We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Stone Town

“Outstanding !!!”

The Beach House Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 89 Restaurants in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $30
Description: The new Beach House Restaurant & Bar is Stone Town’s foremost sunset-facing, social eatery where one can playfully discover the diverse history of Zanzibar. It is a pocket-friendly, social beachfront dining venue and Gin & Tonic bar that subtly blends ancient traditions with modern, unscripted vibes. Beach House is the perfect venue for sundowners and the best sunset views.
Restaurant details
Description: The new Beach House Restaurant & Bar is Stone Town’s foremost sunset-facing, social eatery where one can playfully discover the diverse history of Zanzibar. It is a pocket-friendly, social beachfront dining venue and Gin & Tonic bar that subtly blends ancient traditions with modern, unscripted vibes. Beach House is the perfect venue for sundowners and the best sunset views.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just love this beautifully located beach front property, with a wooden deck and plenty of open spaces to relax. Enjoy the only Gin Bar on the island, my favorite was the cinnamon spiced gin with apple juice! But be adventurous and try a few before finding which is your fav . Tasty and very well presented fusion cuisine, love the salads and perfect for lunch with some local seafood while watching the wooden dhows slowly sailing by. Great service, ambiance, the best place for sundowners and their GINS and....awesome sunsets !!!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank jennec2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachHouseZanzibar, General Manager at The Beach House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear jennec2020,

Thank you for your words of appreciation towards our ambience, food and drinks.

I will pass this on to our Beach House Family.

It was a pleasure hosting you and I am glad you agreed to be adventurous and go through our gin journey with our gins.

Stefan and Chef Popi will be delighted to hear about their Gin Maps and food menus and will share this with their team.

Karibu Tena and welcome again to The Beach House Zanzibar where we will take you through a multicultural experience with us.

Kind Regards,
Afshan,
Beach House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (468)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Last night we were in Stone Town and it was not my first time in Beach House . I can confirm to everyone Beach House is absolutely the best choice you can make not only because of amazing location , professional barman and infinity drinks menu ( even the menu of gin ) , great food and of course the gol is atmosfera created by staff ! Special regard and thanks to Afshan !
We couldn’t make a better choice for our time in Town !

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank 324alenav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachHouseZanzibar, General Manager at The Beach House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 324alenav,

Thank you for your words of appreciation towards our ambience, food and drinks.

I will pass this on to our Beach House Family.

It was a pleasure hosting you and your husband.

Stefan and Chef Popi will be delighted to hear about their Gin Maps and food menus and will share this with their team.

Karibu Tena and welcome again to The Beach House Zanzibar where we will take you through a multicultural experience with us.

Kind Regards,
Afshan,
Beach House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Exotic food and awesome cocktails!!!
A great thanks to the Chef Popi for creativity of the dishes my personal favorite was the Spicy prawn salad, the service was quick and up to the Hyatt standards, the cocktails was amazing as usual... well team effort and delivery. See you soon.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank stephenpinto89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachHouseZanzibar, General Manager at The Beach House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear stephenpinto89,

Thank you for your words of appreciation towards our food and drinks.

I will pass this on to our Beach House Family.

It was a pleasure hosting you.

Stefan and Chef Popi will be delighted to hear about their Cocktails and food menus and will share this with their teams.

Karibu Tena and welcome again to The Beach House Zanzibar where we will take you through a multicultural experience with us.

Kind Regards,
Afshan,
Beach House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020 via mobile

Great views, great drinks (their gin menu is extraordinary and everyone should try one of them) and delicious food.
The team is very helpful and friendly and they have live music and DJs from time to time.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank marta_antex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachHouseZanzibar, General Manager at The Beach House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2020

Dear marta_antex,

Thank you for your words of appreciation towards our ambience, food and drinks. I will pass this on to our Beach House Family.

It was a pleasure hosting you.

Stefan and Chef Popi will be delighted to hear about their Gun Maps and food menus and will share this with their team.

Karibu Tena and welcome again to The Beach House Zanzibar where we will take you through a multicultural experience with us.

Kind Regards,
Afshan,
Beach House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020 via mobile

We were quickly shown to a table - and this was as good as it got. We had to ask for menus after sitting for 20 minutes. My husband was given one menu for us to share.

A further 15 minutes later a waiter came to take our order. At which point we had to ask for a drinks menu. Surely all of this should’ve been done as we sat down. We ordered food and drinks and then sat and waited and waited and waited. We watched a large family group come in and sit down. Decide to move inside, so all the furniture was moved inside for them. Their food and drinks order was taken. And then their drinks arrived. And we waited...

Finally someone realised we were still sat there with nothing in front of us so she went to chivvy up the drinks and after plenty of finger pointing finally came back with our bottle of water. This was at least 3/4 of an hour after sitting down - to get a glass of water.

There seemed to be a lot of in fighting amongst the staff, people were being blamed and fingers pointed. But nobody did anything.

When the food finally arrived it was okay. Starter was below par, especially the prawn and passion fruit salad and the main of chicken was okay.

Seriously, for these prices things should be much better. If you’re charging western style pricing you have to deliver western style service.

Very very poor.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank Monkeyotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachHouseZanzibar, General Manager at The Beach House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear monkeyotter,

Thank you for your review, I will pass this on to our Beach House Family.

It was unfortunate hearing about your experience with us especially when we pride ourselves in good service and care. We will go though a proper training once more in order to deliver the best service we can to our family. I would like to apologize for your night and if you are in Zanzibar again please make sure to contact me personally so I may make your experience with us one to remember in a positive way.

Chef Popi will share this with his kitchen team to make sure we improve further.

Karibu Tena and welcome again to The Beach House Zanzibar where we will take you through a multicultural experience with us.

Kind Regards,
Afshan,
Beach House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beach House Restaurant also viewed

Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 

Been to The Beach House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing