We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but a bit overrated methinks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stone Town Cafe and Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 31 Stone Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mombasa, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ok but a bit overrated methinks”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Bouquets: Location is good in the middle of the winding streets of Stone Town & the building itself has a certain charm; the manager is helpful and the local staff very friendly; the cafe downstairs is a bonus with some nice food & a place to just chill; taxis are available right outside at reasonable prices.

Brick bats: I feel the price is a bit much for what you actually get (US$80 double B&B) although perhaps Zanzibar has generally become a bit over priced for what it offers these days compared to other similar locations. Our room was Ok but nothing great and there were a few problems with it - the air con vents appeared to be quite damaged so it barely worked, the bathroom toilet/bidet tap leaked water so this corner of the bathroom was always covered in water, the taps in the bathroom wash basin were loose and coming away from their fittings so you had to actually hold them at the base in order to switch on the taps, and overall the room was a bit tired.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masoud S, Owner at Stone Town Cafe and Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thanks for your review. We strive to keep our prices at the lower range of room rates in Stone Town, and think we manage this. Unfortunately in Zanzibar, one of the struggles we have is finding quality fittings and tradesmen. We have taken your comments about the bathroom on-board and given it a complete overhaul since your visit. We hope you will try us again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    71
    19
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
106
31
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed three nights at the Stone Town Cafe after our safari. The rooms were clean and comfortable (and the soap is really nice!!). The breakfast was very tasty.... Some of the best food we had in Zanzibar. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AceyGracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This proved to be an excellent choice as a Hotel to explore the various aspects offered by StoneTown, being situated very much in the centre of Town, Kenyatta Road.
The room was a good size, with en suite, and cleaned every day.
Breakfast was the best on the Island - the freshest fruit !
But most of all, the service from the staff made our stay here memorable, with their excellent help and advice...
Thoroughly recommended !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debal07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

this is a great fairly cheap b and b to stay in . very centrally located it is a 2 minute walk from the shops, africa house for cocktails and restaurants. The rooms are fine and the staff helpful. The breakfast in the morning is delicious! I have now stayed hjere a few times and considering some of the posh hotels in the same area charge up to 300 dollars a night this is brilliant value at around 80 dollars per room per night.

Room Tip: just be aware some rooms are up steep stairs so if you have problems with this tell them when bookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emma79_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
411 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stone Town accommodation is not cheap and it doesn't seem you get much for your money, but the B&B perfectly hit that mid range accommodation bracket.

The place is sparsely furnished, but doesn't seem bare. It's kept very clean and has all the basic amenities that you need. The location is ideal for walking stone town and making your way in and out of the area. It has a very relaxed feeling to it and you don't feel like you need to escape from your room all day.

The cafe downstairs is a good bonus, and the breakfasts were really tasty.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thistravelingdesignr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kilkenny
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed 3 nights. Great place,great value. Would love to go back.Could spend lots of time in Stonetown as there are many attractions. Night market is not the greatest place for food and you get hassled a lot.

Room Tip: We had an upgrade to room with balcony and queen bed. Really lovely. Thanks Judi
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morgansgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
538 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We spent four nights in the hotel. They have just a few rooms, ours was spacious and acceptably clean, no balcony (not much of a view from the room either). Big mirrors available, as well as coat hangers, mosquito net, a table and two chairs and two night stands next to the king size bed. There was also a fridge, ac, cable TV. Bathroom was also very spacious, with water heater that you turn on or off and with a hair dryer. We were given soap, two big towels and one small towel (changed once during the stay). We were also given a complementary small bottle of water per person per day. The restaurant is open from 8 to 22, more water can be obtained there, but there is also a guy selling water and juices right in front of the restaurant at a cheaper price. Breakfast was the only thing we tried, but it was excellent! One can have a breakfast up to 10000 KES for free and the remaining amount was to be paid. The breakfast choice was excellent, the food quality great, prices reasonable, coffee superb (one pot is enough for two persons). Right next to the place are two more restaurants (recommendations for Lazuli), and the hotel is in a very central place, it is extremely close to the post office, the Internet place (the hotel does offer some sort of Internet, but we did not test it), the beach, the souvenir shops (Memories and Maki being the most noticeable), the restaurant Archipelago (recommendations, excellent lunch and dinner) and the exchange office with the best rates (first turn right after the post office). Taxi from the airport was 10 USD, so no need to use their service of hiring a taxi driver who would wait for you after your flight and transfer you to the hotel for 15 USD. The staff is extremely polite & friendly, ready and willing to answer all sorts of questions and to give helpful tips and ideas, as well as a small map (proved to be very useful for roaming around the place). Check out was at 10 AM, but they let us stay longer since our flight was much later during the day and there were no previous reservations for that particular room. There was a minor issue of insisting on using Pay Pal when paying a reservation (in the end, we did not pay anything, but just appeared at the hotel, so it took some telephone calls to sort things out since we were not in the list of guests who were arriving on that day), but all in all, staying here was a very positive experience and we will definitely come again on our next trip to Zanzibar.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the entrance side have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lillemusen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.6 mi away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#8 of 34 in Stone Town
255 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.3 mi away
Princess Salme Inn
Princess Salme Inn
#17 of 34 in Stone Town
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Maru Maru Hotel
Maru Maru Hotel
#9 of 34 in Stone Town
537 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dhow Palace Hotel
Dhow Palace Hotel
#13 of 34 in Stone Town
640 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jafferji House & Spa
Jafferji House & Spa
#12 of 34 in Stone Town
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Town Cafe and Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Town Cafe and Bed & Breakfast

Property: Stone Town Cafe and Bed & Breakfast
Address: Kenyatta Road | Shangani, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stone Town Cafe and Bed and Breakfast is located in Shangani on Kenyatta Road, just 2 minutes walk from most restaurants and tourist shops, 5 minutes from the Old Fort, and about 10 minutes walk through the narrow streets to Darajani market. Breakfast is served in the cafe downstairs which is open from 8am to 10pm. To book with us directly search Stone Town Cafe and Bed & Breakfast on your browser ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Stone Town Cafe and Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Town Cafe And Bed And Breakfast
Stone Town Cafe Hotel Stone Town
Stone Town Cafe And Bed & Breakfast Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing