We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view, great location, above fantastic cafe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stone Town Cafe and Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 31 Stone Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was a great base camp for our entry into Zanzibar and visit to stone town. It's central and cozy above a nice clean cafe. We had our own patio which had a nice view. I enjoyed the architectural details from our patio and the interior details of our room were interesting. The cafe and patio are a nice place to sit back and read a book. Within walking distance are journeys through tiny streets, other restaurants and its not far from the sea.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank seetastelove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 130 of 229 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

We spent 2 nights in Stone Town Cafe and it was a fantastic stay. I found the staff to be personable and friendly. Ibrahim downstairs is a legend and I really hope his dream of coming to London comes true!

The rooms were well serviced and maintained. Air conditioning worked fine as well. There are stairs as people have mentioned but the house staff are more than happy taking your luggage up. There is a safe for your valuables too. The owner also offered us our room for a few more hours after check out to keep our bags in, which was a very nice offer.

The only poor thing about the room was the holes in the mosquito nets above the bed, but this we rectified (using towels etc) and told the owner before we left.

Overall, do not hesitate to book a stay here!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abdulkadir3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masoud S, Owner at Stone Town Cafe and Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, especially since you were on your honeymoon and it was our pleasure to host you. Thank you so much for bringing the mosquito net to our attention - we somehow missed this very important fact and the net has since been replaced. Happy travels always!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I just stayed one night, but a nice ambiance, rooms have got all you need and are really clean. Cute little cafe downstairs.For a Stone town place to stay, this is a good one and on a small street off the main drag.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Damian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masoud S, Owner at Stone Town Cafe and Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your night with us and appreciate the time you took to review us. Have fun in Zanzibar!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Audrey the manager was amazing, friendly and super helpful. The food was excellent and the staff were actually concerned about all their guests. They were super honest and did everything they could to help us. Food was good and the rooms were clean and and great. Awesome location, we had a great time!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lezros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masoud S, Owner at Stone Town Cafe and Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Thanks so much for your positive review. We think our team are fabulous too and are so glad you found them helpful - I will proudly pass on your great feedback to them personally. Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is a quaint and small hotel but has everything you need for a stay in Stone Town. It is clean and well maintained and the staff were friendly. The hotel is very well situated to all the attractions in the town and also very convenient for Sun Downers at Africa House.

Our room had AC, a TV and a safe for valuables and was very comfortable. The bathroom was large and well maintained.

Food in the cafe downstairs was great too.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahamBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The location of this quiet little B&B is possibly its most attractive feature. It is located right in the middle of the commercial/touristy area of Stone Town, which puts most of the town's tourist attractions, souvenir shops and restaurants/bars within walk-able distance. It is located right next to the Shangani Post Office - which makes it very convenient if you want to send postcards and, more significantly, provides an easy landmark to give people when asking for directions back to the B&B after you get hopelessly lost in the maze of winding lanes and bylanes of Stone Town (you WILL get lost!)

The rooms itself are clean, functional and inexpensive. We took an AC room (considering Stone Town was reeling under 40-degree Celsius heat, this seemed like a smart option). The small room consisted of an antique four-poster bed with a mosquito net, comfortable and clean bed linen, a cupboard with an electronic safe, a full-length mirror, a writing desk and chair, and a flat-screen TV mounted on the wall. It wasn't a room with a view (none of them are), as it looked out onto other houses, terraces and lanes of Stone Town. The bathroom was small but clean with a shower, a water heater and a bidet shower (which is so rare anywhere in Tanzania). A little Zanzibari carved chest provided handmade scented soaps, which are a hallmark of Zanzibar. Our only complaint was that the AC was not very effective. We had to use a combination of the AC and the ceiling fan to get the room to tolerable temperatures.

The food was fantastic. Shakes, smoothies, fresh fruit juice and lovely big pots of Zanzibari coffee accompanied our breakfasts of crepes, eggs in every form, cereal, fruit salads and whatnot. The sweet homemade coconut bread is a must-try.

However, what made this place especially endearing was its staff.

Jameel, the establishment's taxi driver who took us around, was very helpful and a wealth of knowledge about Zanzibari history, culture, tradition and food. Most guide books and websites will tell you that women should dress modestly in Stone Town - that shorts or short dresses/skirts are frowned upon. As I struggled under layers of clothing in that sweltering heat, I asked Jameel about this. "No, not at all. You can wear anything as long as it is not Ramadan time. We locals understand that you are not used to this weather," he said. He proved to be right. I wore shorts after that and nobody batted an eyelid.

"Mr Breakfast", the cheery waiter at the Cafe, was very helpful and pleasant as well. He kept us amused with his banter during meals and, one evening, when he was done with his shift, guided us to a local souvenir store that wouldn't overcharge (most souvenir stores really bump up their prices for tourists and you have to bargain really long and hard to get a reasonable price)

Nasir and Audrey, the management staff, were very pleasant and helpful as well. And finally, Judi, the owner of this quaint little establishment: Judi was very efficient, friendly and helpful. She takes a personal interest in all her guests and makes you feel completely at home. She went out of her way to help us - contacting a resort on Pongwe Beach for us when we couldn't reach them, arranging for someone to take us to Prison Island, arranging a walking tour of Stone Town for us with the inimitable comical guide Farid, and generally ensuring that we were comfortable and happy.

If you aren't looking for luxury, I'd recommend Stone Town Cafe B&B as just about the best place to stay in Stone Town. It's the place that feels closest to home when you're in Stone Town.

Room Tip: Choose an AC room to escape the sweltering heat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

It was a very pleasant stay in this lovely B&B. Clean, cool and spacious rooms. Staff was most helpful. Breakfast was original: no 'boiled or fried' eggs in the morning.
I would definately stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarinTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Zanzibar Coffee House
Zanzibar Coffee House
#3 of 33 in Stone Town
564 reviews
0.7 mi away
Warere Town House
Warere Town House
#14 of 33 in Stone Town
409 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beyt Al Salaam
Beyt Al Salaam
#21 of 33 in Stone Town
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
315 reviews
0.7 mi away
Princess Salme Inn
Princess Salme Inn
#18 of 33 in Stone Town
181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jafferji House & Spa
Jafferji House & Spa
#12 of 33 in Stone Town
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Town Cafe and Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Town Cafe and Bed & Breakfast

Address: Kenyatta Road | Shangani, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Stone Town
Price Range: $42 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stone Town Cafe and Bed and Breakfast is located in Shangani on Kenyatta Road, just 2 minutes walk from most restaurants and tourist shops, 5 minutes from the Old Fort, and about 10 minutes walk through the narrow streets to Darajani market. Breakfast is served in the cafe downstairs which is open from 8am to 10pm. To book with us directly search Stone Town Cafe and Bed & Breakfast on your browser ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Stone Town Cafe and Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Town Cafe And Bed And Breakfast
Stone Town Cafe Hotel Stone Town
Stone Town Cafe And Bed & Breakfast Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing