We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant town hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kisiwa House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kisiwa House
Ranked #16 of 34 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Elegant town hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed in Kisiwa House Hotel between holidays on Mafia and the east coast of Zanzibar. It provided a highly civilised break from the two beach hotels, with good air conditioning, comfortable beds, and elegant furniture. It provides easy access to the main sites of Stone Town and excellent local restaurants and the staff proved extremely helpful. The restaurant on the top floor was fine for breakfast but we found rather uninteresting for the one evening meal we took there, especially bearing in mind the other restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Halzephron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    95
    27
    8
    3
See reviews for
40
175
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

amazing arabic style hotel, 170 years old in a pure zanzibari style, tastefully furnished, very clean and tidy, very professional and helpfull staff, great roof restaurant under stars, super good food!!! I recommend it without any hesitations!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sahinovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Kisiwa house for two nights at the end of our honeymoon. We loved it, our room was huge and looked out onto stone town. The bathroom was really nice and the bed was the most comfortable we slept on in our two weeks in Tanzania. The hotel staff were nice and helpful and the Internet was fast and included with the room for free. We found the building amazing, built in 1830 and renovated in recent years you could really feel the history in the architecture.

Kisiwa hotel is located close to the Africa house hotel, try going over for a cocktail at sunset! Really beautiful

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tdav0726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clevedon
Level Contributor
82 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed here for four nights on business and was a great place for business when on Zanzibar as close to all the companies based there. I was recommened by a business associate in Kenya and the GM o fthe highest rated hotel on Zanibar - Essque Zalu, which was a great recommendation.

The rooms are in a local style and with 11 rooms it was more of a family feel, with all the staff bieng very friendly and helpful.

If your staying in Stone Town this is your best option as others are very highly priced, though at high season rates this hotel is not cheap.

Roof top restuarant a nice place and the food was good.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor room, but be wary of some of the steps ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CliveB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tn
Level Contributor
206 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Kisiwa House after a five camp 14 day trip in Kenya and Tanzania. This was the perfect place to wind down after two weeks in the bush. We generally prefer boutique hotels. This was the perfect size. The decor and furnishings in the common areas and the rooms are first quality. Zanzibar is pretty hot and humid so the air conditioner was very welcome during mid day. The food at the roof top restaurant was very good and,compared to some of the other places we ate, very reasonably priced. Be sure to get the grilled lobster. The staff was very friendly and gave us great service. My only complaint (and to some this might be a plus) was that the WIFI was anemic at times.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nashville1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

I had a choice of a few hotels around Stone Town and after much contemplation I elected to stay at Kisiwa house, and I am really glad I did. Since then I have been back another time, and on both occasions, I felt very well looked after. This charming boutique hotel, conveniently located in the heart of stone town, would make a lovely setting for a honeymoon stay, if that's what you're looking for.
I went here on holiday(s) and stayed for about a week, all the food at the hotel was fantastic with a fine selection of local food too (breakfast, lunch and dinner). The rooms are a good size and very clean. The staff was exceptional, not only very welcoming but would go out of their way to assist you and make you feel comfortable.
I recommended it to a friend and they had a very similar experience, so I would definitely recommend it to anyone again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aney s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

One of the best hotels in Zanzibar. Excellent food, excellent staffs and superb location right in the historic world heritage city of stone town.

I was lucky to spend my honeymoon in this beautiful boutique hotel with a five star services especially from the most helpful members of staffs. Amazing rooms with scenic veiws over the narrow streets of stone town, cosy with all the comfy of modern technology, the real experience of dozing off the sumer in the heart of Zanzibar.

My favourite part of this extraordinary hotel is the roof top restaurant, it felt like standing on top of a mountain overlooking the beautifull stone town, magnificent sunset and the tranquil indian ocean.

It is the place to be and would definetely be back. Thank you Kisiwa House.

Room Tip: The Malkia suits number 10, highly recomended with its standing bath and luxury bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foumjnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
19.1 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#9 of 34 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mashariki Palace Hotel
Mashariki Palace Hotel
#3 of 34 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#12 of 34 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dhow Palace Hotel
Dhow Palace Hotel
#14 of 34 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kisiwa House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kisiwa House

Property: Kisiwa House
Address: 572 Baghani Street | P.O. Box: 609, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#8 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#11 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kisiwa House 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious Boutique hotel in Stone Town, Kisiwa House is noted for its elegant blend of Zanzibar décor and gracious Swahili hospitality.Superbly located on a quiet street in the heart of Zanzibar historical centre within easy walking distance of famous landmarks, museums, antique shops and restaurants. Kisiwa House provides every modern convenience to the business or leisure traveller, promising an unforgettable experience of professional service, superb comfort and unmatched elegance.Get inspired, discover the new and unusual. Enjoy the charm of an old and typical Zanzibar town house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kisiwa House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kisiwa House Hotel Stone Town
Kisiwa House Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing