We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful boutique”
Review of Kisiwa House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kisiwa House
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful boutique”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

I recently states here for 5 days. Although it was not the typical ocean front property it was very convienently located in a very safe neighborhood in stone town. I felt very safe both during the day and night ( they lock the doors at 10pm- but you can still come and go as you please). The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful ( they help to organize a snorkling tour). The rooms were vey spacipus and clean. And the rooftop dining for cocktails, breakfast and dinner was nice and refreshing with a view of the ocean, breeze and no bugs ;-)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank javrox1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    98
    30
    9
    3
See reviews for
43
190
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

One of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed at. I could describe every little thing but there's no point. Just stay there.

Only thing to say is that hotels.com gives this hotel 1 or 2 stars. That's a mistake. This is easily a 4 star hotel. If you can stay here for under $150 a night, you're getting a steal. If you're reading this I'm jealous bc it means you'll likely be staying here soon. Really a memorable experience!

Room Tip: There's no bad room in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Djrachman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is a great boutique hotel in the heart of Stone Town. We stayed for one night in early June. The house itself is beautifully decorated, and there are some amazing views from the rooftop terrace. It is also in a great location and has Madeira Tours just opposite (we used them on a Prison Island Tour and found them to be really knowledgeable and good value for money). The icing on the cake and the the 5 star rating is for the helpfulness of all Kisiwa House's staff from the cleaners up to management. We had to change the dates of our visit several times due to unforeseen circumstances but this was dealt with without any issues. They had everything prepared for us when we arrived and all the staff were very attentive. They deserve great credit.

Room Tip: Rm5 is secluded and has a lovely view over the rooftops of Stone Town. Avoid the rooms on the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelbugBrighton_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
88 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

I booked the Suite you can see on the main photo which already looks very spacious but when I arrived it was even much bigger than expected, very large and comfortable. The bed is well protected with a good mosquito net which is very important in Zanzibar. Hotel also has a restaurant on the top floor where you can enjoy food with a nice breeze on the outside terrace.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tfrogk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stone Town can be a little hectic, and that was what made this hotel such a great choice. It's quite close to some of the best spots in town, but feels like an oasis into which you can easily escape from the activity of the streets. We found it quite convenient to wander around town, come back to the hotel to enjoy a drink in the ground floor lounge area and decompress, and then head back out to explore another area of town.

Our room was comfortable, clean, and quiet. The staff was helpful and friendly; they made sure that we had a good stay. The rooftop restaurant has great views of the city and the water; the food was also quite good. We especially appreciated that there were Swahili/Zanzibari menu options--we left convinced that the best local meal we had was at the hotel.

We found this to be a great choice in Stone Town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I recommend Kisiwa House extremely highly, I loved my stay there for two nights. The hotel is small, friendly and beautifully furnished. Travelling in the low season meant I got a fantastic rate through agoda.com, but still was extremely lucky with great weather and a quieter environment to get to know the town. The staff are extremely friendly and professional. The roof-top restaurant has a lovely view which gets the sea breeze, and the hotel puts on a delicious breakfast. The rooms are large with high quality fittings, making this a really comfortable, good value yet luxurious stay.

Just to say don't be put off by travelling in the low season - I found it a fantastic time to visit the island. When it rains it is only for a short time and then the sun comes out and everything is fresh and green (and it didn't even rain on 5 of the 7 days I was there, so you can be lucky!).

I recommend visiting Foradhani Park one evening to see the fishermen cook their catch of the day and soak up the atmosphere (very tasty food too). During the day there is a cafe in that area that does fantastic coffee and chocolate brownies. A really nice place to sit and watch the boats of the harbour.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AfricaPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Was a pleasure to stay. Staff were brilliant, rooms was luxurious and the bed was heaven. Highly recommend. Great location as well. Breakfast was on the roof top restaurant with views over Stone Town which was really special. Food was good and service brilliant. we went to have a srink up there one evening before heading out to dinner and it was so relaxing and great atmosphere. Loved it and wish I could go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J-A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.2 mi away
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
#2 of 33 in Stone Town
482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jafferji House & Spa
Jafferji House & Spa
#12 of 33 in Stone Town
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#10 of 33 in Stone Town
243 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#11 of 33 in Stone Town
270 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dhow Palace Hotel
Dhow Palace Hotel
#13 of 33 in Stone Town
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kisiwa House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kisiwa House

Property: Kisiwa House
Address: 572 Baghani Street | P.O. Box: 609, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#7 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#10 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Kisiwa House 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious Boutique hotel in Stone Town, Kisiwa House is noted for its elegant blend of Zanzibar décor and gracious Swahili hospitality.Superbly located on a quiet street in the heart of Zanzibar historical centre within easy walking distance of famous landmarks, museums, antique shops and restaurants. Kisiwa House provides every modern convenience to the business or leisure traveller, promising an unforgettable experience of professional service, superb comfort and unmatched elegance.Get inspired, discover the new and unusual. Enjoy the charm of an old and typical Zanzibar town house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Kisiwa House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kisiwa House Hotel Stone Town
Kisiwa House Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing