We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe, reliable but not special”
Review of Archipelago

Archipelago
Ranked #20 of 77 Restaurants in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Safe, reliable but not special”
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

This place is central, provides reasonable food, for about average prices for stone town.

I wasn't blown away by the food but wasn't overly impressed either. Not a bad place to eat in your first day or two, however there are far better options in stone town.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MeanderingMoose14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    137
    51
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Had dinner there a few nights, the marlin, tuna and swordfish were all prepared very well and the pilau rice was good. They don't serve beer but send you to a small bar a few doors up to get beer to bring back and drink with your meal. Staff pleasant, prices very fair and service very good.

Overall an enjoyable place to eat.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travelloverdelmundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Nice food and best service in Stonetown”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We ate here twice and both times the food was great - they have excellent daily specials and the deserts are good too. Nothing fancy but fresh and tasty. The prices were very reasonable too. Out of all the places we ate in Stonetown Archipelago had the best service and we recieved our food quickly on both occasions. This is in constrast to most of the other restaurants in Stonetown and Zanibar in general so it was the perfect place to go back to for a quick meal before heading to the airport.

It has a convenient location on the water front with a nice view over the beach (watch the locals repairing boats and local kids swimming).

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tourist food for tourist prices”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The prices in the menu set the expectations for absolute top-notch food. The stuff served on the plate is what you might expect at a disappointing truck-stop cafe. Go to monsoon across the street instead.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rebecka A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great spot!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I visited this restaurant on my second trip to Zanzibar. It was recommended by a friend in Moshi for having great seafood. My friend was correct, the seafood was excellent and very fresh! Served with vegetables and rice it was a great portion. We finished with the sticky date pudding - it was to die for! Decor is relaxed and very inviting - great for families!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Archipelago also viewed

 
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 

Been to Archipelago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing