We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience”

Livingstone Beach Restaurant
Ranked #28 of 78 Restaurants in Stone Town
Price range: $2 - $30
Cuisines: African, Italian, Thai, Bar
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good experience”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Great sea food, great burger, great presentation. great location on the beach, unfortunately service is tooooo slow...

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank caalamity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    144
    76
    19
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California Hot Springs, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Highly overpriced and touristy”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This restaurant praying on tourists! We got in before 8 pm so there was not admission. outside seating was charming and romantic. live music began at 8 so we either had to go inside or pay a high admission even by U.S. standards. So we moved inside to the bar area. Later I went out to check and see if our driver has arrived. A very rude doorman did not let me back in. He saw me steping out.. I was literally steps away from the door. I pleated with him with no use. He clearly knew what he was doing as he was watching me the whole time. My purse and friend were inside and he would not even let me get my belongings without paying an admission first!! What a scam!!! I ended up yellling from outside until my friend heard me from inside and gathered our stuff and came out.. UNBELIEVALBLE!!! Do not go there or if you step outside make sure you take all your belonging, and leave proper instructions with the ones you leave behind!!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank livehappy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great beach view which surpasses the food. And thats ok.”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I spent a lunch post snorkelling, and then a dinner post walking here. It has a great location right on the beach, which in the evening really comes alive. The evening I was there, the local boys seemed to be having a somersault competitive which gave the place had a great atmosphere! The food is just that – fuel – but you can also get a beer here if you want. Choose for location over gastronomy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BecciUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The tables are set right on the beach so its a nice place to sit and enjoy a drink. However, we weren't overly impressed with the food. I had a pasta dish that tasted like tinned spaghetti. The food is overpriced compared to the rest of stone town. We weren't in a hurry to return, despite the great location.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Han2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
102 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good chill spot”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We came here a few times for sundowners. The prices were a bit high, the venue is dirty and run down, but the location is superb. Each evening, we were entertained by a local club doing gymnastics on the beach next to the restaurant and watching these guys doing their thing in the stunning sunsets was a great way to relax.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rory G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Livingstone Beach Restaurant also viewed

Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 

Been to Livingstone Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing