We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kisiwa House
Nearby Hotels
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Al Minar(Stone Town)
$68
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
$103
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Dhow Palace Hotel(Stone Town)
$95
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$218
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$294
$271
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (368)
Filter reviews
368 results
Traveler rating
205
112
36
12
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
205
112
36
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop restaurantstayed in a junior suitebeautiful hotelbreakfast and dinnertown hotelair conditioningsuperb locationlovely boutiquetop floorold houserooms are spaciousbreakfast was includedpublic areasroom ratecentral locationprison island tourview of the ocean
Filter
Updating list...
251 - 256 of 368 reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2011

I stayed at Kisiwa House in November 2011 as part of a tour of Zanzibar. I am an agent working for Pure Zanzibar! I found the hotel be be of an excellent standard, offering traditional rooms with lots of space and some lovely furnishings. All around the hotel are little areas to relax in, including a downstairs coffee lounge where you get a welcome drink. The restaurant is on the rooftop, giving great views out over the Zanzibar Channel, and the food was great. The hotels location could not be better, 10 minutes from the airport and also giving easy access to the local shopping and tourist attractions, along with the beach area with lots of bars and restaurants.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a clean and comfortable hotel, offering good value and service in a great location. Good work Kisiwa House.

Room Tip: Kisiwa House has a lot of stairs, but you can be accommodated on the ground floor if you ask.
Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
1  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

My wife and I stayed with Kisiwa House two separate times in December 2010. Both stays were great. The location was perfect in my opinion, within walking distance of shopping and food. It's also very close to the Africa house which has a nice porch for a sunset drink but thought Kisiwa house was a much nicer boutique hotel, especially with service so stay there and only get a drink at The Africa House.

Also want to note that my wife and I had purchased some antique items at a local shop and they were quite delayed in shipping so the manager of Kisiwa was nice enough to go and speak to the merchant on our behalf and get some shipping info. Just an example of going the extra mile.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrewG_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

First, let me say that I really didn't like Stone Town. Dirty and noisy, and people constantly trying to sell you junk. And they're really persistent. I thought the town would have more charm, but it had none.

Anyway, the great thing about this hotel is that it's just off the main, noisy street. Once you're inside, it's all peace and quiet. Everything is white, the AC works beautifully. Large bathroom. Nice welcome drink on arrival. Tasty breakfast on the roof, with a nice view of rooftops and some water.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We stayed here for our last night at the end of our wonderful holiday in East Africa and thoroughly enjoyed it. The location is great just minutes walk from all the good shopping, restaurants and sights. Breakfast on the roof top was lovely, cool breeze and view of the ocean.The rooms were superb, nicely decorated and was a cool oasis from the hot buzzing Stone Town.

Overall great location, great service and great hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelpop79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stayed here for one night while visiting Stone town. The house is lovely- absolutely love the decor of the house and really want my own house to look like the bedroom we stayed in. Free internet cafe and our included breakfast was lovely.

Great location.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YogaGal28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews