We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Zanzibar Stone Town Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Al Johari(Stone Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Al Minar(Stone Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beyt Al Salaam(Stone Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dhow Palace Hotel(Stone Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kisiwa House(Stone Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Tausi Palace Hotel(Stone Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveler rating
6
9
9
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
9
9
4
5
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 33 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Very clean and airy. Single beds in the dorms, not bunkbeds, with plenty of space. Ensuite bathroom as well as extra communal toilets. The breakfast was brilliant, watermelon, toast and omelette. Perfect location near the gardens and restaurants. A brilliant base for anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slmartin92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

My mother and I stayed here in September flying into and out of Zanzibar on the 1-Time flights from Johannesburg! Indeed we felt welcome and were linked to Tabasam Tours here as our support. Abdi in Reception was very helpful with our forward connections, airport connections by personalised taxi with Shebane as careful, amiable and reliable driver also. We had tours in Stone Town Tour, fantastic Spice Tour with a kiSwahili meal during Ramadan, Local Zoo visit, Jozani Forest and to walk in the habitat with close sensitive sightings among the endangered Kimapunju or Colobus Monkeys for just the two of us. Comfortable, recommended, affordable stay in central part of this city!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank IngaM180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Myself and three friends stayed here for three nights, and I have absolutely no complaints. We stayed on the ground floor, in one of the two dormitories that they offer. There are 5 beds, but we were given the option of buying the fifth bed so that no one else would stay in the room with us.
The room was beautiful! Large, silent ceiling fans over every bed, with mosquito nets and soft, comfortable mattresses. There is an en-suite toilet room, and a shower room with a sink. The room is absolutely huge, very spacious and clean.
The staff are very friendly, even sharing their newspapers with us, and giving us extra towels and sheets. The continental breakfasts include tea, eggs, toast, and juice.
One feature that made us nervous was that we had to hand in our room key every time we left the hotel. I imagine this was because it was a dormitory key, so they couldn't allow half the residents to leave with the only key. But we had no problems.
The hotel is very close to many restaurants, including a 5 minute walk to the Forodhani Food Gardens. Also, it is close to numerous narrow-street shops, where we found amazing bargains, beautiful clothes, and great souvenirs. The people in the area are incredibly friendly and helpful, it was a fantastic experience.
All in all, a great bargain for a hotel in Stone Town!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank edupuis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews