We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent one night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Seyyida Hotel & Spa
Ranked #23 of 34 Hotels in Stone Town
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent one night stay”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

The hotel is located in the heart of Stone Town and we stayed at the Seyyida Hotel for one night at the end of our honeymoon in September 2011.
Our flight from Zanzibar to Dar Es Salaam was early in the morning so we needed a one night stay before that.
The hotel is excellent for what we needed and we wished we had stayed longer to explore Stone Town a bit more.
Very good service from the staff and a nice big room with a comfy bed.
Good wi-fi was available and we ate at the roof top restaurant, which can be highly recommended.
Also gave us a nice takeaway breakfast as we were leaving so early in the morning.
We did our tourist shopping in Stone Town and was a great chance to pick up some amazing hand painted pictures for a bargain price.

Did have a slight issue when our pre-booked taxi didn't arrive exactly on time at 5am in the morning but that was soon dealt with and I think it got lost in translation somewhere.
We got the flight on time, so no worries from that point of view.

Also a quick mention to recommend Nick at 'thetanzaniaspecialists.net'
Our honeymoon was obviously the best holiday we'll ever have and Nick was excellent in producing the trip of a lifetime. including the safari in Selous, our stay at Stone Town and an amazing stay at Kilindi on Zanzibar.
He got us some incredible deals, saving us a fortune and helped us when the flights got mixed up at 3am GMT.
I cannot recommend Nick highly enough and many thanks for helping to organise our amazing honeymoon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan_Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    70
    32
    15
    12
See reviews for
54
93
30
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

What an unforgettable experience!! Moved to Seyyida after an unpleasant experience in one of the other hotels in Stone Town. The Seyyida family were brilliant hosts, friendly and extremely efficient. The rooms are huge but very cosy - something we find hard to experience when travelling. The food at Lulu restaurant served fantastic food. Elegant place and great hospitality!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tanya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

The hotel is really nice, the rooms are huge and the service excellent. We had extremely good food in the hotel restaurant, located on the roof and the view is fantastic.
It has a very godd location, next the harbour and not far from Sultan house and not too far from very good restaurants around.

Room Tip: The family room is very convinient with 2 seperate rooms and a connecting corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bernardschindelholz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moroni, Comoros
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Quite a nice hotel, clean, new-looking and comfortable, well located, you have to walk a couple of minutes inside the old town to reach it but that is what the old Arabic town hotels are about, helpers are easily available any time any place to carry your luggage, so it is not a problem. The hotel is just behind a big palace museum (forgot which one) on the water front and you can view the sea from the roof restaurant terrace. The New Year menu was a bit awkward, but the choice of meals 'a la carte' is all right. Anyway you do not usually eat at the hotel in Stone Town, there are plenty of other sites around to explore. The conception of the toilet facilities in the rooms is bit weird - no doors, which was not a big deal for us, but maybe inconvenient for other people. The stuff at the reception is better informed than at the restaurant (including about the restaurant related matters).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valeria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Seyyida Hotel and Spa is a beautiful, well located and unforgetable holiday destination. The family room in the hostel was spacious and comfortable. The prices were reasonable. The service and food was excellect.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mbithe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mombasa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

lulu roof top restrauntant is beyond amazing the service was top notch the scene at night amazing! and the food to die for! especially the flipper lobster! and thats just the beginning. you get to dine in culture for the building where seyyida now stands was the princess palace! and just adjacent to it was the sultan's concubine palace and the main palace is now the museum and it stands justs aside seyyida hotel! the hotel itself is filled with paintings depicting the zanzibar culture from time afar! the rooms were a nice blend between old sultan swahili arab culture and modern interiors this blend has brought about an exquisite taste! bravo seyyida!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angeline a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

We so thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Seyyida Hotel in Stone Town.

The service was impeccable and the staff very amiable.

From the family room that our group of 4 (two couples) shared, we had a lovely view of the royal graveyard. The decor was very unique, the room quite spacious and still allowing for privacy for the two couples that made up the group. I especially like how the hotel has managed to keep the traditional Zanzibari artwork and architecture on the decor pieces. I was especially amazed to learn that the hotel was actually the Princess' palace....

A roof top dinner at the hotel's restaurant was quite a highlight. Again, the service was prompt and top-notch...the food amazing...and the view of the sea and surrounding Stone Town-picturesque.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Stonetown Boutique
0.2 mi away
Maru Maru Hotel
Maru Maru Hotel
#9 of 34 in Stone Town
537 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 34 in Stone Town
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Forodhani Park Hotel
Forodhani Park Hotel
#19 of 34 in Stone Town
97 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dhow Palace Hotel
Dhow Palace Hotel
#13 of 34 in Stone Town
640 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beyt Al Salaam
Beyt Al Salaam
#21 of 34 in Stone Town
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seyyida Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seyyida Hotel & Spa

Property: The Seyyida Hotel & Spa
Address: Nyumba Ya Moto St | Next to House of Wonder And Palace Museum, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Seyyida Hotel & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Seyyida Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seyyida Hotel And Spa
The Seyyida Hotel Stone Town
The Seyyida Hotel & Spa Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing