We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of Radha Food House

Radha Food House
Ranked #30 of 76 Restaurants in Stone Town
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
418 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We had just arrived in Stonetown and needed lunch. The Radha was close so we went.
First the things that need a bit of attention. The decor is plain at best. It could use a bit of maintaince. The plaster is falling off the masonary walls. I have seen places where this is done as part of the "look" but here it is just falling off. The owner seemed a bit grumpy but we did not have to deal with him other than pay the bill.
It is a small place that would be crowded if there was a person in every seat, we had our choice of seats and lots of elbow room. The waiter was very nice and dealt with the necessities. The food was inexpensive and really good. We ordered fried dal, rice and roti. It was possibly the best dal we have had since we were in India.

If you are interested in other things around Zanzibar visit our non profit blog at;
http://havecarryonwilltravel.com

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MurTheExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    35
    14
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stone Town, Tanzania
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Local Vibes”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

If you expect fancy setting and high end service this is not the place for you. have been to this restaurant many times and mostly saw locals eating here. Meals are cheap and tasty, starters cost from 2500 tsh. Staff is not rude but friendly either, however the food is tasty. For those who need attentive service and fancy plates this is not the place. Aslo, liquers are cheap.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ninnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good & reasonable vegetarian food”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We ate here twice in October 2012 and wonder if it has changed managers as it is now called the 'New Radha Vegetarian Restaurant'. The food is all vegetarian and we felt there was a good range available, bearing in mind you are paying around TS10,000 - TS11,000 for a main with rice and bread. That is about £4-£5. The Thali is a full meal for just TS10,000 (£4.00!). The building is a little run down, as is much of Stone Town, but we found the staff friendly and helpful. The meals are apparently cooked to order and they confirmed they would be happy to do vegan, or indeed any other variation you want. This was the best place we found for vegetarian food at this quality in this price range.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoforiTCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hey it's vegetarian!”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Hi! I spent two weeks on Zanzibar and almost ate there every day. It's not so bad as people here write. Okay some of the stuff might be a bit unfriendly but the food was delicious! So who cares?!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SUPERVISA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Horrible.!!”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

The worst food in Znz.. We often visit zanzibar and have eaten at most restaurants in zanzibar.. by far this has been the worst experience.. the food was cold.. the manager was too drunk to even care whether we got our food or not.. Try other restaurants near by .. The Archipelago or Dhow palace..

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shahista H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Radha Food House also viewed

Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 

Been to Radha Food House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing