We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Charming little gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kisiwa House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kisiwa House
Ranked #16 of 34 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2010

Kisiwa House is a beautiful little boutique hotel in a central location in StoneTown. We spent only 1 night at the hotel, but we would have gladly stayed longer if we had the time. The staff is very friendly and courteous. We were greeted with a mango/kiwi milk drink while we checked in. The hotel is very clean and well kept. The decor is beautiful and calming. The dining area is on the top floor, both indoor and outdoor. We had three meals at this hotel and we enjoyed each one. The hotel was not very busy when we travelled (during off season) and so we received very personal service. The hotel is an old house and so it does not have an elevator. This was not a problem for us however, could be a problem for those unable to climb several flights of stairs.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillus1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    95
    27
    8
    3
See reviews for
40
175
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2010

We stayed three nights. The staff was fantastic and gave us recommendations and made us feel very comfortable. The hotel is very clean and the breakfast was fantastic and filling. The view from the restaurant is beautiful. The rooms are spacious and have all the amenities we needed. We always felt safe and never had problems with the street touts. Great experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Queenchz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2010

Stayed two nights on way back from beach holiday at Sunshine Hotel, Mtemwe (also recommended). A friendly reception... staff and manager, Cheherazadhe, very helpful.
Beautiful big room and large bathroom with free standing bath and separate shower. Good free internet.
Really well laid out floors... between stairs large lounge areas with two/three rooms on each leading to restaurant/breakfast room on roof. All in dark wood and beautifully decorated... coffee lounge on ground floor with peaceful trickling fountain. Lovely.
Hotel perfectly situated for best restaurants, Secure ATM round the corner and best placed for sunset views nearby.
Booked Kisiwa when Zanzibar Coffee House full. Walked across to Coffee House to check it out. In a rougher part of the town and not the quality of Kisiwa... a cheaper hotel so possibly ok for the price... coffee great but lots of flies. Best, cheaper alternative I would suggest Temba House Hotel.... HOWEVER for a relaxing, quality stay you can't beat the KISIWA.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unclespoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2010

An absolute amazing hotel!! The service, location and comfort were beyond my highest expectations. I truly perfect place that is centrally located, walking distance, to venture out into Stonetown. A cozy, warm and simply delightful hotel. The rooms were large with a big bed, super comfortable pillows which ensured us a very restful sleep. The morning breakfast was wonderful with nice view of the ocean. A must consider place, if your lucky to get a room as this hotel will surely be one of the finest most sought after hotels in Stonetown. We will definitely return!! The staff and manager are professional and very accommodating. I cannot give this place any higher recommendation then simply PERFECT!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomMarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
19.1 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#9 of 34 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mashariki Palace Hotel
Mashariki Palace Hotel
#3 of 34 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#12 of 34 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dhow Palace Hotel
Dhow Palace Hotel
#13 of 34 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kisiwa House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kisiwa House

Property: Kisiwa House
Address: 572 Baghani Street | P.O. Box: 609, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#8 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#11 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kisiwa House 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious Boutique hotel in Stone Town, Kisiwa House is noted for its elegant blend of Zanzibar décor and gracious Swahili hospitality.Superbly located on a quiet street in the heart of Zanzibar historical centre within easy walking distance of famous landmarks, museums, antique shops and restaurants. Kisiwa House provides every modern convenience to the business or leisure traveller, promising an unforgettable experience of professional service, superb comfort and unmatched elegance.Get inspired, discover the new and unusual. Enjoy the charm of an old and typical Zanzibar town house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Jovago.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Kisiwa House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kisiwa House Hotel Stone Town
Kisiwa House Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing