We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best of the rest”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Warere Town House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Warere Town House
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Accra, Greater Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best of the rest”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I stayed in Warere in June.

The hotel was fantastic, very rustic and full of antique stuffs, which is all Zanzibar is about.

Room was clean and spacious. We even had a balcony to chill for smokes/drinks.

And the best will be having breakfast at the rooftop. The views were amazing.

Location was alright, although the surrounding looked dodgy (near the ferry station) but we walked home all the way from Livingstone bar (all the way on the other side of Stone Town) with no problems. If in doubt, just stick to the main roads.

The staffs were friendly and always happy to help. We liked Warere so much that we wanted to extend the stay, but unfortunately it was fully booked. The staff was helpful enough to walk with us to check out other hotels nearby, which we were fully greatful. Also they helped us enquire about several tours (we didnt have local Tanzanian mobile number), and this was after we checked out! Great service.

I reckon the this hotel offers the best bang for your buck.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zam Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Hi Zam Z, thank you for taking the time to review us!

Good to hear you enjoyed your balcony and the view from our terrace. Sorry we didn't have availability for you to extend your stay. I am glad you felt safe walking back at night, in alternative a taxi ride from town to the Warere is only TZS 3,000 or about $1.5. Karibuni tena!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    145
    30
    10
    5
See reviews for
44
158
71
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Texarkana, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed at the Warere Town House for 3 days recently. Although our first room was noisy and had toilet maintenance issues, the staff was very accommodating and moved us to a better room. It is within walking distance to several restaurants including the "Passing Show" which we highly recommend. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay. Thanks!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Hi David O, thank you for reviewing us!

I do apologise for the toilet maintenance issues, unfortunately we are housed in an old building and these things to happen. I am glad our staff managed to sort out the problem for you. We look forward to hosting you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed here for 4 days and loved the place alot,nice rooms very clean,hot showers and breakfast is severed in the roof-top terrace and it was lovely.A walking distance from warere to stone town..would be back next time we are in Zanzibar..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vero M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Hi Vero M, Karibuni tena the next time you are on our shores!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberton, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Though arriving can be a little confusing and the surroundings unglamourous, this small hotel exudes character. Small rooms but they include all your needs, wi-fi works well particularly downstairs. Loved the high beds!
Breakfast is served in the roof-top terrace - the food is cooked fresh by friendly staff, really tasty fresh naan and chapati. Also loved the roof-top 'honesty' bar - an ideal spot to enjoy a cold beer in a cool breeze.
It is a ten minute walk into Stonetown along the water's edge - always entertaining and blessed with a cool breeze. In the opposite direction is the main market - a cacophony of sights, smells and sounds. Don't miss it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank old55Victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Hi old55Victoria,

Thank you for reviewing the Warere, we are glad you enjoyed your stay! The fish market around the way is a fun way to spend a few hours and most decidedly a cacophony. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This was my second time staying at Warere House, and I'm so glad I came back. I was attracted to it initially because of how close it was to the port, and the great price - but there is so much more. It's tucked away off the main road so it's nice and quiet, save for the birds chirping and call to prayer. The rooms are charming and have everything you need - hot water, AC, mosquito nets, and locally made soap. The breakfast on the rooftop is wonderful, and all the service is excellent, far above what I would expect for a budget hotel. Can't recommend enough! Book ahead though, this place tends to fill up.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a balcony, and some are recently renovated so have a new looking bathroom - but all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Hi Nicola S, thank you for writing such a lovely review of the Warere. I love the chirping birds in the morning too! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Thank you to those at Warere Town House for a lovely night's stay.

The hotel is charming and within walking distance of the main market and restaurant area of Stone Town.

Breakfast is served on a sweet roof terrace by very kind staff.

A great place to stay

Room Tip: The beds are very high be prepared for a climb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloebuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Hi Chloe, thank you for taking the time to review the Warere. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Karibuni tena!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I reserved online before and had pleasant email contact, we went to Nungwi first and they arranged transport for us and kept in touch through SMS, very friendly and helpful staff. It is located near the old port and a 10 min walk to Stonetown, but definitely worth it. No noise at night, we slept fantastic!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DocMaaike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Hi Maaike, I'm glad you had a good stay with us and enjoyed a good night sleep! Welcome back when you are next in Zanzibar!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.0 mi away
Princess Salme Inn
Princess Salme Inn
#18 of 33 in Stone Town
166 reviews
0.7 mi away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#11 of 33 in Stone Town
230 reviews
0.4 mi away
Zanzibar Coffee House
Zanzibar Coffee House
#4 of 33 in Stone Town
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
28.1 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#4 of 13 in Jambiani
223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warere Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warere Town House

Property: Warere Town House
Address: Mizingani Rd, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 00100, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stone Town
#6 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Warere Town House is one of the oldest hotels in Stone Town providing authentic, affordable accommodation for over 30 years. We are a small, family run hotel that prides itself on making your stay on our spice island memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Warere Town House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warere Town House Hotel Stone Town
Warere Town House Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing