We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value indeed”
Review of Warere Town House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Warere Town House
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2014

The staff and ambiance is very very welcoming. All the staffs are so helpful so I just wanted to tip them all at the end of the stay. :) The room is quite small but no problem with washroom and a/c. Two beds are also a bit small but still nice. It is located near to the port so good choice for those who traveled by ferry.~ thank you for the great stay x

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jae_Kim_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Jae_Kim_22

Thank you for reviewing us! We are glad you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry you found the room and beds small. We do have much larger rooms with balconies and big beds available but you have to book with plenty of notice! We look forward to having you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 401 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014

I had the pleasure to spend two nights at Warere house in January 2014.
The staff is very friendly and helpful. They can also organize tours for you like the famous spice tour or prison island and the one I would definitely recommend: stone town tour.
The hotel has a roof terrace with view on the ocean open 24hours where dinner and breakfast is served and excellent facilities (laundry service, free wifi etc.). Each room has a van, an AC, a save, a small balcony and nets for each bed.

I would recommend you to stay there if you are looking for a nice affordable hotel (e.g. $85/night for a triple room included breakfast) in Stone town. Its location is ideal if you decide to take the ferry as it's only 5min down the road.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amandinetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Hi Amandinetravels, thank you for your lovely review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Karibuni tena!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This is a great hotel. It's in a bit of an odd location (behind other buildings) but it's only 15 minutes to right into stone town so it's fine. Rooms are lovely we had a balcony room for two nights which is really big and decorated well. The air conditioning works which is a must! The other rooms are smaller but just as comfortable. Staff are all really nice and very helpful you even get lemonade and a cold cloth on arrival- so nice when the heat is mental! We loved our stay and would recommend it. (Breakfast is just ok - bread, fruit and eggs enough to get you through.) The best thing is the value for money - the rooms are so well priced.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Lynne360, asante sana for your review. We will be adding items to our breakfast menu in 2014. We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Cute little hotel in the north of Stone Town, close to the ferry terminal but just hidden enough not to hear the noise from the port.
We were welcome with a ginger and lemon drink and there was a little spice soap in the room as amenity.
The rooms were, as said before simple, but rustically decorated, incorporating kanga (Tanzanian fabric), beautiful wood carved beds and modern bathrooms. And really big comfy beds!
The restaurant is in the top floor, very small but cozy. You can pre-order dinner for only 20,000Tsh including main course, a non-alcoholic drink and dessert (fruit is not dessert guys!!give me some chocolate syrup on top!). They have a selection of around 5 main courses including seafood, meat and vegetarian, and the portions are really well served.
The staff was nothing but friendly the whole time!
PS: There are a lot of stairs! Also they will pick you up from any point of the island for 40Usd

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Hi Ana M, thank you for reviewing us! Sorry about the dessert, usually we offer "elephant's legs" or fried Zanzibari dumplings as dessert. We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Perfect hotel if you are looking for something quite cheap and really really nice. We were welcomed with a refreshing and delicious juice, it was just what we needed at that time. The bedroom and bathroom were absolutely clean. The bed was beautiful!! The interior of the hotel was really pretty yet simple. Breakfast was served on the roof terrace, which was a bit small, but the view was amazing. The staff was helpful. They can help you with anything you need. The only negative point was the location. It was next to the ferry terminal and if the locals realise that you are looking for a hotel, they are going to try and show you the "right way".

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fifi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Hi Fifi T asante sana for your lovely review. We offer a free pickup from the ferry port to avoid the problems of people "showing the way" to our guests. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and karibu tena next time you are in Zanzibar!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

It's a bit creepy outside, especially for the first time, but it's ok. We didn't hear the noise of the port in the rooms, so it was ok. It's very nice and clean inside, the staff is really friendly and helping. They can arrange any tours or taxis or whatever you might need. They also provide a map of the city together with some advice and suggestions.
They do serve their breakfast on the roof and we enjoyed it.
Btw, everything here comes with ginger, the welcoming lemon juice, the tea, even the soap in the shower. So if you don't like ginger that might be a problem!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aksioma_tg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Deare Aksioma_tg, thank you for reviewing us! We will keep in mind about the ginger, none of us had ever noticed that everything has ginger in it, we must be so used to it! Welcome again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I loved this cozy little hotel in Stone Town. It is walking distance from the ferry terminal and has easy access to all the Stone Town attractions. It is very well done up and has a lot of character. The rooms were small but cozy with high four poster beds and attached bathrooms. They offer a simple but quite satisfactory breakfast. The staff was very friendly and went out of the way to accomodate my requests.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Hi sandy v,

Thank you for your lovely review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.0 mi away
Princess Salme Inn
Princess Salme Inn
#18 of 33 in Stone Town
178 reviews
0.7 mi away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#10 of 33 in Stone Town
272 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Zanzibar Coffee House
Zanzibar Coffee House
#3 of 33 in Stone Town
544 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
299 reviews
28.2 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#4 of 13 in Jambiani
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warere Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warere Town House

Address: Mizingani Rd, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 00100, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Stone Town
#6 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range: $47 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Warere Town House is one of the oldest hotels in Stone Town providing authentic, affordable accommodation for over 30 years. We are a small, family run hotel that prides itself on making your stay on our spice island memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Warere Town House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warere Town House Hotel Stone Town
Warere Town House Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing