We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I LOVE WARERE TOWN HOUSE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Warere Town House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Warere Town House
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I LOVE WARERE TOWN HOUSE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2010

Just the best...the staff are so friendly and helpful, it was almost like staying with family.
I'm looking forward to staying there again. The room had a huge, high bed with nets, and a balcony that was a delight!
There was a fridge in the room, plus a TV and ceiling fan. Altogether I felt totally welcome and safe staying there.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muffingoternie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    145
    30
    10
    5
See reviews for
44
158
71
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2010

Was here alone during Sauti Za Busara festival, can only recommend Warere Town House for its friendly staff, nice rooms, good breakfasts (even late) on the roof top.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuskerine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2010

Travelled here with a friend (2 girls), neither of us keen on partying hard, just wanting to see Zanzibar in the limited time we had (3 days). We booked the place the night before from Dar, not really sure if they understood us.
Best for: those looking for a good clean, simple room thats safe.
Location: Fortunately it is less than a 5 minute walk from the ferry, so if you have a map or a lonely planet, you can navigate yourself. Walking distance to everything in Stone Town. We were a bit nervous walking home after a late night at Mercury's bar, so we called Warere and one of them came to fetch us.
Service: was the best thing about this place. We weren't that prepared with what we wanted to do. They walked us to an ATM, walked us to somewhere we could organise the spice tour, helped arrange a driver to the eastern beaches and generally treated us like family (always making sure we weren't getting swindled). All the staff were always polite to us and generally looked out for us. What was also important is that they always gave us our space and never hassled us.
Electricity: Zanzibar had had no power for one month when we went (and was predicted to have none for another month). Warere had a generator that reportedly operated from 6pm to 1am, however it cut out around 11pm one night. You generally need electricity for the fan in the room, but as we were on the 2nd floor, we opened the window and let the breeze in. Not having lights in the toilet was a pain at night, so store it up!
Bathroom: clean, toilet flushes, toilet paper provided. Bit odd as no door to the bathroom, so one of us would have to stay out on the balcony while the other had a shower.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank metatrongroove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barkly East, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2009

Warere is a great value, and I really recommend it, especially for those on a tighter budget! The rooms are comfortable and clean, with Zanzibaria beds with good mosquito nets, and are ensuite. Our room even had a very small balcony looking out over stone town. Breakfast is included and is served on the roof top terrace (which is very basic) and consists of pancake, mandazis (local fried dough thing), fruit, egg, tea and fruit juice. The best thing about the guesthouse though (apart from being such good value) is the staff. Jimmy meets you off the ferry, and its a very short walk to warere. All the staff are so friendly, and so keen to help and give advice. I really enjoyed staying here, and for a fairly budge place it is perfect! (I have lived in East Africa all my life, although I am British, and this really is such a good bet for a cheap place to stay, simply cos of how clean it is, and how nice the staff are) I'm going back again in 2 weeks time!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Izzi88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland, Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2009

I loved staying in Warere Townhouse. The service was perfect and I really enjoyed my stay in zanzibar. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff were very helpful and made our stay so much better. I would go back to stay in Warere Townhouse anytime again!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sOfiesOfie_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.0 mi away
Princess Salme Inn
Princess Salme Inn
#18 of 33 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.7 mi away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#11 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.4 mi away
Zanzibar Coffee House
Zanzibar Coffee House
#4 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
28.1 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#4 of 13 in Jambiani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warere Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warere Town House

Property: Warere Town House
Address: Mizingani Rd, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 00100, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stone Town
#6 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Warere Town House is one of the oldest hotels in Stone Town providing authentic, affordable accommodation for over 30 years. We are a small, family run hotel that prides itself on making your stay on our spice island memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Warere Town House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warere Town House Hotel Stone Town
Warere Town House Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing