We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful short stay”
Review of Kisiwa House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kisiwa House
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Near the Adirondacks in NY
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful short stay”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

The Kisiwa House was recommended by our tour company, Africa 2000 Tours, and we were not disappointed. We loved the beautiful decor of the place and the rooms were very spacious. It offered all that we needed, including great food in the scenic restaurant and air conditioning. They arranged a walking tour of Stone Town, which was very informative and rather inexpensive. ($20 per person). We were on the third floor and enjoyed the quaint view from our windows. Highly recommend the Kisiwa House

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 1adklady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    98
    30
    9
    3
See reviews for
43
190
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
135 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed in kisiwa house (1st floor) for two nights just at the start of Ramadhan. So, I have a few positives and a negative or two. On positive side- the room was very spacious, the bath was luxurious but a bit impractical the view of stone town from the roof top restaurant was nice too. The other big positive of this hotel is its location within stone town. We hired a car but never had to take it out. We walked to the slave market, forodhani market (it was just 5 minutes walk away) and everything else.

On the negative side, if you are unfit or disabled this hotel is a BIG NO NO. The stairs are very tiring especially if you get a room on the second floor, etc. There are no escalators or elevators in this hotel so you have to climb the stairs. We are neither disabled nor very unfit, but we remember feeling quite tired by the time we reached the rooftop restaurant (which I believe was on the 3rd floor).

But honestly other than that, we were very happy with our room and I would go back to Kisiwa house if I visit Zanzibar again.

Room Tip: Lower level floors if climbing stairs is a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nipun J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We arrived at Kisiwa House after a long journey from the UK (stayed for 2 nights). We were greeted with a welcome drink and very friendly staff.

The room was very clean and comfortable with good AC. The bathroom was lovely with the added bonus of a bath.

The rooftop restaurant had nice views of the sea. We were able to watch the dhows with cold local lagers in the evenings - the restaurant staff were very helpful and attentive. Breakfast was also good.

The wifi was reliable and coverage was good.

Great location, but do be careful of hustlers wandering around Stonetown - some tried to rip us off dramatically at Forodhani Gardens for some street food.

All in all, a very comfortable stay and I would happily stay there again. When we were in Jambiani, we noticed that Kisiwa were building a beach hotel there - I hope that we will have the opportunity to return to Zanzibar and try out the hotel!

Room Tip: Wouldn't want to have stayed on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Char3137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in one of the rooms on the top floor. It was beautiful. Four poster bed. Lovely bathroom. Rooftop breakfast limited but who cares when the view is that good. Restaurant good too. Reception organised private tours of spices and walking tour of stone town both excellent. Not the cheapest option but my favorite hotel I stayed in Africa.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA.
Level Contributor
126 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I really want to give this place a 5 because the people were so very nice but people really do need to know what and where it is. This is a historic and very nicely authentically furnished property and the information says it is still owned by the same family that were the original owners 170 years ago. The property recently turned into a hotel. The Good: rooms are clean and there is air conditioning, good shower and tub conbo, two sinks in bathroom. Breakfast is included, nice rooftop area serving food and alcohol. Not so good. We had a street level room which meant we had to keep windows and shutters closed all the time at the request of the managment, thus no natural light. For the people that are noise sensative this room #2 may not be the best choice. We got to peek into other rooms on second and third floor and they looked nice and big. There is no elevator (very few places have them in Stonetown) . Price was a factor in booking this hotel and if it is for you this certainly is a fine place to stay. Personally if i go back I would spend the bucks and stay in a hotel that has beach access or at least a swimming pool. Finally most of the activity of Stonetown is closer to the Fort it is about a 5-10 minute walk which is fine in day time but for myself and my daughter it was a bit dicey at night. Cab fare however is very cheap about 4 dollars or less to main part of town and there are lots of cabs.

Room Tip: If you are noise sensative or want natural light do not get room #2
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rassors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed there for 2 nights & really liked the place. My comments are as follow:

PROS:
. Super friendly helpful staff
. Great service
. Great location in the heart of Stone Town around all the touristy stuff & close to all the cafes/restaurants
. Spacious clean rooms & Bathrooms
. Wifi coverage everywhere with very good signal
. Breakfast on the roof was simple yet amazing

CONS:
. nothing really :)

Conclusion: definitely recommend this place

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinahsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Kisiwa House is a very nice hotel, comfortable, decorated with traditional furniture and well located. The breakfast at the terrace is delicious and a perfect way to start the day.
We really enjoyed our stay there and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone who wants to explore Stone Town.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guiomarps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.2 mi away
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
#2 of 33 in Stone Town
482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jafferji House & Spa
Jafferji House & Spa
#12 of 33 in Stone Town
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#10 of 33 in Stone Town
243 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#11 of 33 in Stone Town
270 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dhow Palace Hotel
Dhow Palace Hotel
#13 of 33 in Stone Town
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kisiwa House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kisiwa House

Property: Kisiwa House
Address: 572 Baghani Street | P.O. Box: 609, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#7 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#10 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Kisiwa House 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious Boutique hotel in Stone Town, Kisiwa House is noted for its elegant blend of Zanzibar décor and gracious Swahili hospitality.Superbly located on a quiet street in the heart of Zanzibar historical centre within easy walking distance of famous landmarks, museums, antique shops and restaurants. Kisiwa House provides every modern convenience to the business or leisure traveller, promising an unforgettable experience of professional service, superb comfort and unmatched elegance.Get inspired, discover the new and unusual. Enjoy the charm of an old and typical Zanzibar town house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Jovago.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Kisiwa House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kisiwa House Hotel Stone Town
Kisiwa House Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing