We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Kisiwa House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kisiwa House
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Kisiwa House is a very nice hotel, comfortable, decorated with traditional furniture and well located. The breakfast at the terrace is delicious and a perfect way to start the day.
We really enjoyed our stay there and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone who wants to explore Stone Town.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank guiomarps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 340 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2014

We have just checked out from a 2 night stay at Kisiwa house. This hotel was absolutely wonderful, I cannot fault any aspect of our stay. We arrived shaken after being robbed in Dar es Salaam and his place was an oasis for us. Authentic stone building with whitewashed walls and antique furniture. Large clean room with fridge, safe, desk, wardrobe. The bed was comfortable and large. Beautiful bathroom, great water pressure, double sinks, supplied toiletries. The staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was a feast of fruit, breads, cereal with yoghurt, bacon, eggs, sausage, tomato etc with juice and tea/coffee, all served promptly by attentive staff on the rooftop balcony with a view of the sea. Hotel is within 5 minutes with of restaurants, shops, ATMs and the forodohani gardens. No hidden charges at checkout and they kindly let us store our bags until our ferry. The wooden staircase is noisy but we did not hear it from our room - only 10 rooms so is quite small. All in all this place was excellent value for money and a beautiful, authentic, serene place to stay.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank Kathryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I cannot say enough good things about this place. My boyfriend and I stayed there two nights at the beginning and end of our trip to Zanzibar and we couldn't have loved it more. The hotel is in a great location and is walkable to everything you would want to see and do in Stonetown. The hotel staff were SO nice - they even let us store our bags there after check out while we walked around so we didn't have to bring them with us. The rooms are gorgeous. The breakfast is delicious. If I'm ever back in Stonetown this is where I will stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I'm sure you really will enjoy from staying in this hotel. a luxury hotel with beautiful and comfort room, cozy bed, a good view from terrace and really good quality, fresh and tasty breakfast. and according to this specifications it worth the fare you pay. I highly recommend this place

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pesare-parsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Even before i arrived, the hotel had called me so help sort out my reservation issues. Very few hotels call intending guests before arrival. I was impressed. But that was just the beginning. I do love this hotel. The location is perfect, the ambience/ vibe of the hotel was very homely and welcoming. The staff are alright i guess but my favourite is Said and the other restaurant staff. The hotel was really clean, big airy rooms. I guess i just liked the hotel until i stayed in another thats when o appreciated Kisiwa House. It would definitely be among my top if i was to return to Stonetown.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 9jagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

I actually stayed in this hotel almost a lot of time ago and while I was recommending a hotel for a friend who will visit Zanzibar I recommended this hotel in Stonetown and have realized that I had not written a review on it so here we go:

Good clean hotel.
Nice staff.
Good location.
Nice rooms.
All fine.

In short, I have no hesitations to recommend this hotel. In Zanzibar standards this is a very good hotel to stay in and if I go there again I would stay here.

One additional tip re stonetown: If you will stay in stonetown, 2 nights is sufficient. Some even find 1 night sufficient. Either 1 or 2 nights. you choose. But not 3 nights. We spent two nights in this hotel and were very happy for doing so. Recommended without any hesitations.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YALIN19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at this fabulous and authentic hotel. It had a great location in the centre of Stone Town, about a 3 minute walk from the beach and within close proximity of the majority of the local attractions. Staff were friendly and helpful and welcomed us with great warmth when we arrived (and a cocktail). The decor and ambience really gives you the feel that this hotel holds much history. Our room was beautiful with a 4 poster bed, bathroom with central tub and 2 sinks - and were very clean! Food on the rooftop terrace was also delicious and the included breakfast was great. Would 100% recommend this hotel and if we ever go back to Stone Town we would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eva M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.2 mi away
Maru Maru Hotel
Maru Maru Hotel
#11 of 33 in Stone Town
560 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jafferji House & Spa
Jafferji House & Spa
#12 of 33 in Stone Town
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
309 reviews
19.1 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,658 reviews
31.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kisiwa House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kisiwa House

Address: 572 Baghani Street, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#7 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#10 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range: $90 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kisiwa House 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious Boutique hotel in Stone Town, Kisiwa House is noted for its elegant blend of Zanzibar décor and gracious Swahili hospitality.Superbly located on a quiet street in the heart of Zanzibar historical centre within easy walking distance of famous landmarks, museums, antique shops and restaurants. Kisiwa House provides every modern convenience to the business or leisure traveller, promising an unforgettable experience of professional service, superb comfort and unmatched elegance.Get inspired, discover the new and unusual. Enjoy the charm of an old and typical Zanzibar town house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kisiwa House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kisiwa House Hotel Stone Town
Kisiwa House Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing