

Property: Zanzibar Hotel
Address: Off Bhangani Street, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 3246, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Zanzibar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A haven of peace and tranquility nestled in the heart of bustling stone town. This impressive landmark, dating back to the 1800’s, and boasting a private garden of lush tropical vegetation, was the first ever hotel on the island. A rich 19th-century air of elegance greets you as you walk through the original Zanzibari door. Beautiful beamed ceilings, marble floors, Persian carpets and magnificent crystal chandeliers recreate the glamour of yesteryear. The atmosphere is warm and relaxed and the ambiance embraces the uniqueness of the local culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Zanzibar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zanzibar Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing