We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience”

Eco & Culture Tours
Ranked #5 of 24 Tours in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Having seen other reviews on Trip Advisor we contacted Eco Culture Tours by email and arranged everything we wanted before we left home. We booked a morning tour to Jozani Forest and an evening Sunset Dhow. The pick up and escorts worked perfectly for both - a great service. Would have been even better to have the option of paying by credit card rather then cash but at least this was clear before we left home so we were able to take US dollars for the trips.

1  Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"jozani forest"
in 23 reviews
"city tour"
in 14 reviews
"always on time"
in 8 reviews
"spice tour"
in 44 reviews
"spice farm"
in 12 reviews
"via email"
in 7 reviews
"an easy decision"
in 2 reviews
"seyyida hotel"
in 2 reviews
"simple lunch"
in 2 reviews
"profesional service"
in 2 reviews
"excellent guide"
in 4 reviews
"prison island"
in 21 reviews
"local family"
in 3 reviews
"fruit"
in 18 reviews
"detailed tour"
in 2 reviews
"red colobus"
in 2 reviews
"dhow ride"
in 2 reviews
Filter

85 - 89 of 144 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2012

Communication before arriving was great and prompt .

We had booked a day tour for Jozani and Kizimkazi leaving from Bwejuu and being dropped off at Stone Town. We had a nice day with our driver. He was very informative and reliable. However we were not impressed when we were informed that our guide who was supposed to also join us, had fallen asleep so he would not be able to join us until Jozani Forest. He did not show up either. Luckily our driver spoke good english and did a good job , both as a guide and driver. Once we arrived at Kizimkazi for the dolphin tour, we had to wait for quite a long time before the boat was ready. The boats are moored in the sea, and have to be pulled onto the beach, then the engine attached before you can go. This could have been ready in advance so we could have left straight after arriving, specially as we had woken up really early to try and be there before everyone else.
Also lunch was supposed to be included but was actually just some tea and coffee and fruit and omelette at the local cafe by the boats at Kizimkazi.
Looking back, we could have just hired a taxi to take us there, arranged a boat at Kizimkazi (all the tour operators seem to just use the boats there rather than having their own) ourselves and save quite a lot of money.
Some of the other boats tried to get too close to the dolphins and got dangerously close to the reefs in the process. The sea was quite rough so it was a bit scary to watch. We felt lucky our boat captain was more careful.

1  Thank mimosita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

After having looked into various day tour options and read Eco & Culture Tour's positive reviews, it was an easy decision to contact Robert and our experience lived up to our high expectations. Robert was extremely helpful and efficient in our email correspondence during the enquiry and booking process. We booked a slightly shorter Spice tour combined with a walking tour of Stone Town, which suited us perfectly, the Safari Blue dhow trip in Menai Bay to 3 islands, with snorkelling and an exquisite lobster/seafood island beach lunch and a trip to Chumbe Island with fantastic snorkelling, delicious lunch and unique bungalows - an unforgetable experience. It is well worth googling Chumbe Island! Our Spice and Stone Town tour guide, Mohamed, is very knowledgeable and has a lovely sense of humour. Our driver for all 3 trips, another Mohamed, was very punctual and friendly - a pleasure to be with and an excellent driver. We enjoyed meeting Robert in their central office en route our Stone Town walking tour. I highly recommend Eco & Culture Tours and hope to return and use them again. Well done to all and thanks so much for contributing towards making our trip a perfect and wonderful experience. Special mention also for the Safari Blue dhow crew and cooking ladies, all the lovely staff on Chumbe, and last but least, their chef! BIG THANKS TO YOU ALL!

2  Thank CarolHig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

My sister and I were in Zanzibar from 24/6/12 - 27/6/12. Prior to going, we reviewed options for tours and decided that we would try our luck with Eco & Culture Tours. I sent an e-mail outlining our plans and requesting recommendations. The reply e-mail I received from Robert, the owner, laid out a plan and a price that was very agreeable and included all the transportation we would need from airport to hotels to tours to a return to the airport. Robert; tour guide, David; and driver, Mohammed, were there at the airport to greet us when we landed in Zanzibar on 24/6/12. While we knew what we would be doing, we had no idea how well we would be cared for nor how extremely knowledgeable David was of 'all things' Zanzibar. David was our guide throughout our 4 different tours. He continued to amaze us with how much he knew. Mohammed, our driver, was amazing, too, as he navigated through the sometimes rough and always people-filled roads. He handled every driving situation with ease and a steady hand on the wheel. We saw a lot, did a lot, and learned a lot thanks to these great folks and this tour company.
In short, we had a fantastic time thanks to the wonderful people at ECO & Culture Tours and would highly recommend this firm to anyone looking for a tour company in Zanzibar.

Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2012

After reading the great reviews of Eco & Culture Tours here on TripAdvisor, I contacted Robert about arranging hotel and tours in Stone Town. I sent the email from my couch here in San Francisco and to my surprise, 15 minutes later Robert responded! That was good sign :)

Robert was prompt and flexible in tailoring our trip. I was a bit nervous about wiring money overseas (they don't accept credit cards) but everything went perfectly.

Our guide Adam greeted us the moment we landed in Zanzibar airport. Adam took us on a tour of Stone Town as well a Spice Tour. Besides the remarkable collection of fruits and spices, my favorite part of the spice tour was lunch at a local house where the food was awesome!

We stayed at the Tembo House hotel at Robert's recommendation and loved it. The place is very clean, has wireless internet, nice showers, a nice pool, and sits right on the ocean.

All in all we had an excellent time in Stone Town thanks to Robert.

Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eco & Culture Tours also viewed

 
Zanzibar City, Zanzibar Island
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 

Been to Eco & Culture Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing